Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2011, 01:45 AM   #1
x-evil-x
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
PDAnet or Mywi?

on untethered jailbreak for 5.0.1 and pda net doesn't seem to be letting me turn it on. i want something that i can hide my usage so id prefer this one. does anyone know if tethering to an iPad only will show up as another device? since it isn't an actual computer i don't think the would be able to tell the difference.
anybody using tethering apps on this new software yet?
x-evil-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 02:29 AM   #2
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
They already have versions for 5.01?
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 03:14 AM   #3
x-evil-x
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
see i have no idea. just downloaded the one that was in there
x-evil-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:57 AM   #4
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
The app screen should say. Just scroll down.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 05:27 AM   #5
Nevrsadie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dark side of the monitor
Tetherme FTW!
Nevrsadie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 01:57 PM   #6
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevrsadie View Post
Tetherme FTW!
Does Teatherme hide usage like PDAnet does?
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 02:16 PM   #7
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by x-evil-x View Post
on untethered jailbreak for 5.0.1 and pda net doesn't seem to be letting me turn it on.
I noticed that the WPA2 settings don't seem to be working right since the update. If I give the wifi hotspot any password (8-16 characters) it simply fails to turn on, but if I leave it with no password, it works fine. I'm writing this message right now using my wifi-only iPad and using PDAnet on my iPhone.
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 03:38 PM   #8
OceanView
macrumors 65816
 
OceanView's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I'm having problems with PDANet as well.
OceanView is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:04 PM   #9
Grimsrud
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I'm using TetherMe to type this. AT&T has never bothered me about tethering, but I use a VPN to cloak what's going through my connection.
Grimsrud is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:31 PM   #10
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
How does one use a VPN? If it's a complicated subject, just direct me to a good link and I'll try to figure it out myself.
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:43 PM   #11
briankeith513
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevrsadie View Post
Tetherme FTW!
What He said. Tetherme is easily the best, and the cheaper than MyWi.
__________________
-I am not Neo, But I am still the One.
http://i44.tinypic.com/v6roqw.gif
briankeith513 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:43 PM   #12
MastahRiz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipop View Post
How does one use a VPN? If it's a complicated subject, just direct me to a good link and I'll try to figure it out myself.
This should do the trick: http://www.groovypost.com/howto/micr...ome-windows-7/
MastahRiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 05:29 PM   #13
x-evil-x
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
if I'm only tethering to my iPad will att be able to tell its a different device? i won't be tethering to my mac.
x-evil-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 06:59 PM   #14
x-evil-x
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
yep it works without a password fine. they should update soon id think.
level 1 for blocking right? not sure what level 2 does.
x-evil-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:24 AM   #15
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MastahRiz View Post
I read the article at that link, but it had nothing iPhone-specific. Once I've set up a VPN on my home computer, how does that let me tether my iPad to my iPhone without AT&T figuring it out?
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:26 AM   #16
malias4
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Greece and Holland
i vote for tether me as well, never had a single problem !
i dont use it so much but it always worked for me !
__________________
imac 21.5 i5 mid 2011
ipad 3 16gb wifi jb
iphone 5 16gb
malias4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:55 AM   #17
nyfliiboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Another vote for tetherme. Im using it right now for my mac
__________________
13" Macbook Pro(Unibody), 2.4 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 1.5TB HDD ; Iphone 4 (32GB)
nyfliiboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 01:01 AM   #18
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Well, I just tried TetherMe and it completely fails to show up as a network on my iPad. When I activate it it tells me that it's working, but no network shows up. In the TetherMe section of the Settings app it simply says "TetherMe not loaded".
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 12:19 PM   #19
db67fm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipop View Post
Well, I just tried TetherMe and it completely fails to show up as a network on my iPad. When I activate it it tells me that it's working, but no network shows up. In the TetherMe section of the Settings app it simply says "TetherMe not loaded".
I just updated to TetherMe version 2.2-30 and I found that if you go to Settings > TetherMe it says "TetherMe not loaded". But the app still works just fine.


To start tethering, go to Settings > Personal Hotspot > On.

TetherMe still says "TetherMe not loaded" but I can connect to my new hotspot on other devices.
db67fm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 12:36 PM   #20
jimmy83
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Do you need this option to use tetherme? My provider doesn't offer it.

To start tethering, go to Settings > Personal Hotspot > On.

TetherMe still says "TetherMe not loaded" but I can connect to my new hotspot on other devices.[/QUOTE]
jimmy83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 12:56 PM   #21
tipop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by db67fm View Post
I just updated to TetherMe version 2.2-30 and I found that if you go to Settings > TetherMe it says "TetherMe not loaded". But the app still works just fine.


To start tethering, go to Settings > Personal Hotspot > On.

TetherMe still says "TetherMe not loaded" but I can connect to my new hotspot on other devices.
Like I said, I turned it on but no wifi hotspot showed up when I went to look for it on my iPad.
tipop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 07:01 AM   #22
jimmy83
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Just started using pdanet, seems great at the mo and it's free
jimmy83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 08:51 AM   #23
JrFreak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I was using MyWi when I tethered and wasn't using it that much at all. I got a text and email from AT&T stating I would be put on a plan if I continued. I haven't used MyWi in months... not sure how they caught it.

PDANet is suppose to hide tethering, but the makers of MyWi say they don't do anything differently then the other tethering apps do. So I don't know what's the best...
__________________
iPhone 5, 64gb, Jailbroken 7.0.4
iPad 2, 16gb, Wifi only, JB 7.1.2
JrFreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 09:42 AM   #24
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Neither. Tetherme.
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: PdaNet? x-evil-x Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Dec 28, 2013 10:08 PM
iPhone: Pdanet? eNcrypTioN Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 6, 2013 02:15 PM
iPhone: Pdanet help adam.fecher Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Sep 18, 2012 04:10 PM
iPhone: PDANet teamjaycub Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Aug 24, 2012 05:13 PM
Mywi vs TetherMe vs PDANet, which has APN? ccapman670 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jun 6, 2012 07:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC