Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 13, 2005, 03:33 PM   #1
Leareth
macrumors 68000
 
Leareth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver and Montreal
Is it possible to update Powerbook VRAM from 64mb to 128mb?

My School is having an insane sale right now on in stock powerbooks and iBooks, 15% of the EDU discount, but all the instock machines have 64Vram on them. I was wondering if it is possible to upgrade the graphics card after the fact? Since BTO does not count in the deals.
__________________
Sometimes the appropriate response to reality is to go insane.
Leareth is offline   0
Old May 13, 2005, 03:39 PM   #2
JeDiBoYTJ
macrumors 6502a
 
JeDiBoYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Send a message via AIM to JeDiBoYTJ
sadly, no.

the VRAM chip is soldered right into the main logic board... theres no way to replace it unless you replace the entire thing.
__________________
Hardware: Rev. C 15in PowerBook G4 1.5ghz - 1GB RAM - 80GB HD - ATi Radeon 9700 64MB VRAM
Switcher Since August 28th 2004... and not looking back
www.va-films.com
JeDiBoYTJ is offline   0
Old May 13, 2005, 08:22 PM   #3
stevey500
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington, Utah
Send a message via AIM to stevey500 Send a message via MSN to stevey500
What if you are very good at soldering and replace the memory chips with larger/... would the machine reject the upgrade?
__________________
my 12"powerbook setup and PS3 SOLD
Now owns: Macbook Pro 15" C2D
stevey500 is offline   0
Old May 13, 2005, 09:02 PM   #4
unfaded
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevey500
What if you are very good at soldering and replace the memory chips with larger/... would the machine reject the upgrade?
I don't think anyone has tried to find out!
__________________
Carpe Diem,
Jer Mendonsa
unfaded is offline   0
Old May 13, 2005, 10:12 PM   #5
rockandrule
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
For that large of an upgrade, if you can't get the 128 VRAM, then just go with what they have. That's a great deal, and also keep in mind that there is the $100 Mail-in from Apple on any new computer bought for education purposes. (Excluding the 12" iBook with combo, mac mini, and eMac.)
__________________
Resident of Deltona, FL. Just so glad to hear the verdict handed out on July 25th
rockandrule is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to import my albums from Picasa to iWeb? Wingnut330 Mac Basics and Help 3 Dec 17, 2010 05:32 AM
Is it possible to buy a MBP from America and ship it to New Zealand? weenerdog MacBook Pro 19 Oct 24, 2010 08:05 AM
iPhone 3GS: Is It Possible To Use A Backup From Windows To Mac? whistler369 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 30, 2010 04:38 AM
Is it possible to increase the VRAM on the 13" MBP? RonnyC MacBook Pro 2 Apr 19, 2010 08:35 AM
Is it possible to automatically move contacts from MobileMe to Exchange? justanothernerd iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 May 21, 2009 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC