Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2011, 12:10 PM   #1
kabbott1921
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Running Windows on MacBook Air

Hi

I am thinking about getting a MacBook Air - the 128gb/1.6GHz/4GB spec.

I will however from time to time need to run Windows on it, particularly Microsoft Access and Excel and would like to know if I am likley to encounter any issues doing this.

Many thanks

Ken
kabbott1921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 12:14 PM   #2
tmagman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary AB
Performance-wise you'll be fine running those. Just be careful cause a bootcamp partition will take up a fair amount of hard drive space. My partition is empty of data and a windows 7 pro 64bit install takes up about 40GB.
__________________
rMBP 15" 2.7 i7, 16GB, 512GB
Asus G73SW-A1 2.0Q i7, GT460M 1.5GB, 12GB
iPad2 64-3G, 4S 64GB
7D, 15-85, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 70-300 DO, 50 1.4, Lensbabies, Canon S100
tmagman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 01:27 PM   #3
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabbott1921 View Post
Hi

I am thinking about getting a MacBook Air - the 128gb/1.6GHz/4GB spec.

I will however from time to time need to run Windows on it, particularly Microsoft Access and Excel and would like to know if I am likley to encounter any issues doing this.

Many thanks

Ken
I agree with the other poster if you use bootcamp on it make sure you set it up initially with an fair amount of space.

Running windows via bootcamp on a system with 128 gb of storage is doable but somewhat tight ( my air has 256 gb ssd ). Make sure you get the initial allocation correct.

Another alternative is using a vm setup ( like virtual box or parallels or vmware ) and run windows in a vm under mac os x. In that case you do not need a separate partition ... but it still make take up a lot of space.

The new office 2011 for mac has a pretty decent excel ( not that I use it on there or at least not very often ) but no access.
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 02:46 PM   #4
komoornik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmagman View Post
windows 7 pro 64bit install takes up about 40gb.
what ?!
komoornik is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 06:11 AM   #5
kabbott1921
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
On the subject of installing Windows do I need to use an external DVD drive or are there any other ways - for example connecting to a PC DVD drive wirelessly?
kabbott1921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 06:29 AM   #6
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
I run Win7 with MS Office and more through VMWare Fusion on my 13" MBA
The performance is surprisingly good for me, beats my Dell lappie at the office actually
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 06:31 AM   #7
Wavell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabbott1921 View Post
On the subject of installing Windows do I need to use an external DVD drive or are there any other ways - for example connecting to a PC DVD drive wirelessly?
If you choose the VM route : If you can, try to get an ISO image of Windows on a memory stick and install directly that way. I've never tried installing windows via a mem stick onto a bootcamp partition but I wouldn't expect too many issues.
__________________
iMac | MacBook Air | TV3 | Mac Mini | iPhone 5 | iPad
Wavell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 06:41 AM   #8
convergent
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
I'm running Win7 via Parallels 7 and it performs very well on the MBA.... even with a full load of other apps already running. Should be fine.
__________________
13" MacBook Air (Mid 2011) - 1.8Ghz, 4G RAM, 250G SSD, w/ 27" TB Display, Bluetooth Keyboard, Magic Trackpad
iPad Mini - 16G, Wifi, Black, iPhone 4s - 32G, Black
Apple TV 2 w/Firecore
convergent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 10:53 AM   #9
Bob Coxner
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmagman View Post
Performance-wise you'll be fine running those. Just be careful cause a bootcamp partition will take up a fair amount of hard drive space. My partition is empty of data and a windows 7 pro 64bit install takes up about 40GB.
My Win 7 Pro 32bit install took about 17gb.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavell View Post
If you choose the VM route : If you can, try to get an ISO image of Windows on a memory stick and install directly that way. I've never tried installing windows via a mem stick onto a bootcamp partition but I wouldn't expect too many issues.
I installed with a mem stick into a bootcamp partition. Went super easy. I had the Win 7 ISO on one mem stick and a blank mem stick in the other USB port. Bootcamp took care of everything from there, I didn't have to do a thing until it was time to download the drivers.

You can get all the various ISOs from DigitalRiver.
__________________
MBA i5 13/4/128, iPad 1, iPad 3, iPod Touch 5g
Bob Coxner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 12:11 AM   #10
happyslayer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale, AZ
I run Windows 7 Pro in boot camp with my 11: Air (256GB model) and it takes up about 30 Gigs with Office 2010, an XP Mode VM (6GB) and the various PC related updates and things like Adobe Reader & Flash.

Overall, it runs well, boots fast and I've had no issues with it other than it seems to heat up the CPU cores faster than OSX Lion. It's never been an issue, but I notice it (using CoreTemp app.) Also, though I haven't done any real tests, the battery time seems worse under Windows 7. But this has never really been an issue as I don't use the Windows side all that much - maybe a couple times a month at most.
__________________
2013 11.6 Macbook Air-1.3GHz i5, 8GB, 128SSD ; iPhone5-16GB, black ; iPad Mini Retina, 32GB, black, VZ LTE
happyslayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 05:18 PM   #11
3dflyboy1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California, USA
I'm running Win7 ultimate 64bit via bootcamp on my 4GB/128GB MBA. It runs fine, and only took ~20GB for the install. What you want to do shouldn't be a problem at all.
3dflyboy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 05:34 PM   #12
Tinmania
macrumors 68030
 
Tinmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aridzona
I run Windows 7 on my 11" Air (4GB, 128GB SSD) via Parallels and it works very well. I pretty much only run Office 2010--and I use Access a lot. Like a previous poster mine runs faster than my actual Windows laptop. So for that kind of usage I don't see the point in bootcamp. I would only do that if I was going to be spending most of my time in Windows, or I needed to run something in Windows that did not run well in a VM.




Michael
Tinmania is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 08:09 PM   #13
Stingray454
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I also need Word / Excel sometimes.. So I run the Mac version of office :P. Why boot to windows when Office exists for OS X, since that is what the OP says he needs it for?
Stingray454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 08:24 PM   #14
Tinmania
macrumors 68030
 
Tinmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aridzona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingray454 View Post
I also need Word / Excel sometimes.. So I run the Mac version of office :P. Why boot to windows when Office exists for OS X, since that is what the OP says he needs it for?
He didn't say Word and Excel he said Access and Excel. Access is not in any version of office for mac. And if you need Access it is nice to have Excel along with it.



Michael
Tinmania is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 04:34 AM   #15
bigeasy_uk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Leamington Spa, England
I've got the low end 2011 11" air so keeping the windows partition as small as possible was a priority. I used a modified version of windows 7 called tiny7 that cuts all the crap out. I used refit efi bootloader and installed it on a 10gb partition, It only takes up 3gb of that, with a few games installed I've still got 5gb free.
bigeasy_uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 04:58 AM   #16
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I use VirtualBox to virtualize XP. I only need Windows for one or two programs (like Mathcad and LTSpice), so having all the fanciness of Windows 7 and whatnot was completely unnecessary (especially with only 4GB of RAM). It runs super smoothly with no issues and barely takes up any space. I allocated 15GB, but it's dynamic so it probably hasn't reached anywhere near that amount... probably at ~5GB if I had to guess. And best of all, it's free

You could probably use WINE to run Access if you wanted. But that's a little more technical savvy route, I reckon.

EDIT: Just checked, it's at 7GB right now which includes the syncing of my Dropbox folder which is 3GB
KylePowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 08:05 AM   #17
LAS.mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mexico
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

For instance, because Excel for Mac won't let you use many macros created for previous excel for win.
__________________
27" Al iMac, 8Gb RAM, i5, 2013; 13" MBA, 2014; 32Gb iPhone 5s; 32Gb wifi+3G iPad mini

Last edited by LAS.mac; Dec 10, 2011 at 08:07 AM.
LAS.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 09:00 AM   #18
orfeas0
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmagman View Post
Performance-wise you'll be fine running those. Just be careful cause a bootcamp partition will take up a fair amount of hard drive space. My partition is empty of data and a windows 7 pro 64bit install takes up about 40GB.
You're exaggerating.
But it's true they take a lot of space. My windows partition is 20gb and I have 2-3gb free with only Warcraft3 and LeagueofLegends installed (they take 1,5gb each).
orfeas0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 07:24 PM   #19
TheJing
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabbott1921 View Post
On the subject of installing Windows do I need to use an external DVD drive or are there any other ways - for example connecting to a PC DVD drive wirelessly?
Put the Installation CD into a computer with an ODD, go into Disk Utility, and click on Create Image and make it a cdr(I think that's what it is called). Once that is done, should be about 10-15 minutes, just put that file on a USB. Then put in on your Macbook Air, convert that .cdr into a .iso using Terminal and you're good.
TheJing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 08:12 PM   #20
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabbott1921 View Post
On the subject of installing Windows do I need to use an external DVD drive or are there any other ways - for example connecting to a PC DVD drive wirelessly?
The thumb drive method described above will work. Bootcamp does not support Windows install via remote disk so you cannot do it wirelessly.
Pharmscott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:34 PM   #21
Sith Vol
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Collierville, TN
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I have Windows 7 Home Prem. 64bit from a Dell disc. I have burned the ISO to a USB from the program M$ has. Am I good or is there drivers I need to install to a separate harddrive? And also, I'm not sure which method to use; boot camp or the VM stuff. How much of a partition am I looking at needing? I only have the 128gb model 13". Not sure if it's worth it or not just for a game.
Sith Vol is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid-2010 MacBook Air 10.8.4 running really sluggish Matth3w MacBook Air 2 Oct 6, 2013 10:26 PM
Is my MacBook Air running hotter than normal? CivCX MacBook Air 5 Sep 25, 2013 08:26 AM
MacBook Air running emulators jrb363 MacBook Air 19 Aug 2, 2013 09:23 AM
Is the Macbook Air a cooler running laptop? eifer MacBook Air 13 Jul 4, 2013 01:07 AM
New 2012 MacBook Air Has anyone tried running Diablo 3? (-(ellblazer420 MacBook Air 10 Aug 10, 2012 08:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps