Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:11 PM   #1
RyDogg999
macrumors newbie

Redsnow "Exploit Failed" Any Help??????

ve tried everything. Im not an expert but im pretty good with all this tech stuff. I followed redsn0ws instructions on jailbreaking to the "T" multiple time different versions. It all goes well till redsnow says waiting to reboot my phone lights up and never boots "exploit failed" I get every time. Ive reinstalled itunes. ive read alot of forums and tried alot of different things.I must be missing something. This is the first time ive ever had to post on a forum for help. Im stumped. Any help please??????

itunes detecting a device in recovery mode even when i dont have anything connected to it

iphone 3gs 16g ios 5.0.1
mac osx 10.6.8
RyDogg999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:17 PM   #2
Mac2012
macrumors regular

You need to point the rs to an ipsw that's compatible and then boot tethered.
Mac2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:45 PM   #3
RyDogg999
macrumors newbie

ive pointed at the corresponding ipsw 5.0.1

i think it might be a problem with my imac maybe an old iphone software. ive been searching. could tiny umbrella cause a exploit failure?
Old Dec 20, 2011, 09:48 PM   #4
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyDogg999 View Post
ive pointed at the corresponding ipsw 5.0.1

i think it might be a problem with my imac maybe an old iphone software. ive been searching. could tiny umbrella cause a exploit failure?
No, Even your phone has 5.0.1 on it, when you run redsn0w, you need to point it at OS5 and then follow instruction.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 03:22 AM   #5
RyDogg999
macrumors newbie