Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2011, 03:58 PM   #1
soulvoid
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Intermittent signal/no service after ultrasn0w 1.2.5 and iPhone 4 @ 5.0.1

Upgraded my iPhone 4 to 5.0.1 a week or two ago.

I only showed 1 signal and the version of ultrasn0w available at the time 1.2.4 didn't support 5.0.1. No worries I waited.

Now ultrasn0w is at 1.2.5 and supports 5.0.1.

I installed it and it fixed the signal problem. Cool right? Well later that night I pick up my phone and it shows no service. A respring didn't fix. And only after 2 reboots did it show signal again.

It happened again like 10 min ago and I couldn't fix the problem.
So as it stands now I have uninstalled ultrasn0w 1.2.5 and seeing if anyone else has this problem.
soulvoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 04:02 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Are you using your phone on official carrier with ultrasnow installed just to fix the signal bars?
Or are you unlocked on unofficial carrier?
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 05:18 PM   #3
soulvoid
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm on AT&T. Have been always will be. I just use it to fix the signal bars.
soulvoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 05:38 PM   #4
ylerT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Las Vegas
My wife's 4 is on 5.0.1 with the 1.59.00 baseband. She's on H2O but I had to install ultrasn0w to fix the signal bars also. I installed the update the day after it was released and she hasn't had any problems.

I could be wrong but you may be having issues due to the huge amount of traffic Cydia is probably getting right now. With the untether just being released, people are downloading off Cydia like crazy. I know I was having some issues installing something on a customers phone earlier. Cydia was loading really slow and I was getting some errors basically telling me a package didn't install fully. I would try to download it again later in the night or just hold off a few days for traffic to die down.
ylerT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:09 PM   #5
soulvoid
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm not having an issue or error on the install reinstall or uninstall of ultrasn0w.

All that works fine. It's ONLY the signal that I'm having an issue with.

It will show signal. Then No Service. Rinse repeat. So I uninstall ultrasn0w, only get 1 bar of signal, but it's consistent.
soulvoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:26 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I'd just leave it off then.
It's just for looks anyway.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:30 PM   #7
soulvoid
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
I'd just leave it off then.
It's just for looks anyway.

Ehhhh I know but it would be nice for it to correctly show me my signal strength. Especially when I might actually need to know if I have signal. Haha
soulvoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:46 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulvoid View Post
Ehhhh I know but it would be nice for it to correctly show me my signal strength. Especially when I might actually need to know if I have signal. Haha
I hear you.
I used to have the same prob and I would get the correct signal after installing ultrasnow but would lose mms and visual voicemail.
It's a pain.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:01 AM   #9
mrJnC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
To avoid losing mms and vvm, the "fix" is to automatically reinstall ultrasn0w after a reboot. This can be done with a little scripting, an example of which can be found here:
http://jailbreakqa.com/questions/325...trasn0w-update

Keep in mind, should you need to update ultrasn0w to a later version, you will also need to place the new .deb file in the Autoinstall folder.

It's a bit of a kludge, but until a proper fix it seems to work well most of the time.
mrJnC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 11:27 AM   #10
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Looks like I'm having this same issue. I can't figure out if there's a pattern to it but my phone will also just go to "No Signal" and the only way I can bring it back is to toggle Airplane mode on and off until the signal comes back. I'm guessing that ultrasn0w is the culprit but good luck getting the dev team to fix it. I hate that I even have to install ultrasn0w since I really don't even need it right now but I can't stand only seeing one bar of signal strength when I know damn well that I'm getting a strong signal.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 06:20 PM   #11
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
I said screw it. VVM and mms (mainly vvm) are more important than having a visual representation of signal bars. When I do install ultrasnow to use my phone in another country, it's not like vvm or mms will really be needed anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
Looks like I'm having this same issue. I can't figure out if there's a pattern to it but my phone will also just go to "No Signal" and the only way I can bring it back is to toggle Airplane mode on and off until the signal comes back. I'm guessing that ultrasn0w is the culprit but good luck getting the dev team to fix it. I hate that I even have to install ultrasn0w since I really don't even need it right now but I can't stand only seeing one bar of signal strength when I know damn well that I'm getting a strong signal.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 03:11 AM   #12
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
Looks like I'm having this same issue. I can't figure out if there's a pattern to it but my phone will also just go to "No Signal" and the only way I can bring it back is to toggle Airplane mode on and off until the signal comes back. I'm guessing that ultrasn0w is the culprit but good luck getting the dev team to fix it. I hate that I even have to install ultrasn0w since I really don't even need it right now but I can't stand only seeing one bar of signal strength when I know damn well that I'm getting a strong signal.
That does sometimes happen in low signal area's. Airplane mode on/off or respring should solve it.

Its the only nag, pit i prefer this over the 1 bar or no phone at all :-)
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.1.1 TaiG
iPhone 5 iOS 8.1.1 TaiG
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2012, 03:59 AM   #13
vong
macrumors 6502a
 
vong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Dang it... I am thinking about just updating my baseband [1.59.00 BB is the reason for all this right?]. I am on AT&T but I plan to sell my iPhone to my friends afterwards since they're on T-Mobile.. Might just sell it to another AT&T user or something. I am personally anal about these type of things. Everything must be perfect. This is a bad trait of mine .
vong is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2012, 07:41 AM   #14
nfrs2000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Yup. Same issue here. iP4 5.0.1 1.59.00. I usually have to reboot my phone to get the bars back. It seems to happen when i lose reception and it wont pick it up again til a reboot. Sux.
nfrs2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 08:20 PM   #15
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
This is becoming a huge problem for me. My phone froze up and was displaying "No Service". I rebooted and it came up with "Searching". Uninstalled and reinstalled ultrasn0w, toggled airplane mode on and off, resprang multiple times, etc. and still no signal. Ultrasn0w is a real problem. I'm considering upgrading my bb or just removing ultrasn0w altogether since I don't even need it - it's completely unstable.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 09:56 PM   #16
headcase
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
As I like having the signal strength visual indicator on my iPhone, I depended on ultrasn0w. But unfortunately, I too was seeing constant "no signal" problems with ultrasn0w 1.2.5 when running my iPhone 5.0.1 with 1.59.00 baseband. So after numerous custom builds of my iOS with the 1.59.00 baseband rolled in, I did the unthinkable, and did a standard upgrade to the latest baseband... so no more unlocking for me on this phone (which I never needed -- just kept it for resale value).

Sucks.
__________________
**********
Have jailbroken every iPhone I've owned since 2009.
headcase is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 10:02 PM   #17
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by headcase View Post
As I like having the signal strength visual indicator on my iPhone, I depended on ultrasn0w. But unfortunately, I too was seeing constant "no signal" problems with ultrasn0w 1.2.5 when running my iPhone 5.0.1 with 1.59.00 baseband. So after numerous custom builds of my iOS with the 1.59.00 baseband rolled in, I did the unthinkable, and did a standard upgrade to the latest baseband... so no more unlocking for me on this phone (which I never needed -- just kept it for resale value).

Sucks.
Same exact boat I'm in! I preserve my bb for resale value only but I'm beginning to wonder if it's even worth the aggravation, especially when you need ultrasn0w to "fix" your signal strength (it seems to break more than it fixes).

Was your phone freezing up at all when you had the 1.59.00 bb and did you use pwnage tool?
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:43 AM   #18
headcase
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
Same exact boat I'm in! I preserve my bb for resale value only but I'm beginning to wonder if it's even worth the aggravation, especially when you need ultrasn0w to "fix" your signal strength (it seems to break more than it fixes).

Was your phone freezing up at all when you had the 1.59.00 bb and did you use pwnage tool?
Yeah, I found my iPhone was getting slightly buggy with 5.0.1 and 1.59.00, so between that and the "no signal" issue, I decided to update with a standard build.
__________________
**********
Have jailbroken every iPhone I've owned since 2009.
headcase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:32 AM   #19
vong
macrumors 6502a
 
vong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Is this a known problem that the devs cannot fix? I am debating either to:

A) Downgrade to back to 4.2.1
B) Update baseband.

I am leaning towards A more since I really do not use the notification center much for my phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nfrs2000 View Post
Yup. Same issue here. iP4 5.0.1 1.59.00. I usually have to reboot my phone to get the bars back. It seems to happen when i lose reception and it wont pick it up again til a reboot. Sux.

Also, when you are taking about reboot, do you mean holding down power and shutting the phone off correct? Not respring.
vong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 09:35 AM   #20
americaroma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
so how how did it work out for you guys?

Im on 5.0 thetered and was planning tu upgrade to 5.0.1 unthetered but i do depend on my unlock since i use a mexican carrier. I do have the 0.1.59 baseband and was almost ready to create a custom ipsw with reds0w until i saw this thread...

So for now should i wait until ultrasnow is more stable, please let me know how this goes for you guys if the signal issue gets fixed or not.
americaroma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 05:37 PM   #21
vong
macrumors 6502a
 
vong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by americaroma View Post
so how how did it work out for you guys?

Im on 5.0 thetered and was planning tu upgrade to 5.0.1 unthetered but i do depend on my unlock since i use a mexican carrier. I do have the 0.1.59 baseband and was almost ready to create a custom ipsw with reds0w until i saw this thread...

So for now should i wait until ultrasnow is more stable, please let me know how this goes for you guys if the signal issue gets fixed or not.
Did what work, ultrasn0w? I do not have that installed on my iPhone simply because I am on AT&T. I keep the low baseband just for resale value.
vong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 08:06 PM   #22
americaroma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vong View Post
Did what work, ultrasn0w? I do not have that installed on my iPhone simply because I am on AT&T. I keep the low baseband just for resale value.
Well aparently ultrasn0w is what is causing the problem (based on what im reading) The latest version was supposed to work for 5.0.1 but this is exactly the problem that its not working or its giving some users problems with signal, thats why i havent tried it yet, im tethered rigtnow but wont go to unthetred 5.0.1 until the signal issue gets fixed.
americaroma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 08:20 PM   #23
vong
macrumors 6502a
 
vong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by americaroma View Post
Well aparently ultrasn0w is what is causing the problem (based on what im reading) The latest version was supposed to work for 5.0.1 but this is exactly the problem that its not working or its giving some users problems with signal, thats why i havent tried it yet, im tethered rigtnow but wont go to unthetred 5.0.1 until the signal issue gets fixed.
Well the problem is that iOS 5.0.1 gives signal problems for users with BB 1.59.00 [I think it is 1.59.00 BB only]. In order to fix this problem, you COULD install ultrasn0w but installing ultrasn0w would cause another problem. The user not being able to receive/sent MMS/VMM. this problem can be fixed simply by turning on/off airplane mode multiple times or reinserting your sim card. Although you would have to do this every time you reboot.
vong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:17 PM   #24
americaroma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vong View Post
Well the problem is that iOS 5.0.1 gives signal problems for users with BB 1.59.00 [I think it is 1.59.00 BB only]. In order to fix this problem, you COULD install ultrasn0w but installing ultrasn0w would cause another problem. The user not being able to receive/sent MMS/VMM. this problem can be fixed simply by turning on/off airplane mode multiple times or reinserting your sim card. Although you would have to do this every time you reboot.
Yea thats the thing, im on 1.59.00 BB and 5.0 thetered jailbreak but wanted to go to 5.0.1 because its unthetered but if that baseband is gonna give me issues with signal then i wont even risk it for now... So im probably staying on 5.0 until i see theres a solution for the signal problem on ultrsn0w for users with 1.59.00 bb.
americaroma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2012, 03:14 AM   #25
Shenaniganz08
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
you anal ocd people really do irritate me

you would rather have a phone that loses signal all together over having one that shows a single bar but mantains a consistent signal ?

like others i have the single antenna bar and just don't worry about it
Shenaniganz08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iphone 5 no service (signal). Buy it or not? jakobo iPhone 17 Jan 4, 2014 03:47 PM
iPhone: getting no service with ultrasn0w ackmedslayer556 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 25 Oct 17, 2013 01:19 PM
iPhone: HELP! iPhone 3GS No Service after Redsn0w jailbreak with ultrasn0w unlock CanucksFan15 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 13, 2013 04:30 PM
iPhone 4 service + 3G signal fluctuating (full bars - no service) WherEmEweeD iPhone 1 Mar 4, 2013 05:33 AM
iPhone: iPhone 3GS ultrasn0w unlock 'No Service' JessCarter Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Feb 23, 2013 09:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC