Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2011, 10:29 AM   #1
macandal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
"Enable disk use"

So, now that my hard drive is dead and I find myself uploading most of the music I lost, I went looking for ways to transfer the music I had in my brother's iPod Touch to my computer. This would not solve all my problems, but it would greatly help me get back the 8,000 songs I lost with my hd (he's got about half my library in his iPod). I found this article from engadget which explains how to do it. I did the music I had bought from the mac store first and that worked just fine. No problems. Then I tried to do the second step, which was to transfer the music I, myself, had uploaded back to the new drive I bought, but I got stuck at the very beginning, where it says that I have to make sure "Enable disk use" is checked. I don't have this option on the Touch??? How do I do this?

My other option, explained in the article, is to use Phone to Mac, but I don't want to pay, if I can help it, to recover my music.

Thanks.
macandal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 10:44 AM   #2
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by macandal View Post
So, now that my hard drive is dead and I find myself uploading most of the music I lost, I went looking for ways to transfer the music I had in my brother's iPod Touch to my computer. This would not solve all my problems, but it would greatly help me get back the 8,000 songs I lost with my hd (he's got about half my library in his iPod). I found this article from engadget which explains how to do it. I did the music I had bought from the mac store first and that worked just fine. No problems. Then I tried to do the second step, which was to transfer the music I, myself, had uploaded back to the new drive I bought, but I got stuck at the very beginning, where it says that I have to make sure "Enable disk use" is checked. I don't have this option on the Touch??? How do I do this?

My other option, explained in the article, is to use Phone to Mac, but I don't want to pay, if I can help it, to recover my music.

Thanks.
You cannot enable disk use on the iPod touch.
__________________
PC: FX 6300, hd 7870, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, 1tb hdd, define r4, rosewill 630w, MSI 970a-g43.
Stuff: 1st gen iPad Mini, iPod touch 4
Thetonyk123 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 10:49 AM   #3
macandal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
You cannot enable disk use on the iPod touch.
Oh! Thanks. The article seemed to think one could do this even on the touch. I know the article is a couple of years old, but, is this a new development? Do you have any suggestions to do this? Thanks for your post.
macandal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 11:04 AM   #4
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
I would think this works http://www.tuaw.com/2007/09/21/use-y...400-usb-stick/
__________________
PC: FX 6300, hd 7870, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, 1tb hdd, define r4, rosewill 630w, MSI 970a-g43.
Stuff: 1st gen iPad Mini, iPod touch 4
Thetonyk123 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 03:00 PM   #5
macandal
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
Ok. I downloaded this file, but I don't know how to use them. Anyone care to help me out here? Thanks.
macandal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the purpose of the "disk image" volume: "net" spalding Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 21, 2013 12:14 AM
Looking for the "enable TRIM" command lines. Zandra with Z Mac mini 8 Oct 20, 2012 05:00 PM
iPad: iPad 2 wifi 3G - No "Enable 3G" option for cellular data rak007 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Oct 12, 2012 11:16 PM
Leak - Preorder Option to Enable "Find My Iphone" nostresshere iPhone 6 Sep 7, 2012 11:05 AM
"You cannot install "OS X" on this disk. OS X cannot start up from this disk." gimlids OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 28, 2012 07:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC