Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2012, 04:08 PM   #1
parrotheadcubs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Black Bars

I have been ripping blu rays for a while now and have only recently started getting into Apple products. The majority of my files are all ripped into .m2ts files for streaming use through Windows Media Center. I am now doing a seperate collection for Apple TV 2 use mainly for my daughters movies. When I recently ripped How To Train Your Dragon, I used Pav Tube blu ray ripper as I have for some time.

I used the Apple TV setting and noticed after burning that the movie had black bars on the sides, top and bottom of the screen with the movie in the center of that. I'm sure my settings were correct prior to ripping. Any thoughts as to why this is? The TV is 16:9 so that's not the issue. The setting during ripping was 1280x720, .H264
parrotheadcubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 09:44 PM   #2
Hammie
macrumors 65816
 
Hammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wash, DC Metro
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrotheadcubs View Post
I have been ripping blu rays for a while now and have only recently started getting into Apple products. The majority of my files are all ripped into .m2ts files for streaming use through Windows Media Center. I am now doing a seperate collection for Apple TV 2 use mainly for my daughters movies. When I recently ripped How To Train Your Dragon, I used Pav Tube blu ray ripper as I have for some time.

I used the Apple TV setting and noticed after burning that the movie had black bars on the sides, top and bottom of the screen with the movie in the center of that. I'm sure my settings were correct prior to ripping. Any thoughts as to why this is? The TV is 16:9 so that's not the issue. The setting during ripping was 1280x720, .H264
I have read that it is a setting issue. I have a few older DVDs that play the way you are describing and have been told that a bit was not set correctly on the disc.

Go back and review all settings and make sure you have the video settings correctly. Sorry I cannot be more help. I have never burned a BD, just DVDs using Handbrake.
Hammie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 10:17 AM   #3
parrotheadcubs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks for the reply. I tried another one last night and it did the same thing. Super frustrating. So now I'm trying again and told the program to just do it's own optimal settings. We'll see.
parrotheadcubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 01:06 PM   #4
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrotheadcubs View Post
I used Pav Tube blu ray ripper
Try Handbrake with the ATV2 preset, it will automatically crop the black bars. You don't need to mess with any other settings, but I'd suggest dropping the CRF to 17 to get better video quality (21 doesn't look too good to me). It will accept your m2ts files.
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 01:55 PM   #5
parrotheadcubs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
Try Handbrake with the ATV2 preset, it will automatically crop the black bars. You don't need to mess with any other settings, but I'd suggest dropping the CRF to 17 to get better video quality (21 doesn't look too good to me). It will accept your m2ts files.

I didn't realize that Handbrake would accept .m2ts files, I had always thought it would only take an .mkv file. Do you think Handbrake will take the file that I ripped with pav tube that is showing the bars and allow me to apply the Handbrake Apple TV settings?
parrotheadcubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:15 PM   #6
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrotheadcubs View Post
I didn't realize that Handbrake would accept .m2ts files, I had always thought it would only take an .mkv file. Do you think Handbrake will take the file that I ripped with pav tube that is showing the bars and allow me to apply the Handbrake Apple TV settings?
HB supports a lot of input containers.

You could use the output from pavtube, but you'll still have to re-encode the whole thing. I'd just re-encode the source with HB; you'll get better quality (in theory) if you encode from the source, rather than a second-generation encode.
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 03:24 PM   #7
parrotheadcubs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
HB supports a lot of input containers.

You could use the output from pavtube, but you'll still have to re-encode the whole thing. I'd just re-encode the source with HB; you'll get better quality (in theory) if you encode from the source, rather than a second-generation encode.

But HB doesn't do away with the copyrights correct? Thus I'd still have rip from pavtube to a .mkv file and then encode in HB to create the Apple Tv file.
parrotheadcubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 04:23 PM   #8
parrotheadcubs
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
HB supports a lot of input containers.

You could use the output from pavtube, but you'll still have to re-encode the whole thing. I'd just re-encode the source with HB; you'll get better quality (in theory) if you encode from the source, rather than a second-generation encode.

I was under the impression that HB didn't bypass copyrights? Therefore I would still need to use an outside program to rip to .mkv and then use HB to encode that, correct?
parrotheadcubs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Black Navigation Bars in iOS6? JPNFRK7 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Apr 24, 2013 03:27 PM
iphone white bars/black bars? duhyes iPhone 7 Jan 7, 2013 06:07 AM
iPhone: Black bars on folder bg JRDrew0309 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Oct 27, 2012 11:34 PM
Black bars on folder bg and switcher bg JRDrew0309 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Oct 26, 2012 09:55 AM
Those two freaking black bars... tobiasfunke iPhone 82 Oct 9, 2012 12:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC