Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:07 AM   #1
sou1 so1di3r
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
How much RAM can my MacBook take?

I have a black MacBook, June 2008 with 4GB of RAM from Apple installed.. can I put in any more... this baby is getting sluggish but I don't want to drop 2,000 bucks on another MacBook
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-12-10 at 11.05.55 AM.png
Views:	109
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	315601  
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:18 AM   #2
adamtj11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dublin Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by sou1 so1di3r View Post
I have a black MacBook, June 2008 with 4GB of RAM from Apple installed.. can I put in any more... this baby is getting sluggish but I don't want to drop 2,000 bucks on another MacBook
6GB of Ram.
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Pro
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
new iPad Black 16GB
adamtj11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:20 AM   #3
ERIC273
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Send a message via Skype™ to ERIC273
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtj11 View Post
6GB of Ram.
No, 8gbs!

----------

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/

Use this tool to your advantage!
__________________
Macbook Pro 13" 2.9ghz late 2012 240gb SSD 8gb RAM
iPhone 4S White ATT(64GB)
iPhone 5s Silver ATT(64GB)
ERIC273 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:27 AM   #4
sou1 so1di3r
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtj11 View Post
6GB of Ram.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERIC273 View Post
No, 8gbs!

----------

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/

Use this tool to your advantage!
which one is it?


I don't feel like downloading any junk.. thanks :roll eyes:

http://guides.macrumors.com/Understanding_Intel_Mac_RAM

I was looking at this, just not sure how to figure out which type of Core 2 Duo Processor I have... I think it is 6Gb though
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:28 AM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
  • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
  • By using Mactracker
  • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 11:29 AM   #6
McGiord
macrumors 68040
 
McGiord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dark Castle
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor...ok_Pro/Upgrade
__________________
And now what is NeXT?
McGiord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 12:28 PM   #7
sou1 so1di3r
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
I think this is what I have...

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...ryn-specs.html


Is it worth it to try to upgrade then to 6GB you guys think? It says I would have to use 1 4GB and 1 2GB... could I just keep 1 Apple RAM stick and buy 1 other 4GB stick? Or should they be the same brand?
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 12:32 PM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sou1 so1di3r View Post
I think this is what I have...

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...ryn-specs.html


Is it worth it to try to upgrade then to 6GB you guys think? It says I would have to use 1 4GB and 1 2GB... could I just keep 1 Apple RAM stick and buy 1 other 4GB stick? Or should they be the same brand?
They don't have to be the same brand. I doubt there'd be much difference between a 2-4 and a 4-4. I think I'd go for the 4-4.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 02:00 PM   #9
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
That macbook can take up to 6GB. I would recommend a match pair.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 03:23 PM   #10
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
That macbook can take up to 6GB. I would recommend a match pair.
So you recommend 2 x 3GB sticks then ??

Any idea where we can buy them ?
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 03:47 PM   #11
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
There is no 2 x 3 gb only 2 + 4 gb. And OWC happens to be selling them.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 04:51 PM   #12
adamtj11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dublin Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
There is no 2 x 3 gb only 2 + 4 gb. And OWC happens to be selling them.
4+2 isn't matched though...
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Pro
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
new iPad Black 16GB
adamtj11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 04:53 PM   #13
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtj11 View Post
4+2 isn't matched though...
correct !!

see http://guides.macrumors.com/Matched_RAM_on_Intel_Macs
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 07:32 PM   #14
Blueimac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Paris (not France) for now
Cool MacBook A1181 upgraded to 6GB of memory

I recently upgraded my MacBook (13.3 inch Early 2008) (MB402LL/A) Model No. A1181 Intel, Core 2 Duo 2.1 GHz to 6GB of memory - Apple specs said 4GB was the limit but I found more information online that said differently. It's running so much faster now -

2GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Rendition by Crucial) and a 4GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Patroit)

Blueimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 09:08 PM   #15
JamesGorman
macrumors 65816
 
JamesGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by logana View Post
So you recommend 2 x 3GB sticks then ??

Any idea where we can buy them ?
3GB sticks don't exist. You'd have to go with 1x2 and 1x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueimac View Post
I recently upgraded my MacBook (13.3 inch Early 2008) (MB402LL/A) Model No. A1181 Intel, Core 2 Duo 2.1 GHz to 6GB of memory - Apple specs said 4GB was the limit but I found more information online that said differently. It's running so much faster now -

2GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Rendition by Crucial) and a 4GB DDR2 PC2 5300 667 (Patroit)

Image
Yea, the limit is 6GB I believe
JamesGorman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 09:33 PM   #16
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtj11 View Post
4+2 isn't matched though...
I am not saying that the 2 + 4 is matched, I am recommending a match memory... so that would be 2 + 2...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 08:45 PM   #17
maxski
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
6Gb RAM

Hi,

i have the same Macbook Model, MB402LL/A, and i wanted to upgrade it to 6gb RAM. I've already got a 4gb RAM and a 2gb RAM, but when i used both memory, my macbook won't open up.

But when I use my old 1Gb RAM and the new 4Gb RAM, it work just fine. (which makes it 5Gb RAM)

Is there anything that i should do first before maximizing it to 6Gb RAM? if not, what do you think is the problem?
maxski is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro SSD and Ram upgrade or new Macbook Air 13" BoxsterRS MacBook Pro 7 Dec 16, 2013 11:21 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 07:06 AM
2010 13" MacBook Air 4GB Ram 128 SSD or 2011 13" MacBook Pro 4 GB Ram 500 GB Martylaa MacBook Air 3 Sep 2, 2012 03:36 PM
2010 13" MacBook Air 4GB Ram 128 SSD or 2011 13" MacBook Pro 4 GB Ram 500 GB Martylaa MacBook Pro 5 Sep 1, 2012 04:26 PM
New macbook air 4gb ram vs 8gb ram shamsmu MacBook Air 3 Jun 13, 2012 12:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC