Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Old Nov 26, 2011, 02:47 PM   #1
Nozzleman 216
macrumors newbie

New to Apple and buying iPods for my kids for Christmas, need some management help

I am relatively new to the world of Apple. I bought a MacBook Pro about 4 months ago and then an iPhone 4S when it was released. So I do have some time with the products albeit limited. I am still playing and learning to use iTunes since getting my iPhone and I am afraid or unsure of what happens when other devices are added.

So both of my kids want iPod Touches and Santa agrees they will be a great gift, the question is how should they be registered? Should each child have their own account (is this an option) or should I just add the devices under my account? Is there a way I can manage there iPods without interfering with my stuff? Correct me if I am wrong, but if I have bought games, then they will be accessible any other device associated with my account?

I am just a little confused what to do, especially considering the wife is getting an iPad2 as well and that adds yet another device.

So what are my options keeping EASE in mind.

Thank you!
Nozzleman 216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2011, 03:18 PM   #2
likethesoup2
macrumors 6502a

Easiest thing would be to have an individual iTunes account for each person.

That way their stuff isn't interfering with your stuff, and vice-versa.
likethesoup2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2011, 03:31 PM   #3
ftaok
macrumors 601

This is an interesting question. I'd like to hear some replies as well.

To me, there's pluses and minuses to each. I'm assuming your kids are minors.

Pluses - share music/apps across all devices; easier for you to keep tabs on what your kids are doing