Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2011, 07:14 AM   #1
alexz"
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
iPad 2 - can't restore in iTune : error 1600

Hi guys, my 4.3.3 JB iPad 2 won't boot - stuck on apple logo, and my HD where my Tinyumbrella was died a day before...

I tried a 'normal' iTunes restore last night, willing to give up my JB for 5.0.1, but after 2 hours i get the dreaded 1600 error.

Apple Genius Bar said they couldn't fix it. They won't even replace it since its known to be a JB bug. I live in France btw, so JB is not really tolerated here.

I tried RedSnow, but i can't find a ipsw that RedSnow will recognize...

Any ideas besides punching my iPad really hard and release all my current frustration with apple products breaking down on me recently ?

Thanks
alexz" is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 02:49 PM   #2
ahmedblack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
well lets try this and let me know if it works:

1- make sure iTunes is closed and not running on ur pc
2- get ur usb wire ready but not connected to ur pc
3-on ur ipad press the power on/off button and the home screen button together at the same time and keep pressing until the screen turns off and release.
4- connect ur Ipad to the pc,,do not run Itunes yet.
5- wait for a while,,you should see a message on ur pc recognizing Ipad as a new device.wait for it to finish.
6- if itunes didn't start automatically,run it and press on the "restore" button.

hope this will help

Last edited by ahmedblack; Nov 22, 2011 at 04:06 PM. Reason: spelling check
ahmedblack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 01:56 AM   #3
alexz"
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
thanks but that didnt help i still get the error...
alexz" is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 08:49 AM   #4
alexz"
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
after hours of begging at the apple store, they finally took back my iPad 2 and gave me a brand new one.



No idea what the firmware is though since I'm at work and we don't have iTunes...
alexz" is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 09:37 PM   #5
hoai2311
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
iPad 2 - can't restore in iTune : error 1600

I connected the unit to iTunes which recognized it was in restore mode and attempted to restore but has failed multiple times on with either 1604 or 1600. Below is a list of things I've tried to get the restore to complete successfully to no avail:

* Normal restore and DFU mode restore
* Changed USB ports
* Waiting until I got the error and restated iTunes
* Stopped/Restarted Apple Device service
* Uninstalled/Reinstalled iTunes
* Deleted IPSW file
* Turned off Anti-virus protection and firewall
* Tried a different PC cable in multiple USB ports
* Restarted the PC several times
* Tried a different PC
__________________
skin care tips
hoai2311 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 09:21 AM   #6
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Did you try different USB port?

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3694#error1601

You should do a little google-ing.
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2011, 05:38 AM   #7
MusicEnthusiast
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Is this a common problem among attempting to restore jailbroken ipads?
MusicEnthusiast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2012, 02:37 AM   #8
nabaricia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Smile Hope this helps!!!

Same thing happened to me when i tried to install siri on my jb iPad 2 i had to turn off the iPad switch in iFile it then said to reboot. That was the problem when i did it just whent to the Apple logo then the screen got brighter but it stayed atthe Apple logo. I tried hard reset and cold whatever then i put it into dfu mode. although it was in dfu mode it still had the apple logo their (idk bout that.) so then i tried restoring it but it kept erroring

(MY SOLUTION) so out of frustration plugged it into my windows desktop and i held the home and power buttons for about a minute when i did that it eventually took me to the connect to itunes screen after that.... BINGO it started uinstalling drivers and such on my computer. so after that all i had to do it restore it to itunes and thankfully i had a backup. So it worked for mew and hopefully it will work for you so good luck!
nabaricia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 11:44 AM   #9
mario24601
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Tried to erase all content on my first gen and now get this 1600 error. Have tried numerous things suggested here. Things I tried:
-make sure tiny umbrella was unchecked for set host to cydia
-tried manually installing 4.3 and 5.01 and 5.1
-put into usb mode and do restore
-use redsnow to fix but that says communication error USB
-tried on different Mac

Any other things I can try? Now iPad is stuck in USB recovery so nothing is on screen.
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 10:35 AM   #10
mario24601
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Also tried using windows PC, same error 1600 and also sometimes get 1601, 1602.

Have just been trying about even suggestion I find and nothing works

Any other suggestions on what to try?
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 10:57 AM   #11
bufffilm
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
are you sure that you're doing the dfu restore procedure correctly?

http://www.letskis.com/how-bypass-it...r-mac-windows/



Quote:
Originally Posted by mario24601 View Post
Tried to erase all content on my first gen and now get this 1600 error. Have tried numerous things suggested here. Things I tried:
-make sure tiny umbrella was unchecked for set host to cydia
-tried manually installing 4.3 and 5.01 and 5.1
-put into usb mode and do restore
-use redsnow to fix but that says communication error USB
-tried on different Mac

Any other things I can try? Now iPad is stuck in USB recovery so nothing is on screen.
bufffilm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 11:21 AM   #12
mario24601
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I thought I did but trying this again. I now get a message unable to recognize specified ISPW. I got the 5.1 directly from apple. Do you have a place I can try to redownload 5.1?

I tried another download of 5.1 same thing, I tried newer redsn0w and get usb connection issue...I tried new cable, and other port...same thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by bufffilm View Post
are you sure that you're doing the dfu restore procedure correctly?

http://www.letskis.com/how-bypass-it...r-mac-windows/

Last edited by mario24601; Apr 21, 2012 at 12:01 PM.
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 04:21 PM   #13
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
is it still in DFU-mode? if so kick it out with TU

Download 5.01 or 5.1 IPSW from here, make sure you pick the right one for your idevice:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=8500

Put your device in DFU-mode again, hold home+power together, until it turns off, count 3 more seconds, than release power while holding home for 10 seconds.

Screen should be black

connect ipad, itunes should pop-up with message it found your ipad in recovery-mode, if it doesn't its not in DFU. Do ALT-restore in iTunes, now pick your fresh downloaded IPSW and restore.

if it gives 1600 error, your host is still set to cydia.

Check again in TU if it is unchecked.
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 06:05 PM   #14
mario24601
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I was able to kick out of DFU then put back in, got 5.1 for my first gen then got error that states "iPad not eligible for requested build" I tried 4.3.2 which is what I use to have on iPad and got same message. TU has set host to cydia check off. In TU checks are yes on for all others, save all available shah, request shah from cydia, overwrite existing shah and when connecting a divide prefer my custom device name...should any off these be unchecked?

EDIT: I unchecked everything off in TU and tired and guess what that worked!!! I thought this thing was toast...it now has 5.1

Thank you so much everyone for all the help!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by TriJetHero View Post
is it still in DFU-mode? if so kick it out with TU

Download 5.01 or 5.1 IPSW from here, make sure you pick the right one for your idevice:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=8500

Put your device in DFU-mode again, hold home+power together, until it turns off, count 3 more seconds, than release power while holding home for 10 seconds.

Screen should be black

connect ipad, itunes should pop-up with message it found your ipad in recovery-mode, if it doesn't its not in DFU. Do ALT-restore in iTunes, now pick your fresh downloaded IPSW and restore.

if it gives 1600 error, your host is still set to cydia.

Check again in TU if it is unchecked.

Last edited by mario24601; Apr 21, 2012 at 06:17 PM.
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 11:18 AM   #15
dencuk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
For any jailbroken iPad or IOS device that wont restore the most common cause is the hosts file

so try this and let me know if it works it does for me
firstly goto

C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc or whatever drive windows is installed on then delete the file hosts

then try a restore via itunes and 9 out of 10 times any error you had will be fixed and it will restore your device to stock
dencuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 01:47 PM   #16
GMGQ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Error 6101 when upgrading iPad2 Wifi from 4.3 to 6.1.2

I'm still having this same problem when trying to upgrade to 6.1.2 (so I can JB with evasi0n).

iPad 2 Wifi (first gen)
Current Firmware: 4.3
Jailbroken
Windows 7
Downloaded 6.1.2 FW

- Used TinyUmbrella and unchecked "set host to cydia" (I used to get error 3194, but not anymore)
- set iPad 2 to DFU mode
- iTunes correctly detects that the device needs to be restored
- I hit shift-Restore and selected the 6.1.2 file
- iTunes extracts the files and prepares the ipad for restore, but after several minutes, I'll get get a 6101 error

I've tried a different cable, different USB ports, and 2 different PCs -- same result.

Thanks in advance.
GMGQ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 02:39 PM   #17
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
you can't restore to 6.1.2, only 6.1.3

Apple is no longer signing 6.1.2 you are a month late.
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ipod Touch 4G error 1600 restore error DrunkinMacbook iPhone 1 Apr 5, 2014 11:35 AM
iPad: iPad 2 error 1600 custom restore Confucius. iPad 1 Nov 25, 2012 07:35 PM
iTunes restore error 1600 iClive iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 11 Oct 24, 2012 09:03 AM
iPhone 4 restore 1600 error AiPounas iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 11 Oct 1, 2012 01:39 AM
iPhone Restore error 1600 HakunaMatata123 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jun 7, 2012 11:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC