Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:38 PM   #1
Vapor matt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
SATA 3 Anyone!



Well I've got a mac 4.1 that i updated to 5.1 fitted a hex W3680 + 1333 memory, and thought SATA 3 would be nice and found this card which comes up in lion with native drivers and gives me SATA 3 and 400+ MBS read speeds!


Now Iam happy!

__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:41 PM   #2
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
What's the card and where from? (in the uk as well)
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
The card can be found here


http://www.amazon.co.uk/PCIE-SATA-eS...=5336090759-21

and it works a treat, very fast with my vertex 3 SSD apps open in a blink of the eye
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 04:55 PM   #4
kgapp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post


Well I've got a mac 4.1 that i updated to 5.1 fitted a hex W3680 + 1333 memory, and thought SATA 3 would be nice and found this card which comes up in lion with native drivers and gives me SATA 3 and 400+ MBS read speeds!


Now Iam happy!

Image
I am also curious what card you are using. More importantly, can you boot from it? I haven't seen one yet that was capable of booting in OS X.
kgapp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:01 PM   #5
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
I am also curious what card you are using. More importantly, can you boot from it? I haven't seen one yet that was capable of booting in OS X.

Iam booting from it now

__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:10 PM   #6
kgapp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
Iam booting from it now

Image
Well that is definitely good news to me. All the other cards have been reported to not be capable of booting in OS X. Now I just need to find myself one of these here in the U.S.

Do you have the SSD in a standard drive bay or is it in your optical? I am curious as to how I will be able to attach a cable to a drive in a drive sled. Can I do this easily or does it require modifications?
kgapp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:14 PM   #7
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
well i have bought a special cable, a serial ATA power extension cable,( has a male and female end to it) i used sled 4 for the vertex and used servo tape to attach the drive to sled. took power with said cable direct from M/B at sled 4 and connected SATA cable to drive from PCIE controller which is directly under sled 4.

when you open the case it all looks normal just a PCIE controller and serial at a cable in view, very neat and tidy.

will take a picture tomorrow when i can find my digi camera
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:16 PM   #8
kgapp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
will take a picture tomorrow when i can find my digi camera
Yes, a picture would be most helpful. Thanks for the good info.
kgapp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 06:04 PM   #9
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
You could use this to save your sleds for 3.5" drives and increase overall drive capacity.

http://www.transintl.com/store/categ...estTimeOut=500

ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 07:05 PM   #10
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello

Two questions:

-There are two types of PCIe slots in the Mac Pros, 2 at 16X usually reserved for GPUs, and 2 other slots at 4X. Do we need to put the SATA3 card in a 16X slot to have the full speed?

-does the transintl multi sled interfere with larger GPU cards?

Thanks

Loa

P.S. Oh, we can find that card on eBay for much cheaper than amazon. Search for pcie and sata3, and make sure the card is the same (i.e. chipset ASM1061).
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 03:37 AM   #11
Honbe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Maybe it would be easier and better to use this: http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/in...duct_id=189%20
Honbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 04:54 AM   #12
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
-There are two types of PCIe slots in the Mac Pros, 2 at 16X usually reserved for GPUs, and 2 other slots at 4X. Do we need to put the SATA3 card in a 16X slot to have the full speed?
No, as it's only a 1x lane card.

Couple of notes:
  1. It would be advisable to run a single SSD on it though (PCIe 2.0 lane is good for 500MB/s, which could throttle on a single SSD, and almost certainly so when running 2x SSD's simultaneously).
  2. Slots 3 & 4 actually share the same 4x lanes via a PCIe switch, so running cards simultaneously can slow you down a bit as well.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 05:09 AM   #13
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
No, as it's only a 1x lane card.

Couple of notes:
It runs fine in both X4 PCIE slots aswell as the 16X PCIE slot, this is with one SSD drive attached to the card, havnt got 2 SATA 3 drives to try. runs the same speed on the 4X as 16X
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 11:33 AM   #14
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
The card can be found here


http://www.amazon.co.uk/PCIE-SATA-eS...=5336090759-21

and it works a treat, very fast with my vertex 3 SSD apps open in a blink of the eye

Who makes this card? No info here. ??
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 11:56 AM   #15
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
http://www.ebay.ca

Seems like the same card? chipset ASM1061
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 12:10 PM   #16
reebzor
macrumors 6502a
 
reebzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Send a message via AIM to reebzor
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
http://www.ebay.ca

Seems like the same card? chipset ASM1061
Looks the same, heres a US link: eBay
__________________
Mac Mini, 24" ACD, Macbook Pro, iPhone, iPad
RIP Steve, You're an inspiration to us all
reebzor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 12:46 PM   #17
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
It runs fine in both X4 PCIE slots aswell as the 16X PCIE slot, this is with one SSD drive attached to the card, havnt got 2 SATA 3 drives to try. runs the same speed on the 4X as 16X
Of course it would work in a 4x or 16x lane slot.

The point was that it's a waste to use a 16x lane slot for a 1x lane card, so using a 4x lane slot is the way to go (as 4x is the smallest slot width offered in the MP).

And that there are limitations with this and similar SATA controller chips (1x PCIe gen 2.0 spec based controller = max throughput of 500MB/s). Now keep in mind that a single 6.0Gb/s SATA port can sustain ~540 - 550MB/s, so it's actually possible to throttle a 6.0Gb/s SSD on such a card, let alone running two of them.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 01:29 PM   #18
Neodym
macrumors 65816
 
Neodym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
You could use this to save your sleds for 3.5" drives and increase overall drive capacity.
Sharkoon even offers a solution for six 2.5" drives in one 5.25" bay (also available for 4 drives). Admitted - cable routing would probably be more of a hassle there. But combined you could pack the MacPro to the limit:

Both optical bays with the Sharkoon adapter = 12 2.5" drives.
The TransIntl adapter you linked makes for another 4 2.5" drives.
Makes 16 2.5" drives PLUS 4 3.5" drives (or alternatively PLUS 8 2.5" drives in the 3.5" bays).

So what could one do with 24(!) 2.5" drives in a MacPro? That would be 12TB of disk space when taking comparably inexpensive magnetic drives with 500GB each. IIRC you can get 1TB in a 2.5" form factor these days, which would result in 24TB of disk space internally(!). Take that, iMac!

Though even more important - how could one come even close to properly support them in terms of ports and speeds?
Neodym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 01:42 PM   #19
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
What, does somebody make this card in their basement? It can't have a manufacturer listed?
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 02:20 PM   #20
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Of course it would work in a 4x or 16x lane slot.

The point was that it's a waste to use a 16x lane slot for a 1x lane card, so using a 4x lane slot is the way to go (as 4x is the smallest slot width offered in the MP).

And that there are limitations with this and similar SATA controller chips (1x PCIe gen 2.0 spec based controller = max throughput of 500MB/s). Now keep in mind that a single 6.0Gb/s SATA port can sustain ~540 - 550MB/s, so it's actually possible to throttle a 6.0Gb/s SSD on such a card, let alone running two of them.
Hi nanofrog, I totally agree with what your saying, as the 4X slot is no slower than the 16X slot and yes it will throttle a sata 3 SSD drive marginally, but its still a lot faster than the mac 4.1 5.1 SATA 2 system. to which iam seeing very nearly double the speed and through put. even built in SATA 3 on some M/Boards PC based are not reaching full speed. but over my SATA 2 SSD this vertex 3 with the card beats it at double the speed. so for us waiting for the new mac pro with SATA 3 we can now get at least 1 SSD SATA 3 drive running almost at full speed using a very cheap card in a PCIE X4 slot.

also some who won't be buying new mac pro when they finally arrive will benefit from SATA 3 speed on there older mac pros.
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 03:28 PM   #21
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanofrog View Post
[*]Slots 3 & 4 actually share the same 4x lanes via a PCIe switch, so running cards simultaneously can slow you down a bit as well.[/LIST]
The description for the ASM on amazon.fr says that it only has 2 ports, with dip switches to select internal/external.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 04:31 PM   #22
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by initialsBB View Post
The description for the ASM on amazon.fr says that it only has 2 ports, with dip switches to select internal/external.
Thats nasty!
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 04:57 PM   #23
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
The description for the ASM on amazon.fr says that it only has 2 ports, with dip switches to select internal/external.

this is correct, you can only run 2 drives off this card, 2 internal, or 2 external, or 1 internal 1 external.

Iam only running 1 vertex 3 internal.
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 10:20 PM   #24
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor matt View Post
this is correct, you can only run 2 drives off this card, 2 internal, or 2 external, or 1 internal 1 external.
Ok thats not so bad for this price point, I thought the dip was going to limit it to IN or OUT.

To confirm you say you have booted off this card successfully? For how long?
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 03:02 AM   #25
Vapor matt
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
To confirm you say you have booted off this card successfully? For how long?

I have booted off this card since instalation, which was tuesday evening here in the UK, it has never failed to boot, it has never given me any kernel panics, it boots real fast and iam so pleased with the speed!

For the price point its a bargin! and anyone who wants to get SATA 3 speed from there mac pro without having to purchase a new mac pro which isnt availble yet.
__________________
Imac 27" 3.5 i7 16g DDR3 GTX-780m 500g SSD
Vapor matt is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put a SATA 3.0 drive into an older external SATA USB dock? FatLip Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Dec 7, 2013 04:51 PM
OWC Multi-Mount Question: three SATA drives, two SATA cables aminadab Mac Pro 1 Jul 23, 2013 11:00 PM
2011/2012 Macbook Pro's Optibay Sata 2 / Sata 3 Configurations pedrofan MacBook Pro 1 May 6, 2013 09:05 AM
Can I put a Sata III HDD in a Old Macbook pro Sata I drive ? globalmark MacBook Pro 8 Mar 13, 2013 11:18 PM
MBP late 2011; Sata III SSD vs. Sata II HDD bonedaddio MacBook Pro 5 Jan 4, 2013 03:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC