Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2011, 05:15 PM   #1
jordanogrady
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Setting up a new iMac....

Hi all,
I currently have a macbook pro, and i'm hoping to recieve delivery of my new i7 iMac tomorrow, but I have a few questions....

I currently have a time capsule and its backing up my macbook....

I just have a few questions....

Can i transfer my programs from the macbook to the iMac? I know there is copyright protection of some sort, but i don't want to have to spend the on more programs.... I was thinking of maybe restoring from the time capsule, and was hoping it would move all my programs....

Next would be aperture photo's and iPhoto photo's...
How can I transfer these to the iMac...?

Any help on moving things across would be great!

I would still like to keep the programs on my macbook if possible, like word, and pages, aperture 3.....

Thanks
Jordan
jordanogrady is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 06:15 PM   #2
robgendreau
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
You can connect the other Mac and use Migration Ass't (not restore; you're migrating, even if from your TM, not restoring).

Most licenses for Mac applications let you have one for a desktop and one for a laptop as long as it's one user and only one is used at a time, but there are many exceptions, especially utilities. The software purchased at the Mac App Store allows you to install it on all your machines registered under your Apple ID with the store.

Rob
robgendreau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 06:35 PM   #3
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordanogrady View Post
Hi all,
I currently have a macbook pro, and i'm hoping to recieve delivery of my new i7 iMac tomorrow, but I have a few questions....

I currently have a time capsule and its backing up my macbook....

I just have a few questions....

Can i transfer my programs from the macbook to the iMac? I know there is copyright protection of some sort, but i don't want to have to spend the on more programs.... I was thinking of maybe restoring from the time capsule, and was hoping it would move all my programs....

Next would be aperture photo's and iPhoto photo's...
How can I transfer these to the iMac...?

Any help on moving things across would be great!

I would still like to keep the programs on my macbook if possible, like word, and pages, aperture 3.....

Thanks
Jordan
Jordan,

First I'd recommend ignoring the first poster and DO NOT use Migration Assistant!!!!!

The easiest method of transferring all your information from your MBP to the new iMac occurs when you initially turn on the iMac. When you do you're starting Setup Assistant. Migration Assistant and Setup Assistant are cousins, they're somewhat similar but different. MA will create a new user account whereas SA will not. If you use Setup Assistant it offers a much smoother transition! Setup Assistant will ask if you are migrating from another Mac, in your case answer "yes" and then it will ask if you want to restore from a Time Machine connection or directly from the iMac or another volume such as a Bootable Clone. Simply follow the on-screen instructions and let it do it's work. One word of caution though DO NOT repeat DO NOT use wi-fi to migrate, this could literately take a week! Your best bet is to connect via Ethernet from the Time Capsule to the new Mac. If you can make a USB connection then I'd suggest this too, it will be slower than Ethernet however the results are good.

To prepare yourself I'd STRONGLY recommend reading the Lion Setup Assistant Tips. This will show you what to do and what to expect.

http://pondini.org/OSX/SetupLion.html

Your transition should be very smooth if you follow the on-screen directions from your iMac.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; Lacie Quadra D2 external HDs; 4S iPhone; Nikon DLSR

Last edited by rkaufmann87; Dec 19, 2011 at 11:51 PM.
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 03:15 AM   #4
jordanogrady
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
So if i set this up using the set up assistant, will I be able to use all programs on both machines?

----------

Are there any downside to transferring all this info?
jordanogrady is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 07:59 AM   #5
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordanogrady View Post
So if i set this up using the set up assistant, will I be able to use all programs on both machines?

----------

Are there any downside to transferring all this info?
Yup, Nope.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; Lacie Quadra D2 external HDs; 4S iPhone; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 03:42 PM   #6
jordanogrady
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaufmann87 View Post
Yup, Nope.
LOL That answer is contradictory in its self!

After 5 hours, finally got the iMac up and running! transferred all the data over, now going to strip the macbook down a little as i won't need all the info on that!

Thanks for all the advice!

Jordan
jordanogrady is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I set up a new imac with a time machine from my previous Imac hipnotizer iMac 6 May 12, 2011 10:11 AM
Recommendations on how to set up a new iMac to be shared with wife? difflch Mac Basics and Help 15 May 6, 2011 10:38 AM
Resolved: Help!!!! New mba set up problem!!! Sugi209 MacBook Air 13 Feb 9, 2011 10:21 PM
Suggestions for quickly setting up my new iMac?? iMerlin iMac 20 Nov 13, 2009 06:48 PM
Setting up a new iMac irishgrizzly iMac 3 Sep 4, 2007 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC