Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2011, 08:53 PM   #1
puma1552
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Lion running OK on 4 GB RAM Air?

Wife let it slip that she's interested in a 13" Air for Christmas. She doesn't care much about updates, and I know one is coming in Q1 but I doubt it will be Ivy Bridge, so I am probably fine getting her one of the current models for Christmas, her needs are pretty simple anyway.

But I'm curious, I was looking to upgrade my 2010 MBP to 8 GB RAM from 4 to run Lion, and the folks over in the MBP forum said Lion greatly benefits from 8 GB of RAM.

So, seeing as the RAM limit on the Air is 4 GB, how is Lion running? Is it a RAM hog?
puma1552 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 08:58 PM   #2
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Plenty of people are running it fine with 2GB. I have 4GB and I push it alld ay every day with not an issue.
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 09:12 PM   #3
mofoliar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
i also have the 2g mba but i am really considering the 4g and bigger storage.. 128 would reallly like the 256 but i cant afford the that xtra $300 on top of already gonna have to spend to get the 4g model w/128gb ssd
mofoliar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 09:32 PM   #4
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Runs great here...
monkeybagel is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 09:47 PM   #5
mj1108
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Running great here on 4 gigs.
mj1108 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 09:49 PM   #6
Big D 51
macrumors 6502a
 
Big D 51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Mine works great.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 4g: 16 GB | 13" MBA: 2.13 GHz, 4 GB Ram, 256 GB Flash Storage | iPad 2: 16 GB | iPod Classic
Big D 51 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 09:51 PM   #7
SDColorado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
I don't know that Lion itself really benefits that greatly from 8GB of RAM. It really depends on what you are running on Lion I think. Just sitting here browsing the web, with a few tabs open, I have about 1.5GB free. If her needs are simple, as in no programs that are themselves RAM hogs, 4GB should be more than fine.
__________________
'10 6-Core Mac Pro 3.33GHz '12 17" MBP 2.5GHz '12 15" MBP 2.6 GHz '14 13" MBP 2.8 GHz iPad3 64GB WiFi +LTE iPhone 5 64GB
SDColorado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 10:20 PM   #8
francis21
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
I'm currently using a 2 GB of RAM from my MBA 11" 2011, that I got a week ago. It runs smoothly on Lion, based on a normal day-to-day tasks (e.g. web browsing, reading PDF files, etc.) I can run some intensive programs such as Parallels (when using Windows 7 with 512 MB of dedicated RAM for it), and runs impressively great.

I thought I would regret of just having 2 GB of RAM, but I'm actually happy with it. I'll upgrade my SSD capacity to around 256 GB or something higher than my current 64 GB space.
francis21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 10:47 PM   #9
eagandale4114
macrumors 65816
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
The main issue of having 2 GB of ram is when you have a HDD. In that case the system will "borrow" the drive to meet it's needs. It does this on an SSD but due to the nature of SSDs (high speed read/write and high number of random access per second) the effect is negligible. However PRO apps will benefit from 4 GB.
__________________
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 5s 32GB
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:17 PM   #10
puma1552
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Cool, do they still carry the "Ultimate" configurations at the store, the ones with the 1.8 GHz processor?
puma1552 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:40 PM   #11
jamesryanbell
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Mine runs fine on 4GB of RAM.
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:46 PM   #12
crobbins
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
It runs fairly well, but I used to own a MacBook Pro with 8GB of RAM..I was definitely spoiled..
__________________
2011 MacBook Air 13" i5 16GB iPhone 5 32gb VZW WiFi + 4G iPad 3
crobbins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:52 PM   #13
VMMan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
My 4GB MBA runs Xcode, Safari, and Adobe CS5 Photoshop simultaneously well.
__________________
2011 MBP 17", 2011 MBA 11", iPad, iPhone 4
VMMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:57 PM   #14
SDColorado
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by puma1552 View Post
Cool, do they still carry the "Ultimate" configurations at the store, the ones with the 1.8 GHz processor?
The do. I purchased mine right from the store. They had plenty of them on the "Holiday Table"
__________________
'10 6-Core Mac Pro 3.33GHz '12 17" MBP 2.5GHz '12 15" MBP 2.6 GHz '14 13" MBP 2.8 GHz iPad3 64GB WiFi +LTE iPhone 5 64GB
SDColorado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 11:58 PM   #15
vitzr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
We have all the various configurations at work. Side by side tests have been quite interesting & eye opening. Lion running on a 2010 MBA with 2GB is smooth, but crawls as compared to my 4GB equipped 2011 MBA.

The real rocket, is a colleagues 15" 2010 MBP equipped with 8GB and SSD. While we naturally expected it to be fast, the huge increase in speed compared to my MBA was nearly unbelievable. We repeated the comparison over & over just laughing in amazement at how fast it is.
vitzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 12:08 AM   #16
Akack
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: T E X A S
Have 2gb on my 2010 13" MBA and Lion is running fine. Only use the air for web browsing with lots of tabs open.
__________________
Enough gadgets.
Akack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 05:35 AM   #17
Xikum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
My 2010 C2D 2GB RAM MBA runs Lion perfectly, however said Lion benefits from 8 GB is just ridiculous.

Put it this way; Apple sell 2 GB MBA's with Lion in them for a reason. If it couldn't handle it, they wouldn't do it.
Xikum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 05:41 AM   #18
Heavertron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xikum View Post
My 2010 C2D 2GB RAM MBA runs Lion perfectly, however said Lion benefits from 8 GB is just ridiculous.

Put it this way; Apple sell 2 GB MBA's with Lion in them for a reason. If it couldn't handle it, they wouldn't do it.
Yes. The reason is to meet a price point. To have a low cost entry level model. 2gb will work right now for basic needs, but 4gb will give you more breathing space for future software advances.
__________________
MBP 17" 2011 2.2 GHz, 8 Gb, 256 Gb Apple SSD MBA 11" 2011 1.6 Ghz, 4 Gb, 128 Gb SSD iPhone4S Thunderbolt Display
Heavertron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 10:33 AM   #19
Retops
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oklahoma
No worries at all. I have an original MBA (1.6 GHZ, 2GB Ram) and it runs Lion without problem. On my 2010 MBA, it positively screams, with just 2 GB of RAM.
__________________
MBA, IPad, etc.
Retops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 10:44 AM   #20
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavertron View Post
Yes. The reason is to meet a price point. To have a low cost entry level model. 2gb will work right now for basic needs, but 4gb will give you more breathing space for future software advances.
Part of the reason I wouldn't want the 2GB version is that it will probably never make it past Lion. Lion requires 2GB minimum. The next OSX revision will probably require more. The SSD obviously helps with faster disk paging, but there are some things that require real memory to run at all.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 10:48 AM   #21
adamtj11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
2gb of ram + SSD is faster than my MacBook with 6gb Ram and HD on Lion, and both are fast.
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Pro
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
new iPad Black 16GB
adamtj11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 11:38 AM   #22
Xikum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavertron View Post
Yes. The reason is to meet a price point. To have a low cost entry level model. 2gb will work right now for basic needs, but 4gb will give you more breathing space for future software advances.
Of course 4 GB is better, but it isnt 100% essential. I run an old laptop with a lightweight Linux distro on it, it has 512 MB RAM and its still perfectly usable for browsing, word processing and other everyday activities.

Apple wouldn't sell a 2 GB version if it was unusably slow; because then people would get a bad impression of their computers.
Xikum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 12:03 PM   #23
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by puma1552 View Post
So, seeing as the RAM limit on the Air is 4 GB, how is Lion running? Is it a RAM hog?
Runs just fine and I ( at times ) use a 1 gb VM and it does well enough with that going to.

Actually it runs better than fine it runs like a beast ... a very very fast beast!

Or maybe since Lions do not exactly have the best foot speed of the big cats it runs like a Lion with a jet pack on its back and rollerblades on all 4 paws.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavertron View Post
Yes. The reason is to meet a price point. To have a low cost entry level model. 2gb will work right now for basic needs, but 4gb will give you more breathing space for future software advances.
Totally agree ... if you are not running many things at once the 2 gb right now is quite useable ... but future proof probably not so much.
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 12:11 PM   #24
joneill55
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by puma1552 View Post
Wife let it slip that she's interested in a 13" Air for Christmas. She doesn't care much about updates, and I know one is coming in Q1 but I doubt it will be Ivy Bridge, so I am probably fine getting her one of the current models for Christmas, her needs are pretty simple anyway.

But I'm curious, I was looking to upgrade my 2010 MBP to 8 GB RAM from 4 to run Lion, and the folks over in the MBP forum said Lion greatly benefits from 8 GB of RAM.

So, seeing as the RAM limit on the Air is 4 GB, how is Lion running? Is it a RAM hog?

No problems here. Runs like a champ all day long!
joneill55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 12:25 PM   #25
GekkePrutser
macrumors 6502a
 
GekkePrutser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavertron View Post
Yes. The reason is to meet a price point. To have a low cost entry level model.
I seriously doubt that. I'd be surprised if the price of 2GB extra is more than a dollar or two to Apple. Not to mention the problem of having, and designing, 2 separate mainboard models for the 1.6Ghz version. Stockkeeping 2 different SKUs costs a lot of money as well at Apple's scale. They could easily have the base model at 4GB for nearly the same price.

I'm pretty sure that it's done to stimulate people to upgrade to the high-end model, or at least to make the extra 100 bucks on the 4GB option. That's 100 dollars of almost pure profit.
GekkePrutser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iMac, Upgraded Ram, But Ram Running @ 1333mhz Jazwire iMac 159 Jan 11, 2013 06:43 PM
Worth upgrading 11" MacBook Air 1.4ghz 2gb ram to mountain lion? wangchunggti337 MacBook Air 1 Dec 27, 2012 09:04 PM
Awful Ram usage on Mountain Lion... new Macbook Air 2012 Andre29 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 44 Dec 10, 2012 04:07 PM
Mountain Lion faster than Lion? (on Air with 2GB of RAM) littvay OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Aug 1, 2012 12:17 PM
mountain lion makes 2011 air faster than 2012 air. aleni OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 27 Jul 14, 2012 09:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC