Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2012, 07:36 PM   #1
eowl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Best Hard Drive for Time Machine?

Hi all,

I'm wanting to start regularly backing up my mac, so want to use the time machine function but I was wondering which hard drive would be best for me to use. I'd like at least 1TB and not to pay for than 100 preferably, I have looked at the WD my book but I have seen some bad reviews so was put off that one and cannot find a my passport for under 100.

Thanks!
eowl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 08:05 PM   #2
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by eowl View Post
Hi all,

I'm wanting to start regularly backing up my mac, so want to use the time machine function but I was wondering which hard drive would be best for me to use. I'd like at least 1TB and not to pay for than 100 preferably, I have looked at the WD my book but I have seen some bad reviews so was put off that one and cannot find a my passport for under 100.

Thanks!
I'm not sure about the price but in my opinion, if you use your laptop on the go (assuming you have a laptop and not a desktop) then you should opt in for a wireless drive such as the Time Capsule (probably more expensive than your budget). I currently use the My Passport and although it works well, I find it highly annoying having to connect the USB cable every time.
__________________
iPhone iPad MacBook Pro
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:07 AM   #3
eowl
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thanks, I have looked at some Time Capsules on eBay and I might be able to push my budget a bit further, but would it matter if I got a first generation or are they not good enough anymore?

Thanks
eowl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:18 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I'd go for a second gen. if you can...Just installed a Three TB TC on my network..Remember, it does a lot more than just backups. It provides a 5GHZ broadcast for IOS devices as well as being a pretty sharp wifi provider too.

I didn't think it would come close to my Gigabit Draytek, but it actually beats it for speed.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:25 AM   #5
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
I'd go for a second gen. if you can...Just installed a Three TB TC on my network..Remember, it does a lot more than just backups. It provides a 5GHZ broadcast for IOS devices as well as being a pretty sharp wifi provider too.
I just installed 2TB Time Capsule. Aside from Time Machine wireless, automatic, no fuss, no muss back up, I'm getting a much faster (according to Speedtest) upload and download speeds on both my MBP and iPhone4. At least double the speeds I was getting with my Verizon router. MBP now 43 down, 33 up (from 20 down, 17-18 up), and the phone is now 23 down, 21 up.

However, it is pricey - might be over your limit.
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:27 AM   #6
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrink View Post
I just installed 2TB Time Capsule. Aside from Time Machine wireless, automatic, no fuss, no muss back up, I'm getting a much faster (according to Speedtest) upload and download speeds on both my MBP and iPhone4. At least double the speeds I was getting with my Verizon router. MBP now 43 down, 33 up (from 20 down, 17-18 up), and the phone is now 23 down, 21 up.

However, it is pricey - might be over your limit.
+1 but if you are limited for funds, a USB caddy and the old partitioned hDD route should be cheap enough....I've just put the three drives away and removed the device from my system.

If you want fire and forget backup the TC is the way to go.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:40 AM   #7
eowl
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'll keep my eye out on ebay for a TC that's going cheap then,

thanks for all the help
eowl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:43 AM   #8
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Apple are doing refurbs. This may help you out...It's the UK site but if you search out the USA one I'm sure they will have them too

http://store.apple.com/uk/product/FB276B/A
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 10:48 AM   #9
lhlee96
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Quote:
Originally Posted by eowl View Post
Hi all,

I'm wanting to start regularly backing up my mac, so want to use the time machine function but I was wondering which hard drive would be best for me to use. I'd like at least 1TB and not to pay for than 100 preferably, I have looked at the WD my book but I have seen some bad reviews so was put off that one and cannot find a my passport for under 100.

Thanks!
This might be slightly above your price range, but the LaCie d2 Quadra drives have never let me down.

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10554
lhlee96 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:06 PM   #10
monokakata
macrumors 65816
 
monokakata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hilo, Hawai'i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrink View Post
I just installed 2TB Time Capsule. Aside from Time Machine wireless, automatic, no fuss, no muss back up, I'm getting a much faster (according to Speedtest) upload and download speeds on both my MBP and iPhone4. At least double the speeds I was getting with my Verizon router. MBP now 43 down, 33 up (from 20 down, 17-18 up), and the phone is now 23 down, 21 up.
I installed a 2 tb TC yesterday and saw the same increase. I don't understand it (but welcome it!). My ISP (cable) has me on a 10 mbps plan, and whenever I tested with Speedtest, that what I got, with a 2008 Airport Extreme, and their Cisco modem.

After I installed the TC and rebooted the modem -- 20+, and this AM even 26. Later today I'm going to put the 2008 AE back in, to see what happens. Wired Mac Pro, wireless MBP -- the same increase.

I can't think of an explanation. It wasn't the first time the modem had been rebooted (or the old AE), but after those other reboots there was no change.

Any ideas?
monokakata is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 01:36 PM   #11
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by monokakata View Post
I installed a 2 tb TC yesterday and saw the same increase. I don't understand it (but welcome it!). My ISP (cable) has me on a 10 mbps plan, and whenever I tested with Speedtest, that what I got, with a 2008 Airport Extreme, and their Cisco modem.

After I installed the TC and rebooted the modem -- 20+, and this AM even 26. Later today I'm going to put the 2008 AE back in, to see what happens. Wired Mac Pro, wireless MBP -- the same increase.

I can't think of an explanation. It wasn't the first time the modem had been rebooted (or the old AE), but after those other reboots there was no change.

Any ideas?
I don't have a clue as to why any of this is happening. My Verizon plan is supposed to max out at 35 down when ethernet wired. How I am getting 43 down wireless is beyond me. No complaints, mind you - but a mystery to me.

I don't have a long ethernet cable (order to arrive next week) to find out what the speed will be when I wire my MBP to the TC. How high can it go??!!

Sorry I can't offer any help.
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 01:59 PM   #12
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrink View Post
I don't have a clue as to why any of this is happening. My Verizon plan is supposed to max out at 35 down when ethernet wired. How I am getting 43 down wireless is beyond me. No complaints, mind you - but a mystery to me.

I don't have a long ethernet cable (order to arrive next week) to find out what the speed will be when I wire my MBP to the TC. How high can it go??!!

Sorry I can't offer any help.
Sheesh....With that cable you are likely to burn out the Verizon infrastructure in the entire state of MA
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:35 PM   #13
monokakata
macrumors 65816
 
monokakata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hilo, Hawai'i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrink View Post
I don't have a clue as to why any of this is happening.
My suddenly-high speeds appear to have been an aberration. I was indeed getting well over 20 this AM. Four hours later, the new TC was showing 12-14, and when I substituted the old AE, changing nothing else, I saw the same. I went back and forth a couple of times and each test was in the same range. A couple went below 10 (with the TC), which is what I've been seeing for months.

Damn. Probably it was a system-wide thing, and just a coincidence that when I made the swap the throughput was high for some reason. Here in Hawai'i there are inter-island hops. I'm not sure what the physical link to Honolulu is, from where I am. Probably microwave repeaters.

Anyway, my finding seems spurious.
monokakata is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 03:17 PM   #14
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by monokakata View Post
My suddenly-high speeds appear to have been an aberration. I was indeed getting well over 20 this AM. Four hours later, the new TC was showing 12-14, and when I substituted the old AE, changing nothing else, I saw the same. I went back and forth a couple of times and each test was in the same range. A couple went below 10 (with the TC), which is what I've been seeing for months.

Damn. Probably it was a system-wide thing, and just a coincidence that when I made the swap the throughput was high for some reason. Here in Hawai'i there are inter-island hops. I'm not sure what the physical link to Honolulu is, from where I am. Probably microwave repeaters.

Anyway, my finding seems spurious.
I just re-tested (4:14EST) and my readings were the same - 43 down, 33 up. Mine still doing magic!

That will teach you to live in paradise!!
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 03:20 PM   #15
-tWv-
macrumors 68000
 
-tWv-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ohio
OP, I have a 1TB MyBook external HDD and it has been fine for over a year.. I use it every day to back up my MBP with time machine and have had no problems with it. The only annoyance that I have with the HDD is that it is fairly loud when in use. Other than that, I have had no problems.

I would recommend the MyBook if that's what you want and is in your price range.
__________________
Macbook Pro with Retina Display: 2.6/512/16
Hackintosh: Intel quad core i5 overclocked to 4.2GHz, Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
iPhone 5: 16GB iPad: 16GB
-tWv- is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I backup only my OS hard drive in Time Machine? eyeangle OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Apr 24, 2014 07:07 AM
SSD or hard drive with Time Machine Arnkloev iMac 2 Mar 2, 2014 12:31 PM
External hard drive for Time Machine spookle Mac Peripherals 8 Feb 9, 2014 08:51 AM
Time Machine Hard Drive going...going..gone... StanleyYelnats Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 21, 2013 05:44 PM
Time Machine not backing 2TB hard drive to 2 TB External Drive safetybelts iMac 12 Jun 3, 2012 04:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC