Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:12 PM   #1
msbdude
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: baja california norte
imac g5 on 5ghz band via ethernet?

hello everyone- i now have an airport extreme 5th gen attached to my cable modem as a router for my home network. everything is on ethernet downstairs (apple tv, mini) or on 5ghz (ipad2, macbook air) but upstairs my wife uses her trusty imac g5. obviously she can use the same extreme on 2.4ghz, but of course that slows all the other wireless devices to that speed as well. i'm thinking i could get an airport express to extend the network upstairs and use its ethernet connection for the g5. will that work? does anything i just said make any sense? a better way to accomplish this? i am open to your ideas. appreciate the help!!
msbdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:15 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Having the iMac on the 2.4Ghz band does not slow down the other devices. Even having a WiFi b device won't slow down the other devices.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:53 PM   #3
msbdude
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: baja california norte
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Having the iMac on the 2.4Ghz band does not slow down the other devices. Even having a WiFi b device won't slow down the other devices.
didnt know that. will having the g5 on the express ethernet upstairs be faster than just leaving it on the extreme? thanks again
msbdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 11:56 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Yes, but if you're just browsing the internet and not doing any big local network transfers there won't be much speed gain.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2012, 10:52 PM   #5
msbdude
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: baja california norte
awesome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Yes, but if you're just browsing the internet and not doing any big local network transfers there won't be much speed gain.
thanks again- love this site, it has become one of my most valued mac resources
btw- got it all hooked up today and it all runs much faster than before!!

Last edited by msbdude; Aug 29, 2012 at 10:54 PM. Reason: additional comment
msbdude is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 2013 i7 3.5ghz - SSD speed test Khendal iMac 31 Nov 21, 2013 04:27 PM
5ghz band issues after updating to ios7? guitarguy316 iOS 7 4 Sep 24, 2013 08:46 PM
Dual band AirPort Extreme/Express - 5ghz N, 2.4ghz b,g? digitaldave Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 13, 2012 01:29 AM
Is $850 a good price for 21.5 inch 2.5GHz iMac? ejmc3 iMac 7 Oct 9, 2012 01:28 PM
iphone 5 wifi 5ghz band issues ssahnan iPhone 16 Oct 4, 2012 04:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC