Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2011, 08:32 AM   #1
bakerboy89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
iOS5 software "corrupted" during download

Tried searching, nothing similar appeared during my search (if you managed to feel free to reply with the usual search noob, but make sure you include a link to your search )

ok here's my story
For the 2nd time (wasting 1.5gb of my 3gb monthly download ) I get the message "The software for the iPhone was corrupted during download" - error 1403

I'm using my iphone4 as my personal hotspot, running Norton 360, windows7 64bit. Before I completly lose it, what might be some glaringly obvious issues?

The previous software udate 4.3.5 was fine using Vista on my old computer

Thanks guys
bakerboy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 08:34 AM   #2
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerboy89 View Post
Tried searching, nothing similar appeared during my search (if you managed to feel free to reply with the usual search noob, but make sure you include a link to your search )

ok here's my story
For the 2nd time (wasting 1.5gb of my 3gb monthly download ) I get the message "The software for the iPhone was corrupted during download" - error 1403

I'm using my iphone4 as my personal hotspot, running Norton 360, windows7 64bit. Before I completly lose it, what might be some glaringly obvious issues?

The previous software udate 4.3.5 was fine using Vista on my old computer

Thanks guys
Perhaps you could try downloading the files directly from Apple's site. Links to the files are in the below thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1247406
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 08:41 AM   #3
bakerboy89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
ok, so not through itunes?

Also as i'm in Australia, on a iphone4, i would assume the link i need is the iphone4 GSM (as per post #4)?
bakerboy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 08:49 AM   #4
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerboy89 View Post
ok, so not through itunes?

Also as i'm in Australia, on a iphone4, i would assume the link i need is the iphone4 GSM (as per post #4)?
Which carrier are you on? Or is there only one? I'm in the US so I'm not familiar with Australian cellular carriers/technology. I did search Google a bit though and I believe GSM is the correct one.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 09:03 AM   #5
bakerboy89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2shyyou View Post
Which carrier are you on? Or is there only one? I'm in the US so I'm not familiar with Australian cellular carriers/technology. I did search Google a bit though and I believe GSM is the correct one.
With "3" which is now effectivly merged with "Vodaphone". Another carrier is Telstra. I do believe it will be the GSM link, just hoping someone has had and solved this issue before i waste another 800mb
bakerboy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 09:22 AM   #6
blacka4
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
could you possibably connect to internet at home and try DL from there. Not through the hotspot on your phone??
__________________
MBP 17" 2.26GHz, 120 GB HD,1GB RAM ;Mac Mini 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 1TB HD Multimedia Server, iPhone 4s Verizon
blacka4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 09:30 AM   #7
bakerboy89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
last billing period i got stung biggggg time due to over usage of data, bit reluctant to try it atm until later in the month and i can waste some of that data, still have a gig or more on the phones allocation
bakerboy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2011, 09:47 AM   #8
bakerboy89
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
good people of mac rumors, it has been solved

this link, http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1247406 ,but clicking on restore not update like the first post

currently restoring now, thanks a million guys

Just to sum it up:
1) If you wish to update to iOS55 but get the message "iOS5 corrupted during download" click on the link above.
2) Select your device
3) Save to C:\Users\[comp name]\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\i Tunes\ iPhone Software Updates
4) With the device selected in iTunes click Restore not update as mentioned in the links first post
5) Sit back, let it do its thing, restore to previous settings etc
bakerboy89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS/X Mavericks won't download - Click "Download" nothing happens Hiawatha Mac Basics and Help 7 Jun 28, 2014 10:02 AM
Does clicking on "Free Upgrade" in the App Store "download" or "download & upgrade"? darngooddesign OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Oct 31, 2013 12:48 PM
PDF "open in" disfunction following ios5->ios6 Vitaminp iOS 6 0 Sep 24, 2012 07:51 AM
Corrupted photo and video "fix" programs? mikeheenan Digital Photography 0 Sep 14, 2012 06:27 PM
DP4 missing "download speed", how to reenable? Also "Activity" too kocoman OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 14, 2012 08:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC