Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2011, 08:08 AM   #1
dstunbound
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
iTunes keeps determining Gapless Pback for the same songs

First of all, I'm not sure this is in the right forum, so if it needs to be moved, please do.


Since I upgraded to iTunes 10.5, iOS5, 10.7.2, etc, my iTunes keeps having to determine gapless playback for certain songs. It started off as about 80 songs, but as I've imported more music, those songs get added to the list, and it's currently around 200 songs. Additionally, it's not just when I open iTunes, it also starts the process over sometimes when I switch to iTunes from another application, or even when I import something like a book into iTunes. So far it's nothing more than a pain, but as I keep adding more and more music, I can see this getting worse.

I run a 2.2 GHz MacBook Intel Core 2 Duo with 4 GB RAM and system 10.7.2. My iTunes library is all on an external WD terabyte.

Thanks
dstunbound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2011, 09:43 AM   #2
blackburn
macrumors 6502a
 
blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where Judas lost it's boots.
I'm having the same issue. Always the same 40 songs that were added recently to the itunes library, I even selected the part of a lossless album check box but it remains the same.
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad + Nexus 7 (2nd Gen)
blackburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2011, 10:05 AM   #3
rutskiuk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Also happening with Win 7 64bit

I've had the exact same problem with 10.5.0.142
Always the same tracks, upon launch and synchronisation
I can't see the sense in it at all
rutskiuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 07:08 AM   #4
dstunbound
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
I'm going to go ahead and bump this because it's getting worse and worse, it's not taking longer and longer to process this activity when I awake from sleep, add music, or change tags. It's driving me nuts.
dstunbound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 09:51 AM   #5
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstunbound View Post
I'm going to go ahead and bump this because it's getting worse and worse, it's not taking longer and longer to process this activity when I awake from sleep, add music, or change tags. It's driving me nuts.
Might be an iTunes 10.5 bug. Have you updated to 10.5.1 yet?
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 02:09 PM   #6
dstunbound
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Unfortunately still no resolution on this issue. I've tried updating iTunes, running mp3 repair programs, removing the songs and reimporting them, etc... and it still runs through the DGP process every time.

Apple is of no help, as per.
dstunbound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 03:43 PM   #7
ptys
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I think it may be due to corrupt MP3 files? Try converting the MP3's to AAC in the advanced menu, then just delete the original files and you should be good!
ptys is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 10:26 PM   #8
michael31986
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Same thing here iTunes keeps saying updating 426 files on my iPod. It's always sane ones I don't get it. Restored iPod already.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 10:28 PM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Convert them to AAC or Apple Lossless.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 05:06 AM   #10
michael31986
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Won't I lose quality? And I have tons on mp3 why just these? And I never had this prOblem with 4.0
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 05:16 AM   #11
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael31986 View Post
Won't I lose quality? And I have tons on mp3 why just these? And I never had this prOblem with 4.0
You will converting to AAC, but you will not lose quality (you WILL, however, increase file size for zero quality gain) converting to Apple Lossless.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 07:28 AM   #12
michael31986
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Yes but some of the songs that say updating are already AAC or store bought. So I think it's just a bug. I never had this before so I don't see why with 5.0 it happens.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 07:17 PM   #13
michael31986
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
i looked at what you said, but the songs that continue to say updating files and also updating genius are store bought songs and although they are bought i did convert them and try that, but it still does the same thing! it must be iTunes, because i restored my iPod already and that did nothing. UGH! i miss 4.x at least then it was no problem updating iPods.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2011, 09:40 PM   #14
michael31986
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptys View Post
I think it may be due to corrupt MP3 files? Try converting the MP3's to AAC in the advanced menu, then just delete the original files and you should be good!
i decided to see if it was the actual file or not. The files that were saying updated were files i bought on iTunes. So i decided to redownload them straight from iTunes and that seems to be working and now it updates one less file each time. I copied the redownloaded song back to my iPod and now the amount of songs updating is less one. maybe the files were corrupt. Although i don't see how considering they played fine and i bought them through iTunes.
michael31986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes "determining gapless playback" on MP3s Traverse OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Dec 14, 2013 07:44 PM
How to make iTunes stop looking for songs on nas and locate songs on mac instead? Scorpia Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 27, 2013 10:39 AM
How to put songs into itunes library without losing checked songs etc Scorpia Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 27, 2013 08:31 AM
Itunes gapless albums? eclipse01 iCloud and Apple Services 0 Sep 11, 2013 04:13 PM
No more option for Gapless Playback on iTunes 11? TsMkLg068426 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Mar 7, 2013 11:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC