Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2011, 05:16 PM   #1
Cooknn
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Adobe Flash Player (10.2) for PPC

About a week ago, I noticed that Facebook videos would not play on my Power Mac because we have been stuck at Flash 10.1 and the world keeps moving forward. Well, a good soul named Alex Goojvin hacked Flash plugin version 10.2 and it works! See his Youtube and grab the download here.

Last edited by Cooknn; Dec 5, 2011 at 05:35 AM.
Cooknn is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 06:11 PM   #2
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Works perfectly not just for FB but anything that needs higher than 10.1. It reports as 11.1 not 10.2 btw. Thanks!

I used an online version checker and this is the result:



Camino plugin info:

File: Flash Player.plugin
Version: 11.1.102.55
Shockwave Flash 11.1 r102

Last edited by zen.state; Dec 4, 2011 at 06:24 PM. Reason: adding Camino info
zen.state is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 06:24 PM   #3
Cooknn
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
File: Flash Player.plugin
Version: 11.1.102.55
Shockwave Flash 11.1 r102
It looks to me like we have Flash Player version 11.1 not 10.2 which is what I read when I grabbed it. Sweet
Cooknn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 06:25 PM   #4
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Does it provide any better performance than 10.1?
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 06:30 PM   #5
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Thanks for posting this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooknn View Post
About a week ago, I noticed that Facebook videos would not play on my Power Mac because we have been stuck at Flash 10.1 and the world keeps moving forward. Well, a good soul named Alex Goojvin hacked the Intel Flash plugin version 10.2 and it works! See his Youtube and grab the download here.
stroked is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 06:45 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by adcx64 View Post
Does it provide any better performance than 10.1?
I think its still 10.1 code, but the version number has been changed to 11.1. I have not noticed any improvements over 10.1.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 07:21 PM   #7
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I think its still 10.1 code, but the version number has been changed to 11.1. I have not noticed any improvements over 10.1.
It just tricks the web site.
stroked is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2011, 09:46 PM   #8
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
It just tricks the web site.
That seems fishy? I'll bet Adobe patches this so we end up screwed again.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 01:37 AM   #9
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Thanks so much for posting this! I've been looking for something like this for ages
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 05:34 AM   #10
Cooknn
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by vohdoun View Post
That seems fishy? I'll bet Adobe patches this so we end up screwed again.
It's not like Adobe doesn't want us to have Flash...
Cooknn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 06:14 AM   #11
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Was ready to post this discussion http://groups.google.com/group/g3-5-...d59ac59d7827b# where this was told.
Thanks a lot =)
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 06:56 AM   #12
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
Was ready to post this discussion http://groups.google.com/group/g3-5-...d59ac59d7827b# where this was told.
Thanks a lot =)
The sad truth from that is this:

"This seems crazy, but they're saying that the current version and all previous versions that were "Intel only" actually work fine on PPC Macs, the problem is that Adobe's installer won't allow the installation"
zen.state is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 10:10 AM   #13
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tina
If only said person could fix the security holes while they're at it..
Thats one of the reasons I uninstalled it months ago.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 02:26 PM   #14
bigeasy_uk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Leamington Spa, England
Darn, I've just sold my G5 tower and bought a c2d mini because I was using it to watch tv on and all the sites here in the UK switched to the latest flash version! I did like that G5 too!
bigeasy_uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 02:41 PM   #15
Vapor matt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pagham UK
This is cool, its just given my G4 iMac 1.25ghz you tube oh yes thank you thank you
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 updated to/5.1 3.33ghz hex 24g DDR 1333, SATA-3 PCi card vertex 3 120G boot drive GTX-680 Wifi, 3.5g storage 3 X WD drives. OSX lion.
Vapor matt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 07:51 PM   #16
reddrag0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Send a message via AIM to reddrag0n Send a message via Skype™ to reddrag0n
Using tenfourfox and the old 10.1 flash plugin was slow on my PBG4. Running youtube videos at 360p was very choppy and it stuttered. Now since i swapped in the 11.1 plugin, those videos are smooth. Both the "About flash" page and the plugins manager for TFF both say 11.1

So I will say in my own experience, yes it is faster.
__________________
red-drag0n.co.nr
reddrag0n is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 08:07 PM   #17
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Smile

Long Live PowerPc!!! I Know someone would hack it to work. Now someone needs to make a Optimized version of flash for PPC (If it is legal to do?)
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2011, 10:46 PM   #18
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC MAN JW View Post
Long Live PowerPc!!! I Know someone would hack it to work. Now someone needs to make a Optimized version of flash for PPC (If it is legal to do?)
I really wouldn't care if it was legal or not.
stroked is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 02:58 AM   #19
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
I really wouldn't care if it was legal or not.
Flash is not OPEN SOURCE. So it's strictly illegal fiddling with the code.

I still think PPC computers have a bright future in front of them: Thanks to HTML5 and Safari 5.
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 08:30 AM   #20
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
I really wouldn't care if it was legal or not.
Thats fine with me as long as i am not the one makeing it
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 08:46 AM   #21
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabaker View Post
Flash is not OPEN SOURCE. So it's strictly illegal fiddling with the code.
Are you going to report us all to Adobe? Oh no!
zen.state is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 11:57 AM   #22
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
Are you going to report us all to Adobe? Oh no!
Of course I won't. Just clarifying facts.
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:34 AM   #23
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Any chance of hacking the new flash to work with powerpc?
http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/478...e-flash-player

Or at least to trick sites to think we have the latest one.
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 05:17 PM   #24
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Has it started complaining?
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 05:19 PM   #25
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by vohdoun View Post
Has it started complaining?
Yesterday tried a site that complained.But can't remember what it was.Maybe some Fiat/Alfa Romeo/Blue and Me site...
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Flash Player help bluebird3 Mac Basics and Help 6 Jul 22, 2013 04:11 PM
Adobe flash player 11.7 is out Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 2 Apr 22, 2013 07:22 PM
Flash Player for Power Mac PPC OS X 10.5.8 iaineggs55 PowerPC Macs 3 Feb 17, 2013 08:30 PM
The fastest Flash Player Plugin for PPC Mac's on the web MacMod PowerPC Macs 18 Feb 3, 2013 07:28 AM
Latest Adobe Flash 11.5 PPC [Testers please] Wildy PowerPC Macs 22 Jan 6, 2013 01:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC