Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2011, 03:04 AM   #1
Spiderrob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
ATV2 Homesharing and wake on LAN

There is numerous threads on this but no answer that I can see.

I have an Atv2 hardwired to an extreme router which in turn is hardwired to my 2011 iMac. All cat6 cable and running latest software on all. When my iMac goes to sleep I would like the Atv2 to wake it to use Homesharing on iTunes. Wake on LAN is checked, Homesharing is on but it does not work. As soon as the atv is turned on it clearly sends a wol command because I can see my USB card reader on the iMac light up BUT Homesharing is not there. I have to physically wake the the iMac by pressing a key and then all is fine. The comments seem to suggest that this is due to the new low power wake on LAN on lion that only shares folders etc. I can't believe Apple would not allow Homesharing to function - it kind of defeats the object of it????

Has anyone got this working?? If so, how? Thanks
Spiderrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 03:04 AM   #2
Spiderrob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Is this really working for everyone then or do you leave your iTunes server on 24/7?
Spiderrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 07:16 AM   #3
bt22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
You are leaving iTunes running, right? You have to leave iTunes running all the time. I have Tv2 and I am able to wol to my 2011 Mac Mini running OS X Lion. When in apple tv when I go to computers and the Mini is asleep I sometimes it will tell me no computers, but if I give about 10 or 15 seconds and try again it has always connected. My Apple Tv is connected to my network wirelessly and my Mac is hard wired and it still works.
bt22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 02:51 PM   #4
adbe
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Works fine for me with an ATV1 / 10.7 iMac.

I can also wake the iMac with the iOS Remote app, or Home Sharing from an iOS device.

Not sure why your setup isn't working, but it's definitely not because Home Sharing doesn't wake Lion.

[edit] Have you tried the usual tedious stuff like logging out of home sharing on all systems then re-signing in?
adbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 03:14 PM   #5
Spiderrob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks for the replies. Yes I always have iTunes running but interestingly enough I seem to now have it working!?

The only thing I can see that is now different is that my iTunes now only has Home Sharing showing under the 'Shared' action in iTunes. Previously I also had my 'Windows Home Server' showing as well. - Not sure if this caused some sort of conflict??

Fingers crossed it keeps working!
Spiderrob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 03:15 PM   #6
Branny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I have this exact same problem. My MacBook (2007 Blackbook) will not wake for anything. I have an ATV2 and an iPad 2 and both of them cannot wake it.

It's also really frustrating when trying to use splashtop receiver to screen share my mac.

I am also using an airport extreme and I've checked all the usual tick boxes etc...

It's really weird and frustrating.
Branny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 03:44 PM   #7
adbe
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branny View Post
I have this exact same problem. My MacBook (2007 Blackbook) will not wake for anything. I have an ATV2 and an iPad 2 and both of them cannot wake it.

It's also really frustrating when trying to use splashtop receiver to screen share my mac.

I am also using an airport extreme and I've checked all the usual tick boxes etc...

It's really weird and frustrating.
Are you trying to wake over WiFi on that MacBook? Older Macs didn't support Wake over WiFi, only WOL. No Macs support Wake over WiFi without the use of an AEBS as the WiFi router.
adbe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 02:30 PM   #8
Branny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I have all the necessary kit then except the MacBook then?! Typical. I'll have to upgrade in the near future then.

Any ideas as to why it's not supported? Chipset too old?
Branny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 05:26 PM   #9
jayhawk11
macrumors 6502a
 
jayhawk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branny View Post
I have all the necessary kit then except the MacBook then?! Typical. I'll have to upgrade in the near future then.

Any ideas as to why it's not supported? Chipset too old?
Yes.
__________________
15" Retina MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7; 32 GB iPhone 5s; 32GB iPad Mini with Retina Display
Rock Chalk Jayhawk, Go KU.
jayhawk11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 10:45 PM   #10
Hook'Em2006
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Plano, TX
i cannot wake my 2011 mbp over wifi if it is clamshell mode. which is kinda of annoying. ANyone know a way around this?
__________________
15.4" 2011 MacBook Pro Quad Core i7 w/ 500gb, White iPhone 4S 32gb, TV x2
Hook'Em2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wake on LAN (Wifi)? danielwerner Mac Basics and Help 3 Apr 5, 2013 04:44 PM
Wake On Lan? adam044 MacBook Pro 6 Mar 17, 2013 12:58 PM
ATV2 and Wake on Lan themoffster Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 16, 2012 03:21 PM
Wake on lan via iPad. eurobum Mac mini 6 Jun 25, 2012 11:24 PM
Wake On Lan over Internet? micrors4racer Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 8 Jun 4, 2012 04:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC