Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2011, 12:30 PM   #1
Patrick J
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
4S GPS does NOT work in any App

iPhone 4s is 1.5 weeks old. Updated it the day I got it to 5.0.1.

Yesterday the GPS just stopped working. Up to then I had been using location services in the Camera, Maps, Compass, and third party apps like Geocaching.

Now none of these work.

I have tried a hard reset, and resetting Network Settings (worked for someone else).

Location services are ON, and only third party apps are turned off in the list below. In system services, I had turned off everything since the first day, but it doesn’t work with everything turned on.

EDIT - Trying to restore the phone. Extremely disappointed with the situation.

Last edited by Patrick J; Dec 2, 2011 at 12:44 PM.
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 12:47 PM   #2
Comeagain?
macrumors 68020
 
Comeagain?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Take it to an apple store if you can.
__________________
Questions? MRoogle it!
Current iOS 8 "All the little things!"
MR Scavenger Score: 1
Comeagain? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:04 PM   #3
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
Restored both as new phone and as backup. GPS worked in neither situation.

I think this points to a hardware failure?

In Portugal there are no Apple stores, and I want to avoid going through Vodafone. Where can I find an Apple number for portugal?
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:11 PM   #4
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
http://bit.ly/uvsLRj
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:17 PM   #5
ThatsMeRight
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick J View Post
Restored both as new phone and as backup. GPS worked in neither situation.

I think this points to a hardware failure?

In Portugal there are no Apple stores, and I want to avoid going through Vodafone. Where can I find an Apple number for portugal?
Your warranty goes through Vodafone if you bought it there, and even though Apple offers supports, it's best to do this via Vodafone (because you may have issues later on, and than Apple might say "go to the store where you bought it", and Vodafone might say "this is not the iPhone 4S we sold you, it's got a different UDID".
ThatsMeRight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:25 PM   #6
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
Thanks for the link, although I had already found that number. It prompts you to contact your operator to fix the problem. I have played this game with Vodafone before and they will try to bounce me back and forth from Apple.
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:27 PM   #7
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
Dumb question here, but you do have it turned on in settings right?
chakraj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:33 PM   #8
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
Yes. Everything is on under Location Services except for a few third party applications.
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 04:22 AM   #9
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
A small update.

I turned off my iPhone last night. This morning, I turned it on and immediately checked to see if my GPS was working again. No joy. Location cannot be determined.

15 minutes later I come back and see the Location icon on my menu bar. I fire up maps and it locates me perfectly. Same in the other apps.

Any theories as to what happened?
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 05:47 AM   #10
M Quick
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Could either be a software bug for you (hopefully) or it could be that the GPS antenna connection is intermittent (hardware failure).

Let's see how it works under a time of period, if it works flawlessly, no need to do anything about!

I wish you the best of luck.
__________________
Black/Spacegrey iPhone 5S 16GB - iOS7.0.4 JB
RIP Steve Jobs 1955-2011
M Quick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 05:53 AM   #11
TLewis
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: left coast, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick J View Post
15 minutes later I come back and see the Location icon on my menu bar. I fire up maps and it locates me perfectly. Same in the other apps.

Any theories as to what happened?
Maybe a hardware problem, or a nasty software bug.

If it's a software problem, it sounds like the GPS lost track of where it was, and had to reinitialize it's location without wifi or cell tower triangulation assistance, which can take minutes with a good view of the satellites (e.g., outside). It can take even longer inside, or it may be impossible if you're somewhere that blocks the satellite signals (e.g., inside a stone room).

(Well, in normal operation, the GPS can also lose track if you turn off the GPS, move the iPhone some great distance -- as in tens to hundreds of kilometers -- and then turn the GPS back on. Without wifi or cell tower assistance, the GPS can take minutes to determine its location, and that assumes decent satellite signals.)
TLewis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:07 AM   #12
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
Thanks for both your replies. What I find strange is that there was a ~24 hour interval in which the gps didn't work. Most of this time I was in fact in a stone house in the countryside, however, I had full EDGE connection all the time.

The hours before this problem I moved from Oporto to my country house ~150km (93miles). During the trip I didn't touch any location apps. I happen to have had all the "system services" turned off under Location Services, I wonder if this might have anything to do with it?

Stranger still is that it fixed itself without me taking it outside.

Really hoping for a software bug, but lots of warranty time left so I'm not THAT worried about a hardware bug.

I also find it strange that I can't find anyone else with a 4s with the same problem.
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:12 AM   #13
Dangerous Theory
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
EDGE and GPS don't use the same wavelengths. You just happened to be in a location where GPS signal couldn't penetrate the walls well, but got lucky in a particular position.
Dangerous Theory is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:44 AM   #14
Patrick J
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oporto, Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangerous Theory View Post
EDGE and GPS don't use the same wavelengths. You just happened to be in a location where GPS signal couldn't penetrate the walls well, but got lucky in a particular position.
I made that point as I know that Apple uses Cell masts for speeding up the connection, maybe this only works on 3G and not on EDGE?
Patrick J is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:46 AM   #15
TLewis
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: left coast, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick J View Post
Thanks for both your replies. What I find strange is that there was a ~24 hour interval in which the gps didn't work. Most of this time I was in fact in a stone house in the countryside, however, I had full EDGE connection all the time.

The hours before this problem I moved from Oporto to my country house ~150km (93miles). During the trip I didn't touch any location apps. I happen to have had all the "system services" turned off under Location Services, I wonder if this might have anything to do with it?

Stranger still is that it fixed itself without me taking it outside.
GPS won't work if the satellite signals are blocked (by stone walls, etc.). Cellular signals (e.g., EDGE) and wifi can be used to estimate your location, but cannot be used to accurately determine your location. (This also assumes that the cell tower database is available/accurate in your country.) If available, this estimate helps the GPS quickly determine your location; without the estimate, the GPS takes longer to locate your position. (And this assumes that the GPS gets decent satellite signals, which it often cannot get inside a stone house.)

GPS satellite signals can often be received inside a house -- such as near a window or on the top floor of a building, if the roof does not significantly block the signals. Wooden roofs are often good -- stone or metal roofs are not so good. I don't know if GPS signals will go through tile roofs.

Your problem might have been caused by an unfortunate combination of moving a significant distance and being in a stone house. If it happens again, try using the GPS outside; depending on how far you've moved, and how long you haven't used the GPS, it may take 30 seconds to several minutes to determine your location.
TLewis is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Getting iWidgets GPS Weather to Work Tmlfan3 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 May 22, 2013 07:30 PM
Will iPhone 5's geotagging and GPS work without Internet? reddevil0728 iPhone 14 Apr 9, 2013 11:53 AM
GPS does not work when I am using running apps princessromanov iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jan 29, 2013 11:53 PM
Can iPhone GPS work without data? Faize iPhone 7 Nov 5, 2012 07:55 PM
Leaving for Ireland, will GPS work w/o cellular data on 4S? rbkhockey83 iPhone 7 Jun 22, 2012 08:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC