Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:45 PM   #1
jman995x
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Does "Erase All Content and Settings" change Firmware?

I'm selling my wife's iPhone and the person might be interested in keeping the current firmware (4.3.2) for JB reasons.

If I "Erase All Content and Settings", will the new owner have to upgrade to 5.0.1 firmware when they get it (since this phone is new to them and their computer, thus they won't have a previous Restore on their computer)?

My gut says, "No", that the firmware stays on the iPhone even after an EACaS.

Please let me know a.s.a.p. as I want to ship this out to the buyer today.

Thanks,

J.
jman995x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:46 PM   #2
soco
macrumors Demi-God
 
soco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
It does not.
__________________
TMobile iPhone 6 128GB Slate MacBook Pro (2011)
Canon EOS Rebel T3 Canon 28mm f/1.8
^ Retired by iPhone 6? ^
Contribute to MacRumors: Become a Demi-God!
soco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:51 PM   #3
jman995x
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Pink View Post
It does not.
Thank you.
jman995x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:53 PM   #4
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
You can do this if your phone is not jailbroken. Don't ever do this if your phone is jailbroken because if you do, it will hang and you will have to restore it.
Crystal-RX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 04:17 PM   #5
aa521490
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I have the iPhone 4S with firmware 5.0.1. If I reset and do ERASE ALL CONTENT & SETTINGS, will I lose the 5.0.1 firmware? Want to give a business my iPhone and have them jailbreak and unlock it, but dont want them to have access to my info and apps.
__________________
MBP i5 2.4 120GB SSD + 1TB HD
T-Mobile iPhone 6 64GB
VZW Note 2
aa521490 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 04:33 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aa521490 View Post
I have the iPhone 4S with firmware 5.0.1. If I reset and do ERASE ALL CONTENT & SETTINGS, will I lose the 5.0.1 firmware? Want to give a business my iPhone and have them jailbreak and unlock it, but dont want them to have access to my info and apps.
Like CRX said above as long as you iphone is on stock firmware and not JB you can do an "erase all" and still stay on the firmware that you're on now.
If the phone is JB and you try an erase all it will get stuck at the Apple logo and you will need to do a restore to bring it back. And by doing a restore you will be forced to restore to the latest firmware version out.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 05:32 PM   #7
aa521490
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Thanks. Wanted a second opinion. Also, I wasn't sure which iPhone the OP was talking about.

Just to clarify, if I do a backup on my macbook in iTunes, erase all contents and settings, hand over my iPhone 4S to be jailbroken and unlocked, then get it back and restore from backup, will the JB and unlock still be on my iPhone? Will all my apps be where it should be on my screen and have all the info intact (eg. game settings, 1 password info, music, movies, etc..)?
__________________
MBP i5 2.4 120GB SSD + 1TB HD
T-Mobile iPhone 6 64GB
VZW Note 2
aa521490 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Erase All Content And Settings" doesn't update firmware, does it? easy-peasy iPhone 7 Sep 21, 2014 05:21 AM
Will I lose my purchased ringtones if I "Erase all content and settings"? iSensei iPhone 3 Dec 8, 2012 10:13 PM
will "Erase All Content and Settings" on 4s require a computer or ios update? starstreak iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 14 Sep 25, 2012 08:52 PM
On iOS 5.1.1 if I "erase all content and settings" will I need to plug into iTunes? palmerc2 iOS 5 and earlier 2 Aug 6, 2012 10:31 PM
What will happen if I click "Erase all Content and Settings" or "Reset all Settings"? CR125Honda iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 30, 2012 11:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC