Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2011, 07:31 PM   #1
fisherking
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
crucial M4, trim enabler...

i know: 'search'.

i HAVE searched, the web included, and am (LOL) more confused than before i started investigating.

just got a new 13" macbook pro, and installed a Crucial M4. so...should i enable trim enabler?

things are running very well, but i want to do what's best for the drive (and of course, myself ).

anyone?
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 11:27 PM   #2
ahdickter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
There's been a lot of debate as to whether enabling TRIM for the Crucial M4 is beneficial or not. Some will say yes, others have had problems.

Personally, I would try to use the SSD without and see what happens. You can always enable TRIM later if you find out that you really do need it. Some people need the hack, others seem fine without it.

It's a good idea to do it that way, because the TRIM hack modifies core system files, that if damaged could result in verrry bad things. Good luck!
ahdickter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 11:41 PM   #3
Steve's Barber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
As long as I keep maintaining 250MB/s write and 500 read I'll just let the M4 garbage collection do it's thing without the hack.
Steve's Barber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 12:08 AM   #4
yang88she
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Johns Creek, GA
been running my m4 w.out TRIM, can't say that I notice any issues and I am very happy from switching to the m4 from an intel x25m G2 80gb
__________________
Sprint "BLK" Iphone 5 64GBFeb 2011 MBR 15" 2.3 GHz, 8gb GSkill, 6750 1gb, Crucial M4 128gb SSD iPad "white" 32gb
yang88she is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 08:59 AM   #5
fisherking
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
thanx all.
things running perfectly here, so am not gonna enable trim
(but dL'd the hack in case i change my mind later...)
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 10:58 AM   #6
JGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
About two weeks ago I installed an M4 in my 2009 MBP. I enabled trim using a program posted at Hardmac.

I have not experienced any problems, but I did notice that, according to Xbench, my 4k randoms reads decreased from 14.61 MB/s to 9.71 MB/s. However, I don't see how trim activation would affect reads, so this may simply be coincidence. Even then, I don't really notice any perceptible difference in speed in day-to-day use.

So far so good.
JGO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 02:23 PM   #7
Alexjones
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
I had a Crucial SSD. I returned it and now i am back to my good ol' original , old fashion 7200 rpm 500 Gb that came with the unit. No issues and it is super reliable
Alexjones is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 02:29 PM   #8
fisherking
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexjones View Post
I had a Crucial SSD. I returned it and now i am back to my good ol' original , old fashion 7200 rpm 500 Gb that came with the unit. No issues and it is super reliable
what problem did u have? i (so far) REALLY impressed with the M4...
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 03:28 PM   #9
Saberon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I put an M4 in my MBP 13 2011 and used the Groths 2.0 (not the bad method of TRIM enabling like his old version) and haven't had a single issue
Saberon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 11:12 PM   #10
aphexacid
macrumors 6502a
 
aphexacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
I just bought a 64GB M4 for my MacBook 2,1.
I didn't even know the M4 has native garbage collection. I was Planning on doing trim enabler. I'm using snow leopard, and plan on using SL until I HAVE to upgrade to Lion. I wasn't crazy about it when I used it.

What's the final verdict? Enable trim on M4? Or no
aphexacid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 12:36 AM   #11
jstahmann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
I have two MBPs with M4s and haven't enabled TRIM on either one. I doubt I will. They both run great.
__________________
Powerbook 160, PowerBook 5300c, MBA 11 i5 1.6/4GB RAM 256 SSD, MBP 13 i7 2.8/8GB RAM/512 Crucial M4 SSD, MBP 15 i7 2.2/16GB RAM/512 Crucial M4 SSD, rMBP 15 i7 2.7/16GB RAM/512 SSD
jstahmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 01:42 AM   #12
Mac Husky
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by aphexacid View Post
What's the final verdict?
There is none And I guess there will be none the next "days" also
Mac Husky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 04:55 AM   #13
aphexacid
macrumors 6502a
 
aphexacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstahmann View Post
I have two MBPs with M4s and haven't enabled TRIM on either one. I doubt I will. They both run great.
Thanks for the feedback, i will not enable TRIM for now. I'll use it as is, and then down the road if need be, either enable it with the existing install, or reformat and begin with TRIM enabled
aphexacid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 06:35 AM   #14
aphexacid
macrumors 6502a
 
aphexacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Wow Wow WOW!

I just put my M4 in my macbook! what a night and day difference!

I have a gaming laptop with a pretty nice SSD in it running Win 7.

But OS X + SSD = scream!

My macbook 2,1 with a T7200 boots in 1 revelation of the spinning circle!
Firefox 1 bounce?? itunes 1 bounce! Never seen this even on a brand new macbook pro!

I'm impressed!

Too bad its not even using the SSD to its full potential

No TRIM enabled btw
aphexacid is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 07:02 AM   #15
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Been using the M4 with TRIM enabled (old method) since July and not even a single hiccup.

*knock on wood*
__________________
15" rMBP Core i7 | 27" ACD | AEBS | 5G iPod | iPhone 5S | 3G Apple TV | rMini
daneoni is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 08:06 AM   #16
SayMilesAway
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
I have not enabled TRIM either, I don't plan on it unless there is some concrete evidence to why I should.
__________________
15" MBP (Late 2011) 2.4Ghz Quad Core i7 Crucial 8GB Ram, Crucial M4 128GB SSD, 750GB HDD Optibay.
iPhone 4S 32GB White
SayMilesAway is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 09:50 PM   #17
punchwalk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
I have a 128GB M4 in my 2011 MBP. I enabled TRIM using the "new" method. No complaints though I've heard (and even witnessed) anecdotal evidence that enabling TRIM slows things down a little bit (but not enough to be significant in my usage scenarios). So I think the "by consensus" answer is:

- For the fastest speeds out of the box, don't enable TRIM for the M4.
- The jury is still out on whether leaving TRIM disabled will cause the M4's performance to degrade substantially over time (more so than that which is unavoidable with current SSDs).
- There's no conclusive evidence that enabling TRIM is detrimental to the M4 at this time.

You might as well take a "do what you want" approach for now.

Last edited by punchwalk; Dec 12, 2011 at 09:59 PM.
punchwalk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 10:04 PM   #18
djpuma
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
serious question.

So if the drive starts to slow down a lot, can you just take a reinstall OSX and migrate your data back over, or do you have to do some crazy write zeros 10 times type stuff to get your drive back to full speed read/write?

serious question btw
__________________
15" Early 2011 MBP, 2.3 Ghz, 8Gb RAM, 256GB SSD, 750GB HD ; iPhone 4S
www.djpuma.com
djpuma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 02:14 AM   #19
fins831
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpuma View Post
So if the drive starts to slow down a lot, can you just take a reinstall OSX and migrate your data back over, or do you have to do some crazy write zeros 10 times type stuff to get your drive back to full speed read/write?

serious question btw
TRIM is designed to optimize the drive while using it. Any file degradation can lead to degradation of the drive, and permanent speed declines. Granted, this is not always 100 percent assured, and any slowdowns could theoretically be fixed with a full wipe and install, any degradation can be detrimental to the longevity of the SSD.

Its basically hit or miss, and there is no definitive right answer. Personally, I have a desktop with Intel 510 Elmcrest and use Intels Toolbox to optimize Trim and the drive, keep it functioning. However, in OSX, since no toolbox is there, I would probably enable TRIM.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32 gig
2012 MacBook Pro 16 Gig 256 SSD
iPad 3
fins831 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 06:30 AM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by djpuma View Post
So if the drive starts to slow down a lot, can you just take a reinstall OSX and migrate your data back over, or do you have to do some crazy write zeros 10 times type stuff to get your drive back to full speed read/write?

serious question btw
Even if you never enable TRIM the worst that will ever happen is your write speeds and write speeds only may slow down. If that happens, just install the TRIM hack, boot to single user mode, then run the command "fsck -ffy" (without the quotes) and all free space on the drive will be TRIMed and the drive will be back to like new performance.

Again, not using TRIM will in no way harm the drive.
Weaselboy is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 10:37 AM   #21
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
run the command "fsck -ffy"
as far as I know, you only need one f, the second is redundant. Try it and you'll see what I mean.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 06:51 PM   #22
dsciel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
For all M4 users, When your computer resume from sleep ~ does ur computer freeze for a few seconds? when my computer is back on from sleep, the computer screen is on but cant use mouse or anything for like 2-3 secs. Wondering if this is a problem to my SSD. because i remember that the original drive does work right away when i pull the screen up for my macbook pro
dsciel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 07:19 PM   #23
Steve's Barber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aphexacid View Post
My macbook 2,1 with a T7200 boots in 1 revelation of the spinning circle!
Since dumping Lion and reverting back to Snow Leopard the spinning circle doesn't even show up for me. I go from the Apple logo, to a blue screen for about a second then the desktop flashes on to the screen.
Steve's Barber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 09:34 PM   #24
fisherking
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
i'm loving this with lion.
i made a custom login screen, but never see it, boot up is that fast...
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 09:57 PM   #25
Steve's Barber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fisherking View Post
i'm loving this with lion.
i made a custom login screen, but never see it, boot up is that fast...
How can you never see a login screen. It's supposed to wait for you to uh... log in.
Steve's Barber is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trim enabler? TheSponge MacBook Pro 10 Sep 18, 2013 03:50 PM
Trim enabler ??? kensic MacBook Pro 2 Jan 26, 2013 12:41 PM
Multibeast or Trim Enabler mobiletaylor MacBook Pro 3 Jan 26, 2013 11:35 AM
Should we use Trim enabler? prvt.donut Mac Basics and Help 12 Jan 8, 2013 12:40 AM
Trim Enabler Ifti Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Oct 30, 2012 05:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC