Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2011, 05:40 PM   #1
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
My computer keeps restarting - might be north bridge

So I have an i7 920 in one of my systems, and it's been giving me trouble. I'm not overclocking, I have set the defaults in the bios.

I added a liquid cooling CPU cooler, and I have 2 x 260 gpus. Now in the past (last winter), the north bridge kept over heating. I ended up putting a box fan beside it to cool it off, but it was working great - running at 4.2 ghz.

Now if I only gpu fold, it will run fine. If I CPU fold also, it will crash after about 30 mins. I can't figure out what is going on. I have a temp monitoring going, and the temps are great. I walk away, come back about 30 min later, and it has crashed and restarted.

Any ideas on what I can try to do? I really don't wanna put any more money in this computer

Thanks in advance
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 06:20 PM   #2
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Well it appears that if I only fold with 1 gpu, then it doesn't crash. It's been going for 30 min now, and it's still running fine. Now the second gpu does cover up the northbridge, do you think that's the problem?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 09:41 PM   #3
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Well it looks like it died. I was messing around with changing video cards, overclocking, and I had left the room. I left it only folding with 1 gpu and the CPU running at 3.5 ghz. Came back later and there was a burnt smell, and no lights, computer won't turn on.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 02:40 AM   #4
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
Well it looks like it died. I was messing around with changing video cards, overclocking, and I had left the room. I left it only folding with 1 gpu and the CPU running at 3.5 ghz. Came back later and there was a burnt smell, and no lights, computer won't turn on.
Sorry to hear!

Any idea what burnt? On the only board I killed it was the VRM's that couldn't handle the power the CPU was drawing. The CPU's themselves are pretty tough and should self protect.
Does it do anything at all now? Mine at least tried to POST (fans span up) then BIOS beeped a few complaints before resetting. If not, it could just be the PSU tripped.

About the northbridge (or PCH or whatever it's now called), I have had trouble with them overheating, especially with GPUs that exhaust on them. I ended up rigging an extra fan to help out.

Hope you get it sorted, Rob
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 09:48 AM   #5
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Sorry to hear!

Any idea what burnt? On the only board I killed it was the VRM's that couldn't handle the power the CPU was drawing. The CPU's themselves are pretty tough and should self protect.
Does it do anything at all now? Mine at least tried to POST (fans span up) then BIOS beeped a few complaints before resetting. If not, it could just be the PSU tripped.

About the northbridge (or PCH or whatever it's now called), I have had trouble with them overheating, especially with GPUs that exhaust on them. I ended up rigging an extra fan to help out.

Hope you get it sorted, Rob
thanks. well the PSU is dead for sure. i'm probably looking at a new PSU and motherboard at a minimum. the motherboard was a smaller board anyways, and wasn't all that great. b/c it was so small, the GPU blocked the northbridge, causing it to overheat.

so now my question is, do i try to save this system, spending about $200 on a mobo and $150 on a PSU? or should i just get another system with an i7 2600k and just save the ram, gpus, and hard drive out of the old one?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 10:01 AM   #6
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
I would say X79, but that's a bit expensive. So a 1155 CPU combo has to be it. Although if you want future bigadv units, it'll have to be 2011 CPU.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 12:11 PM   #7
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I would say X79, but that's a bit expensive. So a 1155 CPU combo has to be it. Although if you want future bigadv units, it'll have to be 2011 CPU.
yeah i don't wanna put any more money into this old system. so i guess a newer system with an i7 2600k is the way to go. i know it won't be able to do the future bigadv units, but i'm ok with that if i'm not putting much money into it.

what do you think about the Cyberpowerpc - Fang Evo GLC1202. i can get thru best buy and get 18 months 0% interest. link
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 12:13 PM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah i don't wanna put any more money into this old system. so i guess a newer system with an i7 2600k is the way to go. i know it won't be able to do the future bigadv units, but i'm ok with that if i'm not putting much money into it.

what do you think about the Cyberpowerpc - Fang Evo GLC1202. i can get thru best buy and get 18 months 0% interest. link
Too much money.... specially considering a GTS 450 as a GPU. I think the DIY can yield you better results for that cash amount. Also, NewEgg has also a 12 months 0% interest program (I think?).

Also, take into account, that with a DIY, you don't have to rebuy many of the stuff you currently have in your downed system, (HDD, DVD-drive, RAM) so the cost comes down even more.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 03:37 PM   #9
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Too much money.... specially considering a GTS 450 as a GPU. I think the DIY can yield you better results for that cash amount. Also, NewEgg has also a 12 months 0% interest program (I think?).

Also, take into account, that with a DIY, you don't have to rebuy many of the stuff you currently have in your downed system, (HDD, DVD-drive, RAM) so the cost comes down even more.
well the main thing i was worried about with the one i linked was the motherboard. think it's okay?

if i went with DIY, should i just buy another mobo and use my current processor, or just scrap it and start over with a newer processor? (except ram, hard drive, dvd drive, gpu)
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 08:15 PM   #10
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well the main thing i was worried about with the one i linked was the motherboard. think it's okay?
Well, I clicked the link and saw the complete setup... I mean it looks nice, and has a decent CPU... but the motherboard is unknown, and I dislike that GPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
if i went with DIY, should i just buy another mobo and use my current processor, or just scrap it and start over with a newer processor? (except ram, hard drive, dvd drive, gpu)
It depends on your budget. If you were planning on spending $1k with financing on the above link, then you should consider a X79 mobo+CPU (should be under $800) and recycle the other components....

But if you want to adhere to strict budget, then just do P68, and get it over with. Although current X58 motherboards and CPUs are falling in price rapidly...
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 09:57 PM   #11
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Well, I clicked the link and saw the complete setup... I mean it looks nice, and has a decent CPU... but the motherboard is unknown, and I dislike that GPU.
yeah, i tried to search for that mobo, and i think i found it last night. it was a smaller board, and i'm afraid if i put 2 GPUs in there, it would block the northbridge, and i'd have the same problem i have now.

Quote:
It depends on your budget. If you were planning on spending $1k with financing on the above link, then you should consider a X79 mobo+CPU (should be under $800) and recycle the other components....

But if you want to adhere to strict budget, then just do P68, and get it over with. Although current X58 motherboards and CPUs are falling in price rapidly...
yeah, i think right now i'm going to just get a new PSU and see if i can get it to work. if i build a new system, i'll need a new PSU anyways. i won't be able to work on this til saturday or sunday, but i'll let you know how it goes
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 10:35 PM   #12
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Yea I would say try a new PSU. How many watts was your old PSU? I thinking the power draw was too great while folding both CPU and GPU for it to handle.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 01:03 AM   #13
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Before you plug in a new power supply, just check closely around the EPS 12V connector and VRMs for any sign of damage.
If that area has gotten too hot, solder can melt and form a short circuit that will fry the next unsuspecting PSU.
Will the old PSU fire up at all if the EPS is unplugged? It's possible it detected a short and shut off or did it smell burnt?
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:17 PM   #14
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Yea I would say try a new PSU. How many watts was your old PSU? I thinking the power draw was too great while folding both CPU and GPU for it to handle.
i think it was only 500w. i just bought an 850w

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Before you plug in a new power supply, just check closely around the EPS 12V connector and VRMs for any sign of damage.
If that area has gotten too hot, solder can melt and form a short circuit that will fry the next unsuspecting PSU.
Will the old PSU fire up at all if the EPS is unplugged? It's possible it detected a short and shut off or did it smell burnt?
hmm, i'll check. it smelt burnt right after it died. i haven't taken it apart yet, but which connectors am i looking at exactly?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 08:03 PM   #15
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
i think it was only 500w. i just bought an 850w
Yea for two GPUs and an i7 I would say a minimum of 750w (especially if OC'd). You probably were able to get away with it when the PSU was newer, but after pushing it for a while it probably gave out.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 09:26 PM   #16
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Before you plug in a new power supply, just check closely around the EPS 12V connector and VRMs for any sign of damage.
If that area has gotten too hot, solder can melt and form a short circuit that will fry the next unsuspecting PSU.
Will the old PSU fire up at all if the EPS is unplugged? It's possible it detected a short and shut off or did it smell burnt?
well i took the old power supply out, and i didn't see any damage near the 12V connector, though there still could be some.

Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Yea for two GPUs and an i7 I would say a minimum of 750w (especially if OC'd). You probably were able to get away with it when the PSU was newer, but after pushing it for a while it probably gave out.
yeah. i checked and it was 500w.

i'm a little concerned with a cable coming out of the cooler (i have a liquid cooling H50 i think), and the cable shell is ripped where it goes into the cooler. i have no idea how this happened, but i am a little worried about it
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 10:22 PM   #17
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i got the new PSU installed and everything seems to be working good! well, as good as it was before at least. the gpus still block the northbridge, and it overheats, so i have the case open and a box fan blowing air on it.

right now i'm only running at 2.9 ghz, and folding at 100% - but my temps seem kinda high. i have 2 temp monitoring programs going - asus ai manager is saying 42-43 C and realTemp is saying 55-59 C. does that seem kinda high to you?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 10:30 PM   #18
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i got the new PSU installed and everything seems to be working good! well, as good as it was before at least. the gpus still block the northbridge, and it overheats, so i have the case open and a box fan blowing air on it.

right now i'm only running at 2.9 ghz, and folding at 100% - but my temps seem kinda high. i have 2 temp monitoring programs going - asus ai manager is saying 42-43 C and realTemp is saying 55-59 C. does that seem kinda high to you?
What's your vcore at?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 11:36 PM   #19
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
What's your vcore at?
i just left it at auto for now.

i just turned it up to 3.5 ghz to see how the temps do. they are now at 65-69C under full load. i'm just gonna leave it like that for awhile and see how it does
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 12:42 PM   #20
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i got the new PSU installed and everything seems to be working good! well, as good as it was before at least. the gpus still block the northbridge, and it overheats, so i have the case open and a box fan blowing air on it.

right now i'm only running at 2.9 ghz, and folding at 100% - but my temps seem kinda high. i have 2 temp monitoring programs going - asus ai manager is saying 42-43 C and realTemp is saying 55-59 C. does that seem kinda high to you?
Yes and no... I don't know what the Vcore is. If Vcore is low and those are your temps... (I'm going with the highest) then it might be bad.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 12:59 PM   #21
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Yes and no... I don't know what the Vcore is. If Vcore is low and those are your temps... (I'm going with the highest) then it might be bad.
I would assume tho that auto vcore would be higher than needed to "play it safe" so to speak. The auto voltages are not optimized. Those temps are relatively safe, although I would want them down a little bit.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 04:32 PM   #22
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Well I left it folding for a few days. When I left, it was running at 3.5 ghz and temps were 62-65 C.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 06:38 PM   #23
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
I would assume tho that auto vcore would be higher than needed to "play it safe" so to speak. The auto voltages are not optimized. Those temps are relatively safe, although I would want them down a little bit.
I don't want temps in the 55s unless I'm there personally stressing.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 12:59 AM   #24
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I don't want temps in the 55s unless I'm there personally stressing.
Really! That low? On Intel?

I know it's possible to get that low, but I wouldn't have said 65 is anything to worry about either.
I'm happy if they're sat mid 70's. I've got i7s that have been sat at that with months of stable uptime. They might complain long term, but you're not going to kill them off at 65, even with added vcore.

I realise mobile processors have higher limits, but my MBPs rock along in the 90's 24/7.
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 09:04 PM   #25
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Really! That low? On Intel?

I know it's possible to get that low, but I wouldn't have said 65 is anything to worry about either.
I'm happy if they're sat mid 70's. I've got i7s that have been sat at that with months of stable uptime. They might complain long term, but you're not going to kill them off at 65, even with added vcore.

I realise mobile processors have higher limits, but my MBPs rock along in the 90's 24/7.
Yeah that's what I thought.

How many MBPs you got?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I don't want temps in the 55s unless I'm there personally stressing.
I didn't think that was high
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini issues.. programs quitting, computer restarting randomly, etc. eskomo021 Mac mini 7 Jul 19, 2013 03:20 AM
Restarting computer before required 1 minute wait after update bad? asenna MacBook Air 1 Jun 12, 2013 12:34 PM
Restarting computer before required 1 minute wait after update bad? asenna OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 12, 2013 12:04 PM
Computer keeps restarting each night...copy of problem report included Flyin' Hawaiian Mac mini 13 Mar 11, 2013 03:20 PM
I updated my mac computer now keeps Restarting blasena iMac 3 Jan 2, 2013 06:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC