Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2011, 06:58 PM   #1
SSpiro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Sprint 4S giving "locked sim" error..

Brand new 4s on Sprint. My son lives in Fl, just travelled to see me in Atlanta. After about a day of being here, phone gives a locked sim error and he cant use any cellular services.

Anyone know what gives?
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 07:42 PM   #2
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
It was an error in the iOS software for some phones. There's supposed to be a fix in the last update they put out to 5.0.1, so it may fix it, if he restores his phone to get that,
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 07:49 PM   #3
SSpiro
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by verwon View Post
It was an error in the iOS software for some phones. There's supposed to be a fix in the last update they put out to 5.0.1, so it may fix it, if he restores his phone to get that,

He's using 5.0.1 (9A405) right now.. is there an update beyond that?
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:04 PM   #4
vitzr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
http://i.tuaw.com/2011/11/11/sprint-...n-november-11/
vitzr is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:08 PM   #5
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSpiro View Post
He's using 5.0.1 (9A405) right now.. is there an update beyond that?
Yes, they added some new fixes not too long ago and that was one of the listed reasons.
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:09 PM   #6
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitzr View Post
That's for international travel, they said from one state to another, not a different country.
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:10 PM   #7
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Here's what I'm talking about:

http://www.cultofmac.com/135892/appl...m-card-errors/
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:10 PM   #8
SSpiro
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by verwon View Post
Yes, they added some new fixes not too long ago and that was one of the listed reasons.
OK - So if he syncs to itunes and updates, from 5.0.1 he's good?

What is the newest version? It's not 5.0.1?
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 08:14 PM   #9
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSpiro View Post
OK - So if he syncs to itunes and updates, from 5.0.1 he's good?

What is the newest version? It's not 5.0.1?
No, it's still 5.0.1, but if you read the article at the link I posted you'll see information about it being the second version of it.

If this doesn't fix it, he'll need to call Sprint.
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 09:30 PM   #10
SSpiro
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Thanks so much. Will keep you all updated.
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 10:01 PM   #11
rocknblogger
macrumors 68000
 
rocknblogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via Skype™ to rocknblogger
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSpiro View Post
Brand new 4s on Sprint. My son lives in Fl, just travelled to see me in Atlanta. After about a day of being here, phone gives a locked sim error and he cant use any cellular services.

Anyone know what gives?
I didn't read any replies so excuse me if this was already said.

When I had my 4S for about a month the same thing happened to me. It turned into a nightmare as no one at Sprint or the Apple store could figure it out. In the end Sprint had to give me a new phone and new sim. In other words they gave me new phones but with the same sim but that did not work.

It seems as though the sim went bad but at the time Sprint nor Apple had any on hand so I had to wait a few days for the phone to come in.

I don't know if that helps you but that's what happened to me.
__________________
Don't be stupid.
rocknblogger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 10:14 PM   #12
Eager Beaver
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSpiro View Post
Brand new 4s on Sprint. My son lives in Fl, just travelled to see me in Atlanta. After about a day of being here, phone gives a locked sim error and he cant use any cellular services.

Anyone know what gives?

This is an "upgrade" my friend - took them 18mo, but the iphone4 is now "polished"
Eager Beaver is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2011, 10:55 PM   #13
trajen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

WTF does Sprint even use the SIM for in the US? They're a CDMA carrier...
trajen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:10 AM   #14
jgalan14
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trajen View Post
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

WTF does Sprint even use the SIM for in the US? They're a CDMA carrier...
Is for international roam just like all blackberries on sprint and Verizon ha in the past
jgalan14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 12:59 AM   #15
SporkLover
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by trajen View Post
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

WTF does Sprint even use the SIM for in the US? They're a CDMA carrier...
They don't. You can though.

But like any other carrier with the iPhone, if the sim slot is having issues (not reading properly, sim card locked, etc) it will produce an error message.
SporkLover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 02:33 AM   #16
trajen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SporkLover
Quote:
Originally Posted by trajen View Post
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4S: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

WTF does Sprint even use the SIM for in the US? They're a CDMA carrier...
They don't. You can though.

But like any other carrier with the iPhone, if the sim slot is having issues (not reading properly, sim card locked, etc) it will produce an error message.
Weird!!!
trajen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2011, 04:06 PM   #17
SSpiro
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Simple solution. Eject the sim. All fixed.
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy 4S Now or wait for iPhone 5? Huntn iPhone 15 Oct 9, 2011 07:59 PM
"Locked SIM" with Gevey Ultra Andrew83Ga Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 8 Aug 10, 2011 03:09 PM
O2 iPhone from CPW: "Locked SIM" Fujiko7 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 21, 2008 03:39 PM
Engadget: "Incorrect SIM" errors on unlocked iPhones after the update -- user beware! mrzeve iPhone 4 Sep 27, 2007 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC