Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2012, 11:56 PM   #1
downingp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quick Question About Toslink Cable

I was wondering if I should be able to get 5.1 surround sound out of a Toslink cable? I have a 2011 Mac Mini and would like to have an HDMI cable running from the Mac Mini into my Panasonic TV and then a Toslink cable from the TV to my Pioneer receiver. The problem is, when I setup it up this way, I am only able to get 2 ch. stereo and when I try to play a surround sound movie within Plex, I get static. Is this normal?
I could have my mac mini going to my receiver via HDMI and then another HDMI from my receiver to my TV to get 5.1 sound, but I have found that I get a few blue screens and then some flickering on my TV before everything settles in. It's not a huge deal, but I have found with the HDMI and Toslink connection I get a very brief blue screen and then everything is good.
I have tried changing the audio settings within Plex from HDMI and digital as well as the output without success.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
downingp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:27 AM   #2
ppc_michael
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to ppc_michael
Toslink is certainly capable of 5.1, yes. But do the videos you're trying to watch contain 5.1 channels?
ppc_michael is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:31 AM   #3
downingp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppc_michael View Post
Toslink is certainly capable of 5.1, yes. But do the videos you're trying to watch contain 5.1 channels?
Yes, all of my videos have 5.1 surround sound because when I strictly use HDMI, I get my movies in surround sound.
downingp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 06:23 AM   #4
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
try going toslink directly from the mac mini to the receiver, you'll need an adaper like this or get a mini toslink to toslink cable.

sometimes TVs don't pass properly, it might be a setting in your TV is wrong, or your TV isn't able to handle that type of audio.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 08:35 AM   #5
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
As far as I know, the toslink output on most if not all TV's is only for outputting surround from the in-built tuner and wont pass through surround from a HDMI input.
roidy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 09:33 AM   #6
downingp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
try going toslink directly from the mac mini to the receiver, you'll need an adaper like this or get a mini toslink to toslink cable.

sometimes TVs don't pass properly, it might be a setting in your TV is wrong, or your TV isn't able to handle that type of audio.
I am sorry for the elementary question, but does the new 2011 mac mini have a spot to insert a mini toslink cable? Is it just the headphone jack where I would plug in the mini toslink?
downingp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 09:42 AM   #7
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yep, the headphone jack is also the mini-toslink jack.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 09:46 AM   #8
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Yep as posted u wanna go from the mini to your amp of you'll end up with audio delay issues
__________________
iPad 3 4G 64Gb - iPad 2 3G 64Gb - iPad 3G 32Gb - iPhone 2g 8Gb - iPhone 3g 8Gb - iPhone 3gs 16Gb - iPhone 4 32Gb -iPhone 4s 64Gb - MacBook unibody Alu - mac mini i5 2.5Ghz - mac mini 2Ghz
Gav2k is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 11:49 AM   #9
kirsch92
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
It's not your cable, its the TV.

The optical output from TV's was designed to pass only 2 channel PCM so the user couldn't send a clean digital 5.1 signal to recording equipment via a reciever.

There were several TV's (the older Pioneer Plasma's) that had no internal speakers, but came with an external soundbar, and were able to bypass the law that way. But AFAIK there are none currently on the market.

My two Panny plasmas do not have any audio sync issues when passing 2 channel PCM but the sound level was so low its almost useless when coupled with the low audio output from Handbrake transcodes.

Sure would be nice to send one signal from the TV to the stereo though.

There is an HDMI switch sold thru monoprice that has a digital optical output that is said to pass the 5.1 signal. The reviews are pretty decent. What stopped me is the need to use a remote to switch inputs. It does not auto switch, and my Harmony remote is full of devices.

My 2 cents
kirsch92 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 12:33 PM   #10
downingp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks for the input. So if I get a mini-toslink to toslink either adaptor or cable going directly from my mini to the receiver, I should be good to go?
downingp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:09 PM   #11
spice weasel
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by downingp View Post
Thanks for the input. So if I get a mini-toslink to toslink either adaptor or cable going directly from my mini to the receiver, I should be good to go?
Yes, this is the way to go. As others have pointed out, most TVs don't do 5.1 passthru.
spice weasel is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 04:25 PM   #12
ACKRITE
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Hartford, CT
Send a message via AIM to ACKRITE
When I run my HDMIs (X360, Comcast STB/DVR) directly to my Sony XBR LCD, which then has an optical TOSlink down to my Yamaha YSP-4000, the soundbar reports that it's receiving a 5.1 channel signal. Is it lying to me?
__________________
"If I don't get some ackrite...I'ma have to ack-wild!" - Hitman
ACKRITE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 04:36 PM   #13
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Most != all but it's impossible to answer your question with what you've provided. XBR is a product line spanning many years. How about a specific model number for others to use to verify? It's unlikely that the soundbar is lying but we're just speculating at this point.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick look - Macally 6' Lightning cable TheIntruder iPhone Accessories 0 Jan 19, 2014 05:20 PM
toslink producing no sound on receiver plummpj Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Mar 4, 2013 07:54 PM
Toslink cable not working migdaddy MacBook 5 Dec 29, 2012 09:05 PM
Thunderbolt Cable Question A Hebrew Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 3, 2012 01:40 PM
Cable Question njp MacBook Air 3 Jul 22, 2012 06:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC