Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2005, 05:13 AM   #1
timmyb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
iBook RAM

When new iBooks are released, I will be buying one and intend to get added RAM. I plan to use it for web browsing, iTunes, MS Office and playing DVDs and games. The most 'intensive' game will be Sims 2. Would I notice any performance difference between 768MB and 1.25GB RAM?
timmyb is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 05:46 AM   #2
lexfuzo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The heart of Europe
I think 768MB should be enough for Office and the Web.
If there is any chance that you do some GarageBand, iMovie or Photo editing in the future, you should go for the 1,25GB
lexfuzo is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 05:56 AM   #3
AmigoMac
macrumors 68020
 
AmigoMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: l'Allemagne
Like always, get the max. you can afford $$$ ! you'll be happy! Next!
__________________
No Mac no fun...
AmigoMac is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 05:58 AM   #4
timmyb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks very much. Just to check, if I bought RAM from crucial and then installed it, (it isn't hard to get under the keyboard is it??) would my Applecare still be valid?
timmyb is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 06:26 AM   #5
AmigoMac
macrumors 68020
 
AmigoMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: l'Allemagne
Yes.
__________________
No Mac no fun...
AmigoMac is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 06:48 AM   #6
lexfuzo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The heart of Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyb
Thanks very much. Just to check, if I bought RAM from crucial and then installed it, (it isn't hard to get under the keyboard is it??) would my Applecare still be valid?
Yes, but you should keep the original RAM (in case you have to take out one module as with the 128+128 models)
lexfuzo is offline   0
Old May 24, 2005, 07:05 AM   #7
Artful Dodger
macrumors 68020
 
Artful Dodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
Hi, the latest iBooks have 256 built in which leaves one slot for a 1 gig stick of ram (that's what I did). Enjoy once you get your iBook
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 1TB HDD + 256GB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB; Quad G-Drive; 12" Wacom Cintiq
Artful Dodger is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBook G4, 933MHz, 640 MB of RAM. Leopard or Tiger 128keaton PowerPC Macs 31 Mar 17, 2014 07:56 PM
Resolved: iBook not Picking up Ram Stick pcfast PowerPC Macs 12 Dec 26, 2013 11:39 PM
Can I upgrade iBook G4 (933 Mhz) RAM to 1gb? pcfast PowerPC Macs 31 Dec 22, 2013 11:30 AM
RAM issue solved on iBook G4: jrsx PowerPC Macs 0 Nov 27, 2013 11:31 PM
640mb Ram in ibook G3 Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 19 Sep 6, 2013 04:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC