Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2011, 11:18 AM   #1
gonzoh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
US ATV in the UK

With Christmas approaching I am thinking of giving my sister in the UK an ATV. Thing is they are a lot cheaper in the US than the UK relatively speaking.
If I bought a US ATV and took it to the UK would it work?

I see it has a universal PSU and the spec pages say it does 50/60 hz so would suggest a PAL/NTSC capability. Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!

any one have any thoughts

Thanks

George
gonzoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 11:58 AM   #2
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Yes it would
__________________
iPad 3 4G 64Gb - iPad 2 3G 64Gb - iPad 3G 32Gb - iPhone 2g 8Gb - iPhone 3g 8Gb - iPhone 3gs 16Gb - iPhone 4 32Gb -iPhone 4s 64Gb - MacBook unibody Alu - mac mini i5 2.5Ghz - mac mini 2Ghz
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 12:11 PM   #3
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzoh View Post
Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!
Well, they sell the ATV2 in the UK with HDMI as the only option for video out...

My US ATV1 works fine in the UK using a standard two prong lead.
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 01:51 PM   #4
vrDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
The bad old days when a TV or other electronic device bought in one country wouldn't work in another are (largely) a thing of the past. Thanks to globalization, and the widespread introduction of digital High Definition TV service, most such devices can cross borders with only minimal help.

The only issue I think you'd face is the power cord. You could simply use an adapter, which can be bought for $5 or so from any decent electrical store. More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.

The only other "downside" to AppleTV in the UK is the absence of Netflix, which I've found makes up a sizable portion of my AppleTV usage. But hey- you can't have everything.
vrDrew is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 03:46 PM   #5
itickings
macrumors 6502a
 
itickings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by vrDrew View Post
More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.
Very standard and very cheap. No worries.
__________________
Rawr!
itickings is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 05:26 PM   #6
gonzoh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Smile Thanks

Thanks for all your help. That solves one christmas present. Now what for everyone else!
gonzoh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 04:56 PM   #7
GLOC
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
As a follow up to this, do I need a US iTunes ac to use a US ATV2 in the UK?

Regards
GLOC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 01:11 AM   #8
DefBref
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
No, there is no difference between a US or UK ATV2. All that will happen if you don't use a US account then the netflix option will disappear from the menu.
DefBref is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:28 AM   #9
DOMCHO101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Now how about a spin on this question, which I've been meaning to ask for a while now... What about a US ATV2 in the Czech Republic?

The difference here is simple, they don't sell Apple TV's in Czech.
__________________
An Apple a day keeps Windows away!
DOMCHO101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use ATV as speaker system and for regular ATV use. Dr Kevorkian94 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Apr 3, 2014 11:13 PM
Atv 1 steleven9 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Mar 26, 2013 10:07 AM
For air play mirroring, is there any difference between ATV 2 vs ATV 3? Whackintosh Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Feb 28, 2013 10:01 PM
Help Needed Moving from ATV 1 to ATV 3 eyendall Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Aug 10, 2012 08:20 PM
ATV 2 vs ATV 3rd gen mykelala01 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 30, 2012 04:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC