Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2011, 04:00 PM   #1
GJSchaller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: White Plains, NY
Question Cloning Win7 from old MBP to MBA 2011 - Won't Boot

I have a client with an older MacBook Pro, Core 2 Duo model from around 2006-2007. It had a complete system board failure, and rather than repair it, he bought a 2011 MBA (Top of the line, with an i7, 256GB drive, etc.).

The old MBP was running Windows 7 via BootCamp. I was able to extract the drive from the carcas of the beast, hook it up to an external SATA mount, and make an image of the Windows partition using Winclone.

From there, I restored the image onto the MBA, after partitioning the drive using the Boot Camp assistant. Windows boots, but a few seconds in, gives the dread BSoD, and reboots. The BSoD doesn't stay up long enough for me to see what the error is.

The same issue happens in Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Command Prompt, etc. I imagine there's a driver missing that needs to be updated, but I can't tell which one to load, and the Boot Camp CD that the helper created has everything packaged - I'd need to extract them all by hand to make them available for the Windows Repair tool.

Anyone had any luck moving a Windows 7 image from older hardware onto a 2011 MBA? How did you accomplish it?

Thank you!
__________________
Geoffrey Schaller
GJSchaller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 04:31 PM   #2
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I don't think you're supposed to be able to do this necessarily with Windows. Assuming it boots, it's going to be mad about being licensed to the original machine. Re-install seems like the safest bet, but keep in mind if your copy of Windows is OEM, you can't transfer it to the new machine at all, even with a re-install.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 04:38 PM   #3
GJSchaller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: White Plains, NY
Licensing won't be an issue, we have a KMS for our company.
__________________
Geoffrey Schaller
GJSchaller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 05:12 PM   #4
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Winclone doesn't work. Period.

Clean install is your best bet. Then copy all the data files over.
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
boot camp, macbook air 2011, windows 7 x64

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about transferring settings from old mac to MBA petalino MacBook Air 3 Nov 24, 2010 06:57 AM
Going from old MBP to MBA xciteboy MacBook Air 14 Feb 4, 2008 04:33 AM
Help: Copying Software/Cloning HD from old G4 to a G5 bcpursel Mac Basics and Help 1 Oct 9, 2007 10:56 PM
Transferring data from old MBP to new MBP Kilamite MacBook Pro 3 Jul 4, 2007 12:57 PM
How Do I Make a HDD Image from old MBP to new MBP? superspiffy MacBook Pro 3 Jun 12, 2007 03:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC