Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2005, 12:11 AM   #1
emacuser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Unhappy eMac RAM compatibility question

Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help with this question. I have a 1GHz eMac with an 80 GB hard drive. Current memory is 256 MB and I want to add another 256 MB.

Went out tonight and bought an eXtreme pc 3200 256 MB card after asking the salesman if it was compatible with my eMac.

Now, after discovering my current RAM is pc133 I'm having doubts .

Can anyone tell me whether the eXtreme memory will work with what I currently have?

Many thanks in advance.
emacuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 12:14 AM   #2
e˛Studios
macrumors 68020
 
e˛Studios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by emacuser
Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help with this question. I have a 1GHz eMac with an 80 GB hard drive. Current memory is 256 MB and I want to add another 256 MB.

Went out tonight and bought an eXtreme pc 3200 256 MB card after asking the salesman if it was compatible with my eMac.

Now, after discovering my current RAM is pc133 I'm having doubts .

Can anyone tell me whether the eXtreme memory will work with what I currently have?

Many thanks in advance.
If its PC133 it is SDRAM, PC3200 is DDR they are incompatible. sorry.

Ed
__________________
"Shine Get!"
e˛Studios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 12:28 AM   #3
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
yup, like ed said, that's a 184pin ddr module--you want a 168 pin sdram module like the ones here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 12:59 AM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
There are two different eMac 1 GHz machines, one uses DDR RAM -- yours is the PC133 SDRAM version.
Go for a 512 MB module if you can afford it.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 01:02 AM   #5
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
There are two different eMac 1 GHz machines, one uses DDR RAM -- yours is the PC133 SDRAM version.
Go for a 512 MB module if you can afford it.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com
wow, that must be pretty confusing. i guess that's why they make the before/after april 2k4 (think that's it) distinction...
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2005, 07:40 PM   #6
emacuser
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Smile Thanks to all for the help. eom.

.
emacuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram compatibility question for black Macbook VoodooDaddy MacBook 1 Jun 29, 2013 06:58 AM
RAM Compatibility? White Shade MacBook Pro 2 Jun 25, 2013 01:06 PM
Ram compatibility qtrim Mac mini 3 Jun 15, 2013 05:27 PM
MacPro 1,1 RAM compatibility question UberPCDork Mac Pro 16 Jan 30, 2013 07:00 PM
RAM Compatibility Question DTphonehome Mac mini 4 Dec 9, 2012 05:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC