Getting the Samsung 830 SSD - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2011, 01:10 PM   #1
rainking
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Getting the Samsung 830 SSD

My mbp is backed up on my 2tb capsule. Is it really as easy as putting the new ssd in, booting to recover mode, download lion via internet, restore from time machine backup and i'm back up and running again?
__________________
 2011 17" MBP  2011 13" MBA  2011 Mac Mini  iPhone 5  2012 iPad 

rainking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2011, 01:20 PM   #2
Ant.honey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New York City
yes
Ant.honey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2011, 02:54 PM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Only thing I see you left out is once you boot to recovery mode you will need to use Disk Utility to format the new SSD. Then install Lion.
Weaselboy is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2011, 02:59 PM   #4
rainking
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Only thing I see you left out is once you boot to recovery mode you will need to use Disk Utility to format the new SSD. Then install Lion.
Ahh, that's right. Thanks for reminding me.

This is awesome. Just did a complete reinstall of Windows 7 on my older laptop and took me over 3 hours. Between the actual install + all the updates + all the reboots and more updates and more reboots.
__________________
 2011 17" MBP  2011 13" MBA  2011 Mac Mini  iPhone 5  2012 iPad 

rainking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 06:44 PM   #5
AppleGoat
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Hey, have you received the 830 yet. I want to know how it'll fit in the MBP. My understanding is that it is smaller than its predecessor. Once the 830 drops in price a bit, I figure to be rocking dual-SSDs: 830 and 470 in no particular raid configuration.
AppleGoat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 08:05 PM   #6
Contivity
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I'm planning to install it on my MBP. How would it fare if I use Carbon Copy Cloner instead of time machine? How can I transfer the recovery partition?
Contivity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 08:28 PM   #7
Minhthien
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contivity View Post
I'm planning to install it on my MBP. How would it fare if I use Carbon Copy Cloner instead of time machine? How can I transfer the recovery partition?
Install fresh OS X is the best!
__________________
15' 2011 MB Pro 2.3 i7 256SSD(Samsung 830)+Data Doubler 750gb / 16gb@1600mhz HR AG
Black iPhone 5 64gb / iPad 4 64gb+4G
Canon 5D Mark III+BG-E11 / 24-70 II/ 70-200L IS II
Minhthien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 10:27 AM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contivity View Post
I'm planning to install it on my MBP. How would it fare if I use Carbon Copy Cloner instead of time machine? How can I transfer the recovery partition?
This came up in the CCC forums and apparently the only way to get the Recovery Partition on the new drive is do a default install of Lion on the drive first. Then after that you can clone the old install onto the new one. If you are not having problems with your machine there is no reason to mess around doing a complete clean install.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 01:19 PM   #9
Contivity
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhthien View Post
Install fresh OS X is the best!
This is actually a pretty new install. I just got the late 2011 MBP15. I'm just contemplating to get SSD after using my friend's MBA and it feels faster and responsive. I'd hate to reinstall everything again after I just set everything up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
This came up in the CCC forums and apparently the only way to get the Recovery Partition on the new drive is do a default install of Lion on the drive first. Then after that you can clone the old install onto the new one. If you are not having problems with your machine there is no reason to mess around doing a complete clean install.
That sounds reasonable. If you happen to know, how do i reinstall Lion when the new system doesn't come with the CD. I have made the USB, using the Recovery disk assistant but there's nothing on it.
Contivity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 01:30 PM   #10
rainking
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contivity View Post
This is actually a pretty new install. I just got the late 2011 MBP15. I'm just contemplating to get SSD after using my friend's MBA and it feels faster and responsive. I'd hate to reinstall everything again after I just set everything up.



That sounds reasonable. If you happen to know, how do i reinstall Lion when the new system doesn't come with the CD. I have made the USB, using the Recovery disk assistant but there's nothing on it.
Command R when you boot and you can install Lion via the internet. Nothing else needed.
__________________
 2011 17" MBP  2011 13" MBA  2011 Mac Mini  iPhone 5  2012 iPad 

rainking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 03:55 PM   #11
Contivity
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainking View Post
Command R when you boot and you can install Lion via the internet. Nothing else needed.
Thx dude. This new method confuses me a bit.
Contivity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 03:05 PM   #12
snowman1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
7mm height

I'm interested in getting a Samsung 830 SSD too. The SSD is 7mm in height even though normal hard drives are 9.5 mm. Do I need to use spacers or anything to keep the SSD firmly in place in my MBP? I have a 13-inch mid 2009.
snowman1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 08:40 PM   #13
rainking
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Johnson City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman1 View Post
I'm interested in getting a Samsung 830 SSD too. The SSD is 7mm in height even though normal hard drives are 9.5 mm. Do I need to use spacers or anything to keep the SSD firmly in place in my MBP? I have a 13-inch mid 2009.
Get the netbook kit one. It will have everything you need to install properly.
__________________
 2011 17" MBP  2011 13" MBA  2011 Mac Mini  iPhone 5  2012 iPad 

rainking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 02:31 AM   #14
Contivity
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Finally pulled the trigger. I'm getting the m4 instead of the 830. With similar performance and reliability, the m4 offer slightly lower price (about 15%).
Contivity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 08:16 AM   #15
jboyzh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleGoat View Post
Hey, have you received the 830 yet. I want to know how it'll fit in the MBP. My understanding is that it is smaller than its predecessor. Once the 830 drops in price a bit, I figure to be rocking dual-SSDs: 830 and 470 in no particular raid configuration.
Here, I've already installed three 830s 512GB (2 with clients, and 1 on my MBP), all runs perfectly well so far, which is 1-2 weeks.

I did the cloning with Superduper on mine, with CCC on my clients MBPs.

Reinstalling Lion gets the recovery partition back.

No spacer needed for the 830s in the MBP, they take up just less space and fit well.

I just formatted the drives with Mac disk utility, not using the Samsung Win based software. No firmware updates.

I currently overview a total of 6 Samsung SSD, all installed on MBPs (2 PB22-J 256GB for several years now, 1 470 256GB for half a year, and now 3 830 512GB) and I've seen not one single problem with any of them.

So yes, I can recommend going with Samsung SSD from my experience.
jboyzh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 12:57 PM   #16
snowman1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I just got an 830 yesterday, and the entire installation was a breeze. No spacers needed because the drive is held in place by the screws on the SIDE of the SSD.

I usually like to do clean installs of the OS on new drives, so I made a Lion install disc, installed my SSD into the MBP, booted off of the install disc, formatted the SSD, and then installed it that way.

Runs quietly. Runs quickly. It's great for my first SSD experience! I got mine for $99.99 at Frys (64gb version).
snowman1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 01:10 AM   #17
chuck3d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I don't get it. My Samsung 830 arrived tonight and I'm afraid it's not formatting. I have it in an external USB drive, Disk Utility sees it fine.

All settings are default "fast," nothing that would cause it to run almost 2 hrs both times before I force quit.

My plan was to do a quick format, then run Carbon Copy Cloner from the SSD in the boot bay and then swap it out.

Any input would be appreciated. I didnt think I had to put it inside to get a format going, but maybe so. I could hook it to my PC and try to find the firmware. One note in the Samsung manual says that it may not operate properly in a Mac OS older than Snow Leopard. I am running Lion, so I'm curious if you guys are.
chuck3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 02:34 PM   #18
chuck3d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I am in the middle of reformatting in Windows now, then ensuring the firmware is updated, then I'll return to the Mac to reformat and see if that kicks it in.

From re-reading above, it sounds like you put the raw Samsung in, booted from your usb Lion (I have one too), then installed from there. Does Samsung auto-trim under Lion?

----------

No luck in Windows. It said it was unable to complete the format after an hour. My luck, maybe this drive is bad.
chuck3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:03 PM   #19
chuck3d
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Good news. All working. But for anyone using search on SSDs or even getting this particular model and lands at the end of this forum as I did, here is some really good advice:

--Put the drive inside your Mac before formatting.
--Formatting from an external enclosure is a nightmare (I tried both the OCZ Vertex 3 and Samsung and both fail)
--For the time it takes to insert the drive (15 minutes), I spent 8 hours befuddled by trying to clone the system over to my external, then swapping.

In fact, if you install the sdd, then use Carbon Copy Cloner from 1 drive to the other, the transfer is outrageous too.
chuck3d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:25 PM   #20
JTravers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Would love to have your initial impressions of the drive. Will you be putting your HDD in the optibay?
JTravers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:27 PM   #21
maril1111
macrumors 68000
 
maril1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
yes it is that easy, and as a tip put your old drive into your optibay
__________________
13" 2011 MBP 2.3,8 GB Ram,320GB HDD;13"MB 4.1 3 GB Ram 120GB HDD;iPad 3 32Gb 4G+Wifi;Ipod Classic 160GB;ipod nano 8GB
maril1111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:29 PM   #22
sfoalex
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Send a message via AIM to sfoalex
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck3d View Post
Good news. All working. But for anyone using search on SSDs or even getting this particular model and lands at the end of this forum as I did, here is some really good advice:

--Put the drive inside your Mac before formatting.
--Formatting from an external enclosure is a nightmare (I tried both the OCZ Vertex 3 and Samsung and both fail)
--For the time it takes to insert the drive (15 minutes), I spent 8 hours befuddled by trying to clone the system over to my external, then swapping.

In fact, if you install the sdd, then use Carbon Copy Cloner from 1 drive to the other, the transfer is outrageous too.
I formatted my SSD from a USB external with zero issue what-so-ever. Used SuperDuper to clone my internal factory Apple drive to the SSD, and then did a swap.
sfoalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 11:44 AM   #23
ccarli01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Dead thread but need to correct this

Quote:
Originally Posted by maril1111 View Post
yes it is that easy, and as a tip put your old drive into your optibay
DO NOT DO THIS!

Put your SSD in your optical bay because the sensor that can detect movement and slow down disk speed to prevent damage is only in your regular SATA connector not in your optical bay. Since SSD's dont spin its fine that it doesnt have the sensor.
ccarli01 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 12:20 PM   #24
phyrexia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleGoat View Post
Hey, have you received the 830 yet. I want to know how it'll fit in the MBP. My understanding is that it is smaller than its predecessor. Once the 830 drops in price a bit, I figure to be rocking dual-SSDs: 830 and 470 in no particular raid configuration.
I do this. It's greaat.
__________________
Powermac11,2 // Macbookpro8,3 // iPad(3), 32GB + VZW // IB i7 Hackintosh (BAMF) // Synology DS1513+, DS411
phyrexia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2012, 12:21 PM   #25
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I have a samsung 470 and an 830 and they are very solid SSDs.....I love them.
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone SSD to SSD Samsung 830 warehouse40 MacBook Pro 11 Apr 19, 2013 10:00 PM
Samsung 830 SSD 4K alignment? Does Samsung Magician Tool required? oldguru MacBook Pro 0 Sep 4, 2012 08:33 PM
New MBA to have Samsung 830 SSD? gus6464 MacBook Air 9 Jun 12, 2012 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC