Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:35 PM   #1
iampaulb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Send a message via Skype™ to iampaulb
Routers: what do you have?

I have been trying to set up my server, with not much luck. Everything works on client side, hostname resolving to ip etc that type of thing. But even when on a computer in my network nothing resolves.

So I have been looking at routers, ideally id like a Airport Extreme as i can control this from the server.app however its a little steep in price. And as im learning all this (for work, i work in IT support) Maybe an apple router is not the best option so I am looking for suggestions on other really good routers which are highly customizable.
iampaulb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:13 PM   #2
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I use Airport Extreme for the stability and range:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4577/a...-faster-wifi-/

But for more "control" you can also use "Tomato Firmware" on a third party router. Installing the firmware is the same as flashing router firmware, and you get more controls.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:15 PM   #3
shenfrey
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
I use Time Capsule and it has never let me down, it just works.
__________________
27" Imac, 12GB ram (2009),
Macbook Pro Late 2012
Time Capsule (2009 1TB)
Apple TV (2012), IPhone 5, iPad (4th Gen)
shenfrey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:23 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
I use one of these which is very highly customizable!

Cisco ASA 5510 Adaptive Security Appliance



But at home I use the AEBS.
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:24 PM   #5
iampaulb
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Send a message via Skype™ to iampaulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
But for more "control" you can also use "Tomato Firmware" on a third party router. Installing the firmware is the same as flashing router firmware, and you get more controls.
Nice...got any good tutorials for that? That will allow the same control and function from the server.app?
iampaulb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:34 PM   #6
DesertEagle
macrumors 6502a
 
DesertEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: /home @ 127.0.0.1
Netgear N900 (a.k.a WNDR4500). It handles my file- and media-server like a charm.
DesertEagle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:42 PM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I use one of these which is very highly customizable!

Cisco ASA 5510 Adaptive Security Appliance

Image


Thumb resize.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 12:43 PM   #8
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post


Thumb resize.
Hmmph... looks like the price came down (from the $2600 price) since I bought it!
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:08 AM   #9
dimme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF, CA
Netgear here, I had a older AEBS but found it was too limited in what I can do. I like the flexibility of the netgear.
__________________
dimme is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:25 AM   #10
DJLC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Send a message via AIM to DJLC Send a message via MSN to DJLC Send a message via Yahoo to DJLC Send a message via Skype™ to DJLC
Asus RT-N66U here. Super fast and super flexible for at home. The built-in firmware is pretty alright, and it also supports DD-WRT. Best consumer router I've ever used by far without the premium you pay for Apple hardware.
__________________
-John Mairs
DJLC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:12 PM   #11
Plutonius
macrumors 68040
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
I also highly recommend the ASUS router.
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:39 PM   #12
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Cisco Linksys E3200. Does work fine, nice range, has a WAN-LAN throughput > 100MBit/s, hasn't had one random disconnect so far and it supports 40MHz-wide channels for the iPhone 5 and iPad 4th-gen. I can't complain whatsoever. If you want to go crazily customizable, it runs dd-wrt, too.
Thumb resize.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:24 PM   #13
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rearranging deck chairs
The Airport Extreme was a good router but I sold it to get the TimeCapsule for a cleaner setup. It seems the earlier software version had more options and some people will complain there's no QoS with Apple routers. I've been very pleased personally. I had a few Linksys routers previously and had to restart them often.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:52 PM   #14
matspekkie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
[QUOTE=iampaulb;16800338]I have been trying to set up my server, with not much luck. Everything works on client side, hostname resolving to ip etc that type of thing. But even when on a computer in my network nothing resolves.

you probably have to set the domain in the router. Other than that make sure your clients use your server as main dns server. Best thing to do is to set this in you DHCP server so it hands out your dns server straight away.
matspekkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:02 PM   #15
tshort
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I use one of these which is very highly customizable!

Cisco ASA 5510 Adaptive Security Appliance
Oh... have I had fun with the ASA 5500 series...

I have a Verizon ActionTec MI424WR, a Time Capsule, and a Cisco 891-W.
__________________
13" MBP, Mac Mini, 27" iMac, 24" iMac, 15" MBP (work)
AppleTV: 1G and 2G; Airport; iPad 4G; iPhone: 3G, 5; iPod: 5G, Classic, Shuffle 2G
tshort is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 10:09 PM   #16
1934hotrod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Woodstock
I just installed the Cisco EA4500 matched with a Cisco cable modem. Very pleased with the performance it pops real nice. Had a E1000 and this new router is lighting, only note to add is the admin of the router works best with FireFox. Safari is clunky for admin of the router, but that's Safari and that's the rest of the story. Cannot go wrong with Cisco network products.

Greg

Last edited by 1934hotrod; Feb 8, 2013 at 10:17 PM.
1934hotrod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:53 PM   #17
jalagl
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND with DD-WRT v24 preSP2

Very stable, the media sharing functionality doesn't work with DD-WRT, but it is a good tradeoff for stability, speed, and it cost me $50!
jalagl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 01:06 PM   #18
wgnoyes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenfrey View Post
I use Time Capsule and it has never let me down, it just works.
Yep, mid-2011 Time Capsule. I was trying to use a D-Link router (no intended slam on D-Link, by the way) before and had all kinds of issues with apple TV dropping connection to the iMac. I got the TC primarily for activating time machine backups, but also found that as soon as I had it configured and online in place of the d-link, all the ATV dropped connection issues promptly disappeared.
wgnoyes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC