Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2012, 04:51 AM   #1
TWS38
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Cannot change APN iPhone4

I believe that I was successful in jailbreaking and unlocking my iPhone4 that I used with AT&T in the US with Greenpoison. (If it is any proof, I have the ultrasnow check marked within the Cydia/Loader...this does mean it is unlocked/jailbroken, right?)

I am currently in Japan and I entered into a voice and data contract with Docomo (a carrier that is not an official carrier of the iPhone). However, when I entered the sim, it either shows only 1 bar, No Service, or Invalid Sim.

1.
I was told that in the Settings-General-Network, there should be a Cellular Network (or something similar) where I can change the APN. I do not seem to have this.
2.
I tried going to http://www.unlockit.co.nz/, but Docomo in Japan was not one of the choices.
3.
Occasionally, within Settings, Carrier appears, but it is set on Automatic and says that it cannot show the network list.

What is wrong? What can I do?
TWS38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2012, 04:16 PM   #2
MaxBurn
macrumors 65816
 
MaxBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Locked phones don't show APN settings.

You need to load APN settings via a webclip. http://www.unlockit.co.nz

And as far as I know ultrasnow only works on 1.59.0 baseband, which is really rare to have these days. http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/1143.../pre-qualifier
MaxBurn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2012, 07:49 AM   #3
TWS38
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
What can I do?

unlockit does not have Docomo in Japan as an option...
TWS38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2012, 10:02 AM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWS38 View Post
What can I do?

unlockit does not have Docomo in Japan as an option...
You will have to configure/install a custom apn file.
Find out your carrier settings either by using google or calling your provider.
Not sure if unlockit.co.nz has that option.
I thought it did.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change APN in iOS4? HiFiGuy528 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 13 Mar 28, 2013 06:14 AM
help with changing apn settings to smart talk apn & mms settings richgetzitin iOS 5 and earlier 0 Oct 14, 2011 10:21 AM
Changing APN settings on iPad 2? Brien iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 29, 2011 08:42 PM
Cannot change Auto-Lock setting on iPhone4 THE dAY Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Aug 7, 2010 11:53 PM
Change APN in 4.0 tezlum iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 27, 2010 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC