Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2011, 12:04 PM   #1
itsjustmeee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Adding ringtones without syncing in iTunes?

I was wondering if there's a way to add ringtones using a program like iexplorer without having to sync them in itunes. I can't just sync ringtones alone without syncing music and videos (which I've always found to be a bit annoying), so I was looking for a workaround.

Any suggestions?
itsjustmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 12:08 PM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Can't you buy it directly on the iPhone - that should install it and not need to sync it, or am I incorrect
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 12:26 PM   #3
saving107
macrumors 603
 
saving107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Jose, Ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Can't you buy it directly on the iPhone - that should install it and not need to sync it, or am I incorrect
You are correct, but I also recommend setting up the iPhone to be Manually Managed (because then all you have to do is drag and drop without syncing).

Managing content manually on iPhone, iPad, and iPod
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1535
saving107 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2011, 12:51 PM   #4
itsjustmeee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by saving107 View Post
You are correct, but I also recommend setting up the iPhone to be Manually Managed (because then all you have to do is drag and drop without syncing).

Managing content manually on iPhone, iPad, and iPod
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1535
I was aware that ringtones can be purchased and downloaded right from the iphone, but the thought of buying one seems a bit crazy to me since they're so easy to make and readily available online.

I do have my iphone set up to be manually managed, but for some reason, the ringtones I dragged over to it didn't show up on actual phone so I thought it had to be synced. Perhaps I'm wrong.

Ah, I do see now how to do it ...... thanks.

Last edited by itsjustmeee; Dec 24, 2011 at 12:58 PM.
itsjustmeee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:59 PM   #5
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
I want to manually manage my iPhone but when I click apply it wants me to erase my iphone.

I have a few ringtones id like to add but cannot without itunes having to erase my content?
__________________
dtbratt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 03:24 PM   #6
Rocko1
macrumors 68000
 
Rocko1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
If you buy them you can. But they will sound just as bad as custom tones do. There is a bug with 5.XXX on this.
Rocko1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 03:28 PM   #7
jman240
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
I want to manually manage my iPhone but when I click apply it wants me to erase my iphone.

I have a few ringtones id like to add but cannot without itunes having to erase my content?
There's a trick to this. You say ok and then unplug your phone before iTunes has a chance to remove all your apps. You have to be fast but it tricks iTunes into thinking it worked and all your stuff stays on your phone and you are now in manual mode.

Edit: Also make sure you have WiFi sync turned off for this. That could be messy.
jman240 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 09:52 AM   #8
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee View Post
I can't just sync ringtones alone without syncing music and videos
Sure you can. Uncheck sync for music and videos.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 12:30 AM   #9
vdubbeet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Newbie here-trying to transfer previous Android

ringtones which are now in iTunes under music to become iPhone 4s ringtones. I'm completely lost. Any help would be much appreciated.
vdubbeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 07:18 PM   #10
cdfegab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman240 View Post
There's a trick to this. You say ok and then unplug your phone before iTunes has a chance to remove all your apps. You have to be fast but it tricks iTunes into thinking it worked and all your stuff stays on your phone and you are now in manual mode.

Edit: Also make sure you have WiFi sync turned off for this. That could be messy.

OMG i registered just to thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cdfegab is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 11:16 PM   #11
jman240
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdfegab View Post
OMG i registered just to thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You're welcome.
jman240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there an app to make ringtones that makes them available WITHOUT syncing w/iTunes? jamesryanbell iPhone and iPod touch Apps 9 Nov 5, 2013 10:21 AM
iPhone: Custom ringtones are not syncing with Beta 2 ianrip iOS 7 5 Jul 7, 2013 04:38 AM
Ringtones not Syncing - anyone else got this? LastLine iOS 7 5 Jun 15, 2013 09:46 AM
Not all ringtones syncing Laimbeersux iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 9, 2012 05:37 PM
Resolved: Ringtones not syncing? sk1wbw iPhone 0 Sep 21, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC