Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2011, 03:19 PM   #1
S-Man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Send a message via AIM to S-Man
Thumbs down ATV2 won't open Netflix

Lately I've had problems with my ATV2 opening Netflix. It shows up under the "Internet" menu, and even some titles pop up above the menu bar. But when I click on Netflix, the *boop* sound registers but nothing happens.
When I go up above the bar to click on a movie title, it does the same thing.
It's very frustrating. Anybody know what this could be?

I have JB'd it a while ago and haven't updated iOS since. I never use the JB since I can't figure out how to use anything with it. Should I try updating to the latest iOS?

Thanks.
S-Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 03:21 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Yes you should update to the latest software version. Have you restarted the unit to see if it resolves the issue?
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 03:22 PM   #3
soco
macrumors 68030
 
soco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kew Gardens, New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by S-Man View Post
the *boop* sound
I immediately thought of the scene in Superbad when Michael Cera pokes Jonah Hill's nose and says, "Boop... boop boop..."

Anyway, I'd definitely go ahead and restore the Apple TV.
__________________
TMobile iPhone 5s MacBook Pro (2011)
Canon EOS Rebel T3 Canon 28mm f/1.8
Contribute to MacRumors: Become a Demi-God!
soco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 03:34 PM   #4
OneMike
macrumors 68040
 
OneMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Wouldn't even go as far as a restore. Yet at least. First put to sleep, unplug and try again once you plug it back in. Had same issue and that took care of it before.
__________________
To much stuff to list
OneMike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 03:45 AM   #5
S-Man
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Send a message via AIM to S-Man
Thanks, I guess I'll just update the software/firmware. Magically though, it started working on its own minutes after I posted this. It does this periodically. So I do the usual, unplug it, let it sit, reconnect it, try re-setting it with the remote yadda yadda yadda. *shrugs*
S-Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else get an Error 112 on Netflix on ATV2? ngenerator Apple TV and Home Theater 18 May 15, 2011 10:01 PM
Opening Netflix movie from within Safari mrcalabash iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Mar 22, 2011 08:05 PM
Apple tv Netflix problem Jdstew1234 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jan 9, 2011 11:23 AM
ATV2 won't load local media. Caolan96 Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Dec 30, 2010 08:34 AM
ATV2 won't recognize MobileMe account? 3Pedals6Speeds Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Oct 11, 2010 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC