Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 16, 2005, 09:55 PM   #1
dvdh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Running CS2 on a G3/900

Is anyone running CS2 on a G3/900?

I have a copy of CS2 coming my way and at the moment only my iBook G3/900 (640 Mb). Any hope of running it, or is there a new Mac on my horizon

I was noting that the Adobe site says G4/G5 but I was wondering if this was a suggestion or a requirement (like GarageBand 1.0 and the such being able to run on G3 with a little bit of install trickery)
dvdh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2005, 10:09 PM   #2
zach
macrumors 65816
 
zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brighton
I think it's just a suggestion.

I can't imagine CS 2 takes that much more than CS, and I ran Photoshop CS FINE on my 700 MHz iBook G3 with 384 RAM...
__________________
dissonance ∞
zach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2005, 06:25 AM   #3
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdh
Is anyone running CS2 on a G3/900?

I have a copy of CS2 coming my way and at the moment only my iBook G3/900 (640 Mb). Any hope of running it, or is there a new Mac on my horizon

I was noting that the Adobe site says G4/G5 but I was wondering if this was a suggestion or a requirement (like GarageBand 1.0 and the such being able to run on G3 with a little bit of install trickery)
Well to relly use PS CS2 you need a G4 or a G5......but I'm sure it will run on a G3 just that to do anything at a productive level the go for a G5.....
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2005, 08:25 AM   #4
Darwin
macrumors 65816
 
Darwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: round the corner
I'm using CS on my PowerBook (sig) and it is fine, most of the the time but when it comes to doing complex things or doing them quickly you won't have that real time speed that is expected
Darwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2005, 06:08 PM   #5
dvdh
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I don't really expect speed, I know enough from using CS on my G3/900 not to expect an miracles with CS2, I was just wondering if anyone was running CS2 on a G3 currently and if it was possible. Thanks for the replies everyone.

Last edited by dvdh; May 17, 2005 at 09:17 PM.
dvdh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2005, 08:14 PM   #6
iShadow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
if you can use it thats awsome because now I know I can use it, I love photoshop

Last edited by iShadow; May 17, 2005 at 08:16 PM.
iShadow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2005, 10:32 PM   #7
dvdh
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Got CS2 today, and so far have tried out Photoshop. Seems alright on a G3, I certainly didn't get any prompts that said it would require a G4/G5, however there is a prompt that indicates that adobe recommends 10.3.4 for full function, but it does run on my 10.2.8. However it seems that the new filter gallery has some stability issues. The first time I tried it, photoshop shut down with not so much as a warning prompt. The second time worked however. Maybe the lack of an altivec unit could be causing some filtering problems?
dvdh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2005, 09:47 AM   #8
javiercr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdh
Is anyone running CS2 on a G3/900?

I have a copy of CS2 coming my way and at the moment only my iBook G3/900 (640 Mb). Any hope of running it, or is there a new Mac on my horizon

I was noting that the Adobe site says G4/G5 but I was wondering if this was a suggestion or a requirement (like GarageBand 1.0 and the such being able to run on G3 with a little bit of install trickery)
i have tried the CS2 demo on a Pentium III 600 with 256 Mb of memory and it is much much slower than CS and it is not really useful. On a dual PIII with 516Mb of memory is runs ok, just a little slower. I don't know about G3s, i don't have one and i am not going to upgrade CS in my G4 PB.

I don't actually think CS2 add much to CS for most purposes anyway.
__________________
Audi A3 blog
javiercr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2005, 04:39 PM   #9
ITASOR
macrumors 601
 
ITASOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oneida, NY
Send a message via AIM to ITASOR
I was running CS and CS2 on my iBook 500Mhz 384RAM and they ran just as good as on my grandpa's G5. I don't like CS2 because it costs ALOT and buying it was not worth it for a few features that I would never use anyway. I reinstalled CS.
__________________
11.6" MBA | 4GB | 64GB
ITASOR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2005, 08:41 PM   #10
dvdh
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITASOR
I was running CS and CS2 on my iBook 500Mhz 384RAM and they ran just as good as on my grandpa's G5. I don't like CS2 because it costs ALOT and buying it was not worth it for a few features that I would never use anyway. I reinstalled CS.
In my case it was a matter of switching from Photoshop 7/Illustrator 10, so clearly CS2 is a step up, but you're right, there is limited value to going to CS2 from CS.
dvdh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$900 Apple GC...can't decide fabian43 MacBook Pro 20 Aug 15, 2013 01:46 AM
GOOG = 900 Dollars + bobenhaus Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 69 May 23, 2013 12:13 PM
768GB Flash down to $900 wmy5 iMac 61 Mar 5, 2013 08:22 PM
Nokia Lumia 900 GKDAIR Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Oct 23, 2012 03:17 PM
Would you take a 2012 cMBP over rMBP for $900 less? AlvinNguyen MacBook Pro 16 Aug 30, 2012 09:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC