Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:50 PM   #1
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Rosetta for PPC

I hate it when I download an app and it has that cancel sign on it. Some apps that I want are intel only, which is frustrating. This said, is there a way to emulate an intel app on a Power PC Mac? That would be cool...
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:53 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Realistically the only reason it worked from PPC to Intel was that the Intel CPUs were so much faster than the PPC CPUs they were "emulating" via the translation layer. Imagine how slow Intel apps would be running emulated on PowerPC.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:58 PM   #3
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
But is it possible?
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 04:06 PM   #4
bigeasy_uk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Leamington Spa, England
Hi Drew,

It is * technically* possible, you can get apps like virtual pc that emulate a whole x86 pc so running a mac native app, albeit for a different architecture, should be just as possible.
I haven't come across any software like this, I think due to the speed it would run at, ie really, really slowly.
Your best bet would be to find a native PPC alternative, what software is it you a trying to run? Someone here is bound to know of a good alternative.
bigeasy_uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 04:08 PM   #5
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Imagine how slow Intel apps would be running emulated on PowerPC.
This an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew017 View Post
But is it possible?
Well, you can run x86 windows apps via darwine (which uses QEMU to emulate an x86 CPU and WINE as the translation layer). I believe the roadblock for some kind of darwine like implementation for x86 OS X is that there is no legitimate way to get OS X running in QEMU.
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 06:49 PM   #6
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
You can't run an Intel-only Mac app on a PowerPC Mac. Can't be done at all. You can emulate an entire Windows PC on a PowerPC using Virtual PC.
__________________
michaelanthonyralph.com/wordpress - Late 2011 15" Macbook Pro - 2.4GHz quad - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1024MB - 1TB - 10.9.4
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 07:43 PM   #7
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
OK. The reason I posted was because my dad is thinking about getting an older mac (iBook, Powerbook...) off of eBay, and the older ones usually are priced lower. He invests, and needs a windows app called Qcharts. I have an iBook G3 (Tiger) and I'd like to test it out before he makes his decision. If not, he will spend some extra $$$ to buy an older Macbook.
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 09:52 PM   #8
mike457
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario
Frankly, while Virtual PC allows you to run Windows, it's REALLY slow. Most people would find it very frustrating. He would be much better to buy something that can run Windows in VM Ware, Parallels, or Crossover.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, mid 2010; Mini i5, 2011; iPad3; ATV3; iPhone 4; the Cube!
mike457 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 10:36 PM   #9
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
RDC is the word you're looking for...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike457 View Post
Frankly, while Virtual PC allows you to run Windows, it's REALLY slow.
this. REALLY (REALLY!!!) slow. even as a mad hacker/tweaker pulling out all the tricks on a windows install, it was hard to use.

best idea i have for these types of questions is remote desktop. get a running windows pc (or laptop) for cheap, put it on the network in a closet or garage or whatever, and the use the free RDC (remote desktop client) to control the pc. follow the links, then click 'Remote Desktop' and then download the '1.0.3' for PPC, or the '2.1.1' if you have an intel mac.

NOTE: the pc would need to be running XP Pro or the newer equivalent to be able to support the remote connection. the 'Home' version won't do this.

cheap, easy, won't slow down the Mac lappy, easy to support, update, backup, etc. i do this with an old piece of crap dell running in my crawl space under my house. it's cool, i dust it out once per year, it's totally silent or at least i can't hear it running from anywhere in the house. won't work for games/movies, but any regular apps look as good as running on a native PC.

best of luck.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.

Last edited by 4JNA; Nov 17, 2011 at 10:42 PM.
4JNA is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 10:52 PM   #10
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4JNA View Post
this. REALLY (REALLY!!!) slow. even as a mad hacker/tweaker pulling out all the tricks on a windows install, it was hard to use.

best idea i have for these types of questions is remote desktop. get a running windows pc (or laptop) for cheap, put it on the network in a closet or garage or whatever, and the use the free RDC (remote desktop client) to control the pc. click the 'Remote Desktop' and then download the '1.0.3' for PPC, or the '2.1.1' if you have an intel mac.

NOTE: the pc would need to be running XP Pro or the newer equivalent to be able to support the remote connection. the 'Home' version won't do this.

cheap, easy, won't slow down the Mac lappy, easy to support, update, backup, etc. i do this with an old piece of crap dell running in my crawl space under my house. it's cool, i dust it out once per year, it's totally silent or at least i can't hear it running from anywhere in the house. won't work for games/movies, but any regular apps look as good as running on a native PC.

best of luck.
Exactly. I kinda miss my pc days.. I learned everything I know about computing in XP Pro.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 10:54 PM   #11
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4JNA View Post
this. REALLY (REALLY!!!) slow. even as a mad hacker/tweaker pulling out all the tricks on a windows install, it was hard to use.

best idea i have for these types of questions is remote desktop. get a running windows pc (or laptop) for cheap, put it on the network in a closet or garage or whatever, and the use the free RDC (remote desktop client) to control the pc. click the 'Remote Desktop' and then download the '1.0.3' for PPC, or the '2.1.1' if you have an intel mac.

NOTE: the pc would need to be running XP Pro or the newer equivalent to be able to support the remote connection. the 'Home' version won't do this.

cheap, easy, won't slow down the Mac lappy, easy to support, update, backup, etc. i do this with an old piece of crap dell running in my crawl space under my house. it's cool, i dust it out once per year, it's totally silent or at least i can't hear it running from anywhere in the house. won't work for games/movies, but any regular apps look as good as running on a native PC.

best of luck.
Exactly. I kinda miss my PC days. I learned almost everything I know about computing in XP Pro.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 09:25 AM   #12
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike457 View Post
Frankly, while Virtual PC allows you to run Windows, it's REALLY slow.
It was just about unusable, even on a Quad G5. At the time, it really was much more worthwhile to just buy a cheap PC if you had to spend any time in Windows.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: 32 bit PPC version of Handbrake not recognizing PPC version of VLC RedCroissant Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jul 26, 2013 01:03 PM
Were PB Duos PPC or that other pre PPC thing? California PowerPC Macs 5 May 27, 2013 06:45 PM
General: Evasi0n, PPC/No, VPC on PPC/No, Linux on PB/No, OS X on AppleTv/No justperry Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Feb 19, 2013 12:35 AM
PPC better than Intel for PPC apps? Woodcrest64 PowerPC Macs 14 Nov 16, 2012 01:04 PM
For those of you who are missing Rosetta... Quaker101010 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Sep 22, 2012 05:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC