Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:08 AM   #1
ZirkMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Eternal now.
Red face Disappointed by the clamshell mode

The MBA is my first Mac. I love it. To the point I wanted it to replace my Windows PC machine. I have bought a Mini Display to DVI port and hooked it up to my 24" HP monitor. Finally a zen experience by using a computer. No sound of spinning fans nor working hard drive. Clamshell mode. So unique to Mac. Working perfectly.

This is it! I though for a minute. Or two. Just browsing (no Flash or anything heavy) and doing some text editing. Then the fans started to kick in. Louder and louder. And never stopped. I even turned off the browser and only a plain text editor remained. No help. It's the clamshell mode itself.
End of Zen. Switch to PC again (it's more silent the the Air with fans running wild).

Is this normal? This is how it supposed to work? Approved by Steve Jobs the Zen master perfectionist? Or is it just me?

And a second question. Is it possible to switch easily (like with CMD+Tab) between more windows opened in the same application (like two Google Chrome windows or more projects in a text editor)? I am so used to this from Windows and quite frustrated that it doesn't work in the Lion. Any workaround around this?
ZirkMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:10 AM   #2
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
And a second question. Is it possible to switch easily (like with CMD+Tab) between more windows opened in the same application (like two Google Chrome windows or more projects in a text editor)? I am so used to this from Windows and quite frustrated that it doesn't work in the Lion. Any workaround around this?
http://manytricks.com/witch/
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:17 AM   #3
forum user
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post

And a second question. Is it possible to switch easily (like with CMD+Tab) between more windows opened in the same application (like two Google Chrome windows or more projects in a text editor)?
CMD and ` (high back comma)

- Olaf
__________________
Fuel Log Evo: The Cost Manager App for any Vehicle
forum user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:23 AM   #4
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
The MBA is my first Mac. I love it. To the point I wanted it to replace my Windows PC machine. I have bought a Mini Display to DVI port and hooked it up to my 24" HP monitor. Finally a zen experience by using a computer. No sound of spinning fans nor working hard drive. Clamshell mode. So unique to Mac. Working perfectly.

This is it! I though for a minute. Or two. Just browsing (no Flash or anything heavy) and doing some text editing. Then the fans started to kick in. Louder and louder. And never stopped. I even turned off the browser and only a plain text editor remained. No help. It's the clamshell mode itself.
End of Zen. Switch to PC again (it's more silent the the Air with fans running wild).

Is this normal? This is how it supposed to work? Approved by Steve Jobs the Zen master perfectionist? Or is it just me?

And a second question. Is it possible to switch easily (like with CMD+Tab) between more windows opened in the same application (like two Google Chrome windows or more projects in a text editor)? I am so used to this from Windows and quite frustrated that it doesn't work in the Lion. Any workaround around this?
I use mine in Clamshell mode all day driving a 27 inch monitor - never hear a sound.
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:49 AM   #5
ZirkMan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Eternal now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealDamager View Post
I use mine in Clamshell mode all day driving a 27 inch monitor - never hear a sound.
Is this a thunderbolt monitor? If yes, is it possible that my DVI connection is responsible for the problem?
ZirkMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:56 AM   #6
Kendo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I can't imagine clamshell mode causing the fans to go insane. It isn't like leaving the MacBook Air open will cool the CPU down by an extra 10 degrees is it?

My fans don't go off even when I watch 720p HD video on Youtube. I'm getting my Dell U2412M in a week so I'll let you know if I have the same problems as you. Will be connecting via mDP to DVI.
Kendo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:58 AM   #7
Aksta
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Surrey, UK
I run a 27 dell monitor from my mba 13 and i never hear a sound unless i am using flash.
Aksta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 08:59 AM   #8
ZirkMan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Eternal now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Thanks. I have tried it. Worked well. Then bought it and a glitch appeared when I cannot make it to see all my fullscreen documents opened in the iA Writer. I could swear it worked in the trial version. Well, thanks anyway. I hope they fix the glitch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by forum user View Post
CMD and ` (high back comma)
I don't have an English keyboard and cannot find it. I have tried all commas I could find. None had worked. Thanks anyway.

Last edited by ZirkMan; Dec 4, 2011 at 09:02 AM. Reason: grammar
ZirkMan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 09:05 AM   #9
altecXP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
Clamshell mode. So unique to Mac.
Um, no it's not. every laptop can operate with its lid closed.
__________________
Home - 13in MacBook Air: 1.7GHz i5, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD
Work - (not in use)2011 15in MacBook Pro: 2.2GHz i7, 8GB DDR3, 500GB HDD
(in use) 2008 15in MacBook Pro: 2.5GHz Core2Duo, 4GB DDR2, 160GB HDD
altecXP is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 09:46 AM   #10
glen e
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealDamager View Post
I use mine in Clamshell mode all day driving a 27 inch monitor - never hear a sound.
me too..dead quiet and I never shut it off...
glen e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 09:50 AM   #11
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
The MBA is my first Mac. I love it. To the point I wanted it to replace my Windows PC machine. I have bought a Mini Display to DVI port and hooked it up to my 24" HP monitor. Finally a zen experience by using a computer. No sound of spinning fans nor working hard drive. Clamshell mode. So unique to Mac. Working perfectly.
Not unique to Mac and why do you find losing pixels "working perfectly" ? Open it up and use the extra space.

I have both a 2048x1156 and the internal 1440x900 display working at the same time when I'm at my desk. I throw documentation/iTunes onto the MBA's monitor while my primary workspace is on the external.

Working perfectly.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 10:01 AM   #12
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Was this the first time you used it? It could the machine was building spotlight indexes, which makes it hot.
After the first spotlight index is built, there will only be updates on your index later and this won't be a problem anymore.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 10:42 AM   #13
ZirkMan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Eternal now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
Not unique to Mac and why do you find losing pixels "working perfectly" ? Open it up and use the extra space.
Never seen it advertised before for a PC laptop. For me this was a new cool feature

I have my monitor on top of my desk and there is no space to put the Mac beside it. Having it on the side and lower than my monitor would be awkward.
Not perfect for me.

Btw. You made me to try it again. This time it's like 10 minutes and the thing is still cold! Don't know what happened when I tried it the first time. It wasn't the first time I had used it (I had already had it for more than a month).
Seems like I can confirm your experience now. Hope it will last. Thanks
ZirkMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 11:03 AM   #14
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
Is this a thunderbolt monitor? If yes, is it possible that my DVI connection is responsible for the problem?
Nope - I use DVI as well.
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 12:49 PM   #15
Bob Coxner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
You do need to be careful with clamshell if you use a cover. I use this one http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details When I use my 13" 2011 MBA open, the temps are basically the same whether I have the cover on or off. However, I've recently started to use it in clamshell and discovered the temps are very different. Doing normal surfing (no flash or video) my temps are running around 50-54C with the cover on. I took the cover off and now my temps in clamshell for the same activity are around 40-45C.
__________________
MBA i5 13/4/128, iPad 1, iPad 3, iPod Touch 5g
Bob Coxner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 12:53 PM   #16
altecXP
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Coxner View Post
You do need to be careful with clamshell if you use a cover. I use this one http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details When I use my 13" 2011 MBA open, the temps are basically the same whether I have the cover on or off. However, I've recently started to use it in clamshell and discovered the temps are very different. Doing normal surfing (no flash or video) my temps are running around 50-54C with the cover on. I took the cover off and now my temps in clamshell for the same activity are around 40-45C.
Well duh, look at that case. It blocks airflow to the fan on the rear.
__________________
Home - 13in MacBook Air: 1.7GHz i5, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD
Work - (not in use)2011 15in MacBook Pro: 2.2GHz i7, 8GB DDR3, 500GB HDD
(in use) 2008 15in MacBook Pro: 2.5GHz Core2Duo, 4GB DDR2, 160GB HDD
altecXP is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 01:35 PM   #17
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Coxner View Post
You do need to be careful with clamshell if you use a cover. I use this one http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details
Anything that blocks the limited venting on an apple laptop is probably not a very good idea for anything but really limited brief usage.
johnhurley is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 02:11 PM   #18
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
I don't have an English keyboard and cannot find it. I have tried all commas I could find. None had worked. Thanks anyway.
It is the key to the left of the 1 (one) key on your keyboard. It also has the tilde ( ~ ) character on it. The original character isn't a comma, it's an apostrophe.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 02:48 PM   #19
jsolares
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Land of eternal Spring
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBG4 Dude View Post
It is the key to the left of the 1 (one) key on your keyboard. It also has the tilde ( ~ ) character on it. The original character isn't a comma, it's an apostrophe.
He has to change the binding or it still won't work, at least that's what i had to do with SL and my old macbook
__________________
Macbook Air 13" 2013 i7 512GB SSD 8GB RAM; iMac 27" 2010 i5 2.8ghz 2x256GB SSD 24GB RAM
jsolares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:14 PM   #20
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsolares View Post
He has to change the binding or it still won't work, at least that's what i had to do with SL and my old macbook
Weird, I've always used CMD+~ to switch between multiple windows in the same program.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 01:10 AM   #21
forum user
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBG4 Dude View Post
The original character isn't a comma, it's an apostrophe.
That's what it's called. Sorry, could not find the right word for it.

- Olaf
__________________
Fuel Log Evo: The Cost Manager App for any Vehicle
forum user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 01:58 PM   #22
PBG4 Dude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by forum user View Post
That's what it's called. Sorry, could not find the right word for it.

- Olaf
No problem, Olaf, just trying to help.
PBG4 Dude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 02:19 PM   #23
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZirkMan View Post
I don't have an English keyboard and cannot find it. I have tried all commas I could find. None had worked. Thanks anyway.
You can use the Keyboard Shortcuts section in the Keyboard Preferences Pane to set it to whatever keystroke you like. It's called "Move focus to next window in application" and it's in the "Keyboard and Text Input" section.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 10:57 PM   #24
MJedi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: WA
OP, do you close the lid of your MBA before plugging it to the power, monitor, etc.? If so, unfortunately, the high temps and high fan speed is normal. At least, for the time being. The last EFI updates seems to have messed up the SMC, which causes the problem you're experiencing. I suggest plugging everything except the power (assuming the lid is closed) and then wake it up by opening the lid. Once the MBA is running, plug the power and close the lid. It's an annoying workaround, but at least the temp and fan won't go crazy.

I suggest sending feedback to Apple here about this issue:

http://www.apple.com/feedback/macbookair.html
__________________
13-inch MacBook Air Core i7 (Mid 2013) | 15-inch MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz (Mid 2007) | 20-inch iMac (Early 2009) | iPad mini Wi-Fi+4G LTE (32GB) | iPhone 5s (64GB)
MJedi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 11:01 AM   #25
ZirkMan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Eternal now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsolares View Post
He has to change the binding or it still won't work, at least that's what i had to do with SL and my old macbook
Yes, you are right, it doesn't work. Can you please tell me how can I change the binding?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by whooleytoo View Post
You can use the Keyboard Shortcuts section in the Keyboard Preferences Pane to set it to whatever keystroke you like. It's called "Move focus to next window in application" and it's in the "Keyboard and Text Input" section.
This would be neat. But I have tried it and it only works when the windows are not in the fullscreen mode. Once they are in the fullscreen (as I use them) it doesn't work.
ZirkMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
skype in clamshell mode? drterrie MacBook 0 Jan 31, 2013 12:19 AM
Clamshell mode vs sleep archdelux OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Oct 14, 2012 11:24 AM
Disable clamshell mode 31rhcp MacBook Air 3 Sep 16, 2012 10:09 PM
Clamshell mode with iMac Drask MacBook Pro 7 Aug 10, 2012 12:56 AM
Clamshell mode? guspasho MacBook Pro 2 Aug 9, 2012 03:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC