Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2012, 02:31 PM   #1
grastafaram
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reformatting as single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume for Win 7 install

Hi, I'm trying to install Windows 7 Home Premium. When I get to the step about partitioning the drive it tells me that the disk cannot be partitioned because some of the files cannot be moved, and recommends that I "...use Disk Utility to format it as a single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume. Restore your information to the disk and try using Boot Camp Assistant again." This sounds a little risky to me, and perhaps beyond my limited knowledge, and I don't want to inadvertently screw something up or lose everything. Also, I'm not really sure how to restore my information to the disk, although I did just back everything up onto an external drive. I'd like to know if I could damage something by reformatting to an extended journaled volume, if it is feasible for a newbie to attempt, and how to restore everything to the disk. Thanks to everyone who might help, this site has always been great!
grastafaram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2012, 04:20 PM   #2
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
It sounds like you already have multiple partitions created on your hard drive.

Boot camp only works with a disk with a single partition.

Let's start at the beginning...

What model of Mac are you using?
How many physical hard drives do you have?
How many partitions do you have per disk?
What are you using to backup your data?
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2012, 05:24 PM   #3
grastafaram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hi, thanks for the reply, I'm using a 15" MBP Mid 2009 model, 2.53 Ghz, 250 GB, 4 GB RAM. I have only the hard drive that it came with, and have never partitioned the disk before so there are no other partitions that I know of. To back up I'm using an iomega 500 GB external hard drive for Mac.
grastafaram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 09:13 AM   #4
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by grastafaram View Post
Hi, thanks for the reply, I'm using a 15" MBP Mid 2009 model, 2.53 Ghz, 250 GB, 4 GB RAM. I have only the hard drive that it came with, and have never partitioned the disk before so there are no other partitions that I know of. To back up I'm using an iomega 500 GB external hard drive for Mac.
What version of the mac os x operating system are you running?

How much free space is available in your primary disk?
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 09:28 AM   #5
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhurley View Post
How much free space is available in your primary disk?
Also, was your HDD ever quite full? This can leave some active files like logs in the area where Boot Camp wants to put Windows.

Personally, this would be the time when I replace the HDD in my Macs and get a larger internal drive as a bonus.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 12:26 PM   #6
grastafaram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'm running 10.6.8 and have 108 GB of space available, and am just trying to set up a 30 GB partition. My hard drive has been nearly full once or twice in the past. Also I was looking in some other forums and saw some code you could enter into the terminal to see how many partitions there are on your drive, this is what came back:

diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *250.1 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 249.7 GB disk0s2

So it looks like there are actually two partitions if I am reading this thing correctly. I have no idea what the EFI is, but boot camp requires a single partition hard drive to install Windows. If this is indeed another partition, how can I get around this and install Windows??

Thanks.....
grastafaram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 01:31 PM   #7
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by grastafaram View Post
My hard drive has been nearly full once or twice in the past.

...

I have no idea what the EFI is, but boot camp requires a single partition hard drive to install Windows.
The EFI is a hidden system partition that doesn't count for this.

How comfortable are you with doing this all manually? i.e. without much help from Boot Camp Assistant?

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 01:40 PM   #8
grastafaram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Well I don't know what that would entail, but I think trying it manually would be over my head. I guess that I could try to reformat and reinstall, as long as that is pretty straight forward, and I'm not likely to damage anything or lose all my data. I just thought there might be a simpler solution.
grastafaram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 06:51 PM   #9
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
If you reformat, then you will lose all of your data.
It's an option, but only if you have recent back ups.
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2012, 04:19 PM   #10
grastafaram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I am just wondering if there are any other solutions to this problem other than reformatting my hard drive????
grastafaram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 10:23 AM   #11
scottdf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Moraga, CA
I had this same error come up for me last night as I tried to use Boot Camp Admin. I defragmented my hard drive thinking that would help, but no such luck. I am running 10.6.8 on a 2007 24" iMac Model 7,1.

Is the next step to backup my hard drive and reformat?

I have 165G free and was trying to create a 100G partition - would making a smaller one make any difference? I tried doing a 90 and 80 and ran into the same error, but maybe going smaller still - or is it simply an error that only a complete wipe of the HD will fix?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Scott
scottdf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:59 PM   #12
ancelrick
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/.../t-191729.html

this thread has some good possibilities

at one time, I recall some defragmenting program (lol OS 9 i think) used to show specific file info when you moused over the graphic of the disk. I can recall seeing a file flagged as not movable. So ultimately you need some way to find a file flagged as can't be moved , or just guess , or erase the disk.
ancelrick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:06 PM   #13
NZed
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by grastafaram View Post
I'm running 10.6.8 and have 108 GB of space available, and am just trying to set up a 30 GB partition. My hard drive has been nearly full once or twice in the past. Also I was looking in some other forums and saw some code you could enter into the terminal to see how many partitions there are on your drive, this is what came back:

diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *250.1 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 249.7 GB disk0s2

So it looks like there are actually two partitions if I am reading this thing correctly. I have no idea what the EFI is, but boot camp requires a single partition hard drive to install Windows. If this is indeed another partition, how can I get around this and install Windows??

Thanks.....

I think 30gb is way too small, Windows itself takes over already half and sometimes(usually) more up to 20gb
__________________
Marty: Wait a minute, Doc. Are you telling me that you built a time machine, out of a DeLorean?
NZed is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inquiry regarding Mac OS Extended (Journaled, Encrypted) MacBookWhooo Mac Basics and Help 5 Apr 19, 2014 11:09 AM
Can't move big files even to Mac OS Extended Journaled drives! loudfeline OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 17, 2013 07:20 AM
Time Capsule/Time Machine OS Extended (journaled) error tburk32 Mac Peripherals 2 Mar 12, 2013 09:56 PM
Is Mac OS extended (journaled) necessary? 2012Tony2012 iMac 20 Dec 3, 2012 09:46 AM
Formating Time Capsule to Mac OS Extended Journaled? Daemon.CRO Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 21, 2012 12:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps