Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Airforcekid

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 29, 2008
United States of America
I have never had a surround sound system I mainly just worry about video quality. I have a ATV, Boxee Box and Xbox 360. What is a good system under $250 and would be easy to set up for my devices? Thanks for any help I'm pretty new to surround sound. Also what is the difference between 5.1 and 7.1 and watts such as 500 or 1000?

xxBURT0Nxx

macrumors 68020
Jul 9, 2009
5.1 indicates 5 speakers and 1 subwoffer [3 fronts, 2 rears]

7.1 indicates 7 speakers and 1 subwoffer [3 fronts, 2 rears, 2 sides]

watts indicate the amount of power both that a receiver can output and what speakers are rated to play.

I would personally stay away from HTIB setups, but that's likely all you will find for $250.

tomville

macrumors newbie
Jun 9, 2011
5.1 indicates 5 speakers and 1 subwoffer [3 fronts, 2 rears]

7.1 indicates 7 speakers and 1 subwoffer [3 fronts, 2 rears, 2 sides]

watts indicate the amount of power both that a receiver can output and what speakers are rated to play.

I would personally stay away from htib setups, but that's likely all you will find for $250.

htib?

EvilShenaniganZ

macrumors 6502
Jul 9, 2009
HTIB, Home Theater in a Box.
Comes with everything you'll need. But anything for $250 won't be all that great. I would save up for something better. Or buy piece by piece. Grab a receiver and two fronts. Later when you have more $ add on the surrounds and a sub.

Airforcekid

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 29, 2008
United States of America
HTIB, Home Theater in a Box.
Comes with everything you'll need. But anything for $250 won't be all that great. I would save up for something better. Or buy piece by piece. Grab a receiver and two fronts. Later when you have more $ add on the surrounds and a sub.