Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elgrecomac

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
San Diego
I have been using virtual machines for 3 years. I originally tested Fusion and Parallels and settled on Fusion. It was adequate for my business needs : MS Project and MS Visio. I did upgrade to Fusion 3 and then, most recently, Fusion 4. I am running a 2008 MBP with 6 Gb of RAM and I have a 7200 rpm 1/2 Terabyte drive running OSX 10.7.2.

Fusion 4, for me, has performed less than stellar. I find it to be slow, jerky and I get a LOT of spinning beach balls when working between OSX Lion and Fusion 4. YES, I have tweaked the memory and other values to get it running at its best but it has been frustrating. Out of frustration, I downloaded Parallels 7 and installed it. I converted my Fusion 4 virtual machine to Parallels 7 which when smoothly. Guess what? It definitely runs better than Fusion 4. The windows 7 virtual environment is stable and works MUCH better than Fusion 4 with less spinning beach balls in my Mac environment.

In the past I have posted threads praising Fusion but, with rev. 4, they lost me. I am not a Gamer, just a business user wanting to run key MS apps in a fast and stable environment.

Bravo Parallels team!

========
Read the 7th post in this thread...there is an update re: Fusion 4.1 which was released today.
========

Last edited:

dyn

macrumors 68030
Aug 8, 2009
.nl
Have you also tried the new Fusion 4.1 that was released today? It has some performance improvements and some graphic improvements.