MacBook Air and ram? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2011, 11:34 AM   #1
geekygeek
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
MacBook Air and ram?

I have a 2011 13" 128gb core i5 MacBook Air with only 4GB of ram. I feel like 4gb of RAM won't last me too long. Is it possible to upgrade the ram myself to 8gb? And also, my Air never has more than 2.7GB of ram available according to istat pro. I have every application closed with no indicator lights and I did a restart and it can get about 2.5gb of ram available. I have an application called FreeMemory from the app store and it can free up 100-200mb normally. I have 4 tabs in firefox right now, 3 tabs in safari, textwrangler, and textedit and I have almost 1 gb of ram.
geekygeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 11:41 AM   #2
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekygeek View Post
I have a 2011 13" 128gb core i5 MacBook Air with only 4GB of ram. I feel like 4gb of RAM won't last me too long. Is it possible to upgrade the ram myself to 8gb?
Are you good at taking things apart so well that you can unsolder the current RAM from the motherboard and then solder back in the replacement RAM?

Theoretically it might be possible with the right equipment but extremely unlikely to the average joe and much more likely to do permanent damage.

Lots of hard core geeks around here and your choice of names might be a temptation to some around here. Believe it or not it is possible to use some geeky tools like google search to find out if you can replace ram on a macbook air ... i'm just saying ...
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 11:44 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I Think You're Right

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhurley View Post
Are you good at taking things apart so well that you can unsolder the current RAM from the motherboard and then solder back in the replacement RAM?

Theoretically it might be possible with the right equipment but extremely unlikely to the average joe and much more likely to do permanent damage.

Lots of hard core geeks around here and your choice of names might be a temptation to some around here. Believe it or not it is possible to use some geeky tools like google search to find out if you can replace ram on a macbook air ... i'm just saying ...
That's a step too far in terms of non geek replacement. Sometimes, you have to let the old dog lie.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 11:44 AM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekygeek View Post
I have a 2011 13" 128gb core i5 MacBook Air with only 4GB of ram. I feel like 4gb of RAM won't last me too long. Is it possible to upgrade the ram myself to 8gb? And also, my Air never has more than 2.7GB of ram available according to istat pro. I have every application closed with no indicator lights and I did a restart and it can get about 2.5gb of ram available. I have an application called FreeMemory from the app store and it can free up 100-200mb normally. I have 4 tabs in firefox right now, 3 tabs in safari, textwrangler, and textedit and I have almost 1 gb of ram.
No, the RAM in MBAs is not user-upgradable. Also, there's more to the story than free memory. Inactive memory is also available for apps to use. Take a look at the System Memory tab at the bottom of Activity Monitor to see if you have excessive "page outs", a sign that you may benefit from more RAM.

Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2011, 03:19 PM   #5
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekygeek View Post
I have a 2011 13" 128gb core i5 MacBook Air with only 4GB of ram. I feel like 4gb of RAM won't last me too long. Is it possible to upgrade the ram myself to 8gb? And also, my Air never has more than 2.7GB of ram available according to istat pro. I have every application closed with no indicator lights and I did a restart and it can get about 2.5gb of ram available. I have an application called FreeMemory from the app store and it can free up 100-200mb normally. I have 4 tabs in firefox right now, 3 tabs in safari, textwrangler, and textedit and I have almost 1 gb of ram.
Why are you so concerned about it? Do you see slowdowns or issues?
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Air with 8 GB RAM vs Base Macbook Pro with Retina? GreyMatter22 MacBook Air 5 Feb 27, 2014 05:17 PM
Macbook Pro SSD and Ram upgrade or new Macbook Air 13" BoxsterRS MacBook Pro 7 Dec 16, 2013 11:21 PM
2010 13" MacBook Air 4GB Ram 128 SSD or 2011 13" MacBook Pro 4 GB Ram 500 GB Martylaa MacBook Air 3 Sep 2, 2012 03:36 PM
2010 13" MacBook Air 4GB Ram 128 SSD or 2011 13" MacBook Pro 4 GB Ram 500 GB Martylaa MacBook Pro 5 Sep 1, 2012 04:26 PM
New macbook air 4gb ram vs 8gb ram shamsmu MacBook Air 3 Jun 13, 2012 12:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC