Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2011, 05:27 AM   #1
Twitko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Will WDTV-Live work with my current setup ?

I'd like to buy a media player (probably WD TV Live), but after reading a lot of posts, comment, forums, reviews etc.. I am absolutely confused, if it will work for my setup. Please advice ... OK, my current setup :

Internet -> DSL modem connected via ethernet cable to Time Capsule (2T). TC creates wifi network. I have several computers wirelessly joined to this network via wifi - 3x PC (WIN XP) and 1x MacBookAir. I have another AirportExpress unit, which serves a) to improve wifi signal in my living room b) and it is connected via sound output to my Receiver (to play Iphone and Itunes music via main speakers). TC's internal hard disc serves as main storage space for - music, ebooks, movies, photos, backups etc ... For now, it works fine .. any computer is able to acces, see and read any file stored at TC. Great ...

Now ... I'd like to view my movies - video files (AVI, MKV, etc) directly on my TV. Again - all my video files are stored on Time Capsule. I suppose I need media player. WD TV Live HD Media Player (WDBGXT0000NBK) could be a solution. I can connect it via ethernet cable to Airport Express to wifi or rely on its own wifi abilities. But I am not sure if WDTV is able to access and read files stored on my Time Capsule.

Again - accessing files on TC is the most important feature for me. I don't expect to access and play the movies stored somewhere on local discs of any of my computers .. if it could be possible, it'd be welcome, but this feature is not necessary. And ... I don't want to connect any HDD to WDTV ... just access file on my TC and play it via wifi on my TV is all I need.

Can anybody confirm WD T Live Media Streamer should work in this setup?

Thank you in advance for any help.
Twitko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 12:38 PM   #2
KevinC867
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Saratoga, CA
I think the WD TV Live will work great for your need. I have the older version of the WD TV Live (no Netflix or WiFi). I don't have a Time Capsule, but I do have an Airport Extreme with an attached hard drive. My WD TV Live has no problem accessing media files stored on the drive attached to the Apple router, so I'm sure the same would be true for a volume on the Time Capsule. I have also read reviews of the new WD TV Live from folks who are using it very successfully with a Time Capsule. My WD TV Live also has no problem accessing shared directories on my PC and Mac.

The user interface on the WD TV is not as pretty as an Apple TV, but it does a great job playing just about any media type. I use it for playing raw 1080P rips from my Blu-Rays. The quality is the same as watching directly from a Blu-ray player.

Hopefully, you will have a backup of the media stored on the Time Capsule on one of your computers.
KevinC867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:53 PM   #3
nsr025
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Hi Guys,

I stumbled upon ur post. I am planning to have the exact same setup as u.

Care to update on your outcome, twitko?
nsr025 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 12:55 PM   #4
ogun7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Send a message via AIM to ogun7 Send a message via Yahoo to ogun7
I bought my WD TV Live about two weeks ago. My first unit had a problem with drive not being accessible after a while even during playback. I called Western Digital, they confirmed I had the latest firmware, and suggested I return it. That was after 4 days. The new unit is perfect.

What Mac users have to look out for:

If you are going to hang a drive off of it and format it HFS+, you have to go back and make sure you mount the disk in Disk Utility and turn of journaling.

The WD forums offer lots of support, but I still can't network to my Macs, but many people can.
ogun7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 05:40 AM   #5
ejmcburney
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hi, I have the exact same set-up (media on TC and wirelessly connecting from WDTV Live to TC), however, when I try to access the TC files I get the error message "The is no media in the current folder". I have tried Music, Video and Photos but just keep on getting the same result.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong??

Thanks,
ejmcburney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:32 AM   #6
Nikolagat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hi.
I have the same problem.
Can anyone tell the desion?
Nikolagat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 01:19 AM   #7
Nikolagat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejmcburney View Post
Hi, I have the exact same set-up (media on TC and wirelessly connecting from WDTV Live to TC), however, when I try to access the TC files I get the error message "The is no media in the current folder". I have tried Music, Video and Photos but just keep on getting the same result.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong??

Thanks,
allow file sharing via airport disk utility
And it will work
Nikolagat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2012, 03:24 PM   #8
Doc69
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Time Capsule sharing with WDTV Live?

After upgrading to Lion from Snow Leopard, sharing folders on my Mac no longer works with my WDTV live (ethernet connected). I was told that Apple removed a sharing protocol (SMB?) from Lion (and same with 10.8). I'm now wondering if the Time Capsule will work with the WDTV Live, or of the required sharing protocol has been removed from that as well.

Also, I understand that the USB port on the Time Capsule can be used for additional storage. However, I'm wondering if the USB port could also be used to connect the Time Capsule directly to the WDTV (or mount it's HD on a Mac)? After my Macs lost SMB sharing with Lion, I've had to have an external drive connected to my WDTV.
Doc69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2012, 05:37 AM   #9
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
It can work with Lion...take a look at this thread
http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Li...ve/td-p/223236
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do current 5c/5s models save battery live when using 2G/EDGE data only? fruitninja iPhone 5 May 12, 2014 08:00 PM
Advice on current setup? iMac & MBP? BearsFan4Life88 MacBook Pro 9 Feb 10, 2014 10:39 PM
WDTV Live M4V files jjk454ss Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Jan 5, 2014 03:56 PM
How to setup pdanet usb tethering with macbook to connect to xbox live? roderick Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 23, 2013 01:00 PM
Why I ditched my Jailbroken Apple TV for a WDTV Live djrobsd Apple TV and Home Theater 72 Dec 8, 2012 02:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC