Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

craig1410

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 22, 2007
Scotland
Hi guys,
I'm not a complete noob when it comes to iPhone hacking but I'm sure there are many of you with greater knowledge. I hope so as I need help resolving a problem with an iPhone 3GS 32GB. I'm getting the following during restore:

The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1).

This happens when the progress bar on the phone is around 75% of the way across but up until that time it all seems fine. I've searched for help on this but couldn't find anything that would help. After this error I just get the connect to iTunes picture and then iTunes says it is in restore mode. I've tried DFU mode by the way - same result.

The annoying thing is that I managed to get it working at one point although that was on my second restore attempt after an error 1645. I did the restore and got 1645 then did it again without resetting and it worked fine. It was working but after swapping SIM cards around I did a reboot and it wouldn't boot back up, going into a reboot loop around 30 seconds after trying activation each time. It would do this all day.

I've just finished stripping the phone down completely and have cleaned the PCB thoroughly with a little PCB brush and alcohol to get rid of anything which might be shorting something out. I also cleaned and reseated all the connectors.

The phone has never been jailbroken and has no signs of water damage. It has been dropped and has a crack in the rear cover near the docking connector. No signs of damage inside. Software is on iOS5.

So, what are my options? I've messed about with Tiny Umbrella, iRecovery and a few other tools trying to "kick start" it. I've pretty much run out of ideas now and would appreciate some suggestions. Could it be a hardware fault? Anything I can try?

Thanks for reading - appreciated.
Craig.