Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2011, 09:23 PM   #1
MPH140
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Smile Change iPhone 4 IMEI to unlock (please read before telling me it is not permitted)?

Hi guys,

Well I was on holiday in Spain and my factory unlocked iPhone was stolen. As I bought it there, the Spanish network had no way of blocking it. However, because of this, my insurance company still paid out and bought another from the US as they are cheaper there. However, I have realised that it had a baseband that cannot yet be unlocked by ultrasn0w. Would it be possible to swap the IMEI of the American phone for that of the Spanish one in order to get it unlocked via iTunes. As the stolen one is in Spain and I am now in the UK again, there hopefully should not be an issue with two iPhones with the same IMEI being connected at the same time to a network as they are in different countries, or would there? If possible, I would like to change the IMEI back to make everything legit, but then I would assume the next time it will sync, Apple will re-lock it as it is not on their database of unlocked phones.

Thanks!

Last edited by MPH140; Dec 21, 2011 at 09:33 PM.
MPH140 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 09:35 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
The imei cannot be changed.
Not Apple or any hack tool can accomplish that at the moment.
There's no even a jb yet for the 4S.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2011, 09:39 PM   #3
daneoni
macrumors G4
 
daneoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
IMEI is unique to each phone and not carrier or manufacturer can alter it. It can only be blocked (by carrier) and nothing else.
__________________
15" rMBP Core i7 | 27" ACD | AEBS | 5G iPod | iPhone 5S | 3G Apple TV | rMini
daneoni is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 01:30 AM   #4
snowwhite007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scotland
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

No way to do it on an iPhone and noone would ever attempt it as in UK you can get 4 years in prison for doing so
snowwhite007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 05:30 AM   #5
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
a friend of mine works at an apple store and he actually unlocked my factory locked phone. they said they do it all the time for related people they know ^^ they type your uidd into the computer and a week later your phone is unlocked
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 06:12 AM   #6
DJBBOX
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
a friend of mine works at an apple store and he actually unlocked my factory locked phone. they said they do it all the time for related people they know ^^ they type your uidd into the computer and a week later your phone is unlocked
a week later? lol the process of unlocking an iPhone is done in a matter of seconds all you need is a unique key generated in part with your device ID.
__________________
13" MacBookAir4,2 | 1.7GHz i5/ 4-DDR3/ 128GB SSD/ ML 10.8 GB 5877
iPhone4,1 4 S⃣ | GSM/ 16GB/ iOS 5.1.1
iPad3,1 | WiFi/ 16GB/ iOS 5.1.1
DJBBOX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 06:36 AM   #7
thewitt
macrumors 68000
 
thewitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
a friend of mine works at an apple store and he actually unlocked my factory locked phone. they said they do it all the time for related people they know ^^ they type your uidd into the computer and a week later your phone is unlocked
I doubt very much that any Apple retail store employee would have the ability to unlock a factory locked phone.

Perhaps they can request someone at corporate to update the GSMA IMEI database, but I have a hard time believing Apple would accept any requests from a retail store employee to do this....though I guess they could say they needed to sell an unlocked phone and they were out of stock...

If the phone had already been activated however, unlocking the phone would be in violation of the contract between Apple and the carrier. Highly unlikely they would do so.
thewitt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 06:36 AM   #8
anthdci
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPH140 View Post
insurance company still paid out and bought another from the US as they are cheaper there.
did you buy the phone in the US or the insurance company? I find it very hard to believe it is the latter, if it is then it is up to them sort it for you. If you bought it from the US to pocket the difference between the US and UK prices then it is your own fault. Best thing you can do is list it on the US ebay and hope to get the money back then buy it again in the UK, but you will be out of pocket.
__________________
jailbroken 32GB black iPhone 5 on 7.1.2
jailbroken 32GB WiFi + GSM iPad mini Retina on 7.1.2
anthdci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 07:34 AM   #9
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewitt View Post
I doubt very much that any Apple retail store employee would have the ability to unlock a factory locked phone.

Perhaps they can request someone at corporate to update the GSMA IMEI database, but I have a hard time believing Apple would accept any requests from a retail store employee to do this....though I guess they could say they needed to sell an unlocked phone and they were out of stock...

If the phone had already been activated however, unlocking the phone would be in violation of the contract between Apple and the carrier. Highly unlikely they would do so.
i bought an iPhone 4 on ebay with an swedish simlock (im from germany) i went to my friend at the apple store and he was like ill see what i can do i gave him my phone number and uidd and he typed something in on the computer and told me to check my phone around friday (it was a tuesday) its been activated ever since.

They can do it very well bc phones have to be unlocked after the contract is up here in general and u can either do it at tmobile directly or at an apple store. So he just sneaked me in on that list i guess. I dont know the details just that he unlocked it for me at the store
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD

Last edited by bushido; Dec 22, 2011 at 07:45 AM.
bushido is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 09:20 AM   #10
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ok I've read it. It's not permitted.

Next!
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 09:27 AM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
i bought an iPhone 4 on ebay with an swedish simlock (im from germany) i went to my friend at the apple store and he was like ill see what i can do i gave him my phone number and uidd and he typed something in on the computer and told me to check my phone around friday (it was a tuesday) its been activated ever since.

They can do it very well bc phones have to be unlocked after the contract is up here in general and u can either do it at tmobile directly or at an apple store. So he just sneaked me in on that list i guess. I dont know the details just that he unlocked it for me at the store
That's nice but he can lose his job doing that and the rest of us that dont have a friend working for Apple will not be able to do that.
Unless we travel to Germany and have him hook us all up
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 09:32 AM   #12
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
OP's story seems fishy to me. Why would the insurance company buy a UK customer a US phone?

Either way, you cannot change the IMEI on an iPhone. Some other phones, yes, but even then it's illegal.

You may, however, be able to get it unlocked by Apple. Go to a store and ask them. They may very well charge you for this though.

----------

BTW, even if you could change the IMEI, that would still have no effect on the SIM lock. The two are not related.
__________________
"What kind of arrogant ass would quote themselves in their signature?" -0dev
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 09:49 PM   #13
MPH140
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I bought the phone from the US when I got back to the UK because they were not in stock at the Apple Store. Ok, I will give it a try but I doubt they will be able to do anything =/
MPH140 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 09:53 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPH140 View Post
I bought the phone from the US when I got back to the UK because they were not in stock at the Apple Store. Ok, I will give it a try but I doubt they will be able to do anything =/
Bad idea. You should have bought a factory unlocked one.
Now you're stuck. You can sell it used and put the money towards an unlocked iPhone.
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 07:20 AM   #15
localboy28
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPH140 View Post
I bought the phone from the US when I got back to the UK because they were not in stock at the Apple Store. Ok, I will give it a try but I doubt they will be able to do anything =/

sell it on and learn from your mistakes
ive no idea why you bought a usa iphone when you live in the uk
localboy28 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 11:21 AM   #16
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
The reason this won't work is not for the reasons others have given (which are perfectly valid) but is for the reason of the International Equipement Identity Register. Once a network reports a phone stolen, the IMEI is added to this International EIR and the handset becomes blocked throughout Europe (and anywhere else that takes updates from the International EIR). If you could change your phones IMEI to one which has been previously reported stolen, your new phone would also become blocked.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 01:27 PM   #17
localboy28
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
If a phone gets blocked here (uk) it'll only be blocked on all uk
Networks, it'll still work fine anywhere else in the world.

Was reading last week tho that pretty soon blocked phones will now be banned worldwide not just the country they were stolen.
localboy28 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 01:35 PM   #18
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by localboy28 View Post
If a phone gets blocked here (uk) it'll only be blocked on all uk
Networks, it'll still work fine anywhere else in the world.

Was reading last week tho that pretty soon blocked phones will now be banned worldwide not just the country they were stolen.
Yep, in fact I sometimes buy faulty phones off eBay and often see people selling handsets with "signal faults" because they're blocked in the UK but work everywhere else. Of course, what this actually means is the phone was reported stolen in the UK. Same deal with any other phone that doesn't work in a certain country - it means it was reported stolen in that country.

TBH the worldwide block should have been done in the beginning. I bet stolen phones will still work in some countries, though. For example, as far as I know, even phones with no IMEI will work in India.
__________________
"What kind of arrogant ass would quote themselves in their signature?" -0dev
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 01:56 PM   #19
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by localboy28 View Post
If a phone gets blocked here (uk) it'll only be blocked on all uk
Networks, it'll still work fine anywhere else in the world.

Was reading last week tho that pretty soon blocked phones will now be banned worldwide not just the country they were stolen.
Sorry, but I've been working on mobile networks in the UK for 13 years now. Once it's blocked on any UK network, it becomes blocked on any other network that takes a feed from the Centralised EIR.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 01:57 PM   #20
chrf097
macrumors 68030
 
chrf097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Earth
Isn't changing the IMEI illegal?
__________________
13" Macbook Pro | Mac OS 10.10 DP8 | Windows 8.1 | 2.4GHz Core i5 | 8 GB RAM | 500 GB
iPhone 6 | Gold | 16GB | iOS 8 | Verizon
iPad mini Retina | Space Gray | 16 GB WiFi | iOS 8

chrf097 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:00 PM   #21
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
Sorry, but I've been working on mobile networks in the UK for 13 years now. Once it's blocked on any UK network, it becomes blocked on any other network that takes a feed from the Centralised EIR.
I took a phone blacklisted in the UK on holiday and it worked fine (it's a phone that wasn't ever actually stolen, BTW, it's a long story how it got blocked but I know the person who bought it originally and I know it's all legit).
__________________
"What kind of arrogant ass would quote themselves in their signature?" -0dev
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:03 PM   #22
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0dev View Post
I took a phone blacklisted in the UK on holiday and it worked fine (it's a phone that wasn't ever actually stolen, BTW, it's a long story how it got blocked but I know the person who bought it originally and I know it's all legit).
Where did you go though? Not every network takes that feed, but the UK ones certainly do and as far as I know, the major European ones do as well. Outside of Europe is a different matter.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central...ntity_Register
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network...ster_.28EIR.29
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:08 PM   #23
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
I believe I took the phone to Spain, but this was quite some time ago now so I can't be sure. I am, however, fairly sure it was somewhere in Europe.
__________________
"What kind of arrogant ass would quote themselves in their signature?" -0dev
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:14 PM   #24
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0dev View Post
I believe I took the phone to Spain, but this was quite some time ago now so I can't be sure. I am, however, fairly sure it was somewhere in Europe.
Depending on the size of the network, they may not have an EIR, so don't blacklist phones. Also, not every location update performs a checkimei, as it's a network overhead.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2011, 02:15 PM   #25
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Interesting info.
__________________
"What kind of arrogant ass would quote themselves in their signature?" -0dev
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use IMEI unlock service to unlock an a Non-Activated iphone 5? TEHi iPhone 7 Jun 21, 2014 10:17 AM
iPhone IMEI Unlock Caribbean DavidBlack iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Jun 1, 2013 12:33 PM
iPhone: Sprint iPhone 5 IMEI unlock wjlafrance Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Jan 18, 2013 01:27 AM
iPhone 5 unlock via IMEI code. Fgozalo iPhone 43 Jan 7, 2013 06:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps