Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:15 PM   #1
richyscot1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Derby, UK
Apple tv 2 bt home hub 3 uk

I've been having problems with my iTunes library dropping out of both my apple tvs. I've narrowed the problem down to my bt home hub 3.

I've read a couple of posts which advise you to change the wireless channels. I've changed the channel to every option and none seem to work......the best channel I've found is 2, however after a couple of hours it still manages to drop out.

Has anybody got any advice as to what i should do next? I can't find any further help.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac; mac mini; MacBook Air
Ipod Nano, 16Gb; Ipod Classic, 160Gb
iPhone 5, 64Gb
2 TV 2's; TimeCapsule
richyscot1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:25 PM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Yes, but you may not like it. I've posted this recently elsewhere on the forum but the ISP supplied fancy looking hubs are garbage. BT, Netgear et. al.

The fix isn't exactly cheap, but it won't break the bank:

1) Buy a decent quality gigabit router...Many brands I use A Draytek personally.

2) Disable the wifi broadcast on the BT shiny thing.

3) Use the new router (try to get one that operates on 2.4 and 5GHZ) to connect to your home hub which is now acting only as a modem

4) shift your devices to the new router, just keeping the single connection for the BT hub which is now acting as a modem only

5) Choose a name for and configure the new router as you wish.

Drop outs?

Gone.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:32 PM   #3
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Or just connect via wire if it's close enough
__________________
iPad 3 4G 64Gb - iPad 2 3G 64Gb - iPad 3G 32Gb - iPhone 2g 8Gb - iPhone 3g 8Gb - iPhone 3gs 16Gb - iPhone 4 32Gb -iPhone 4s 64Gb - MacBook unibody Alu - mac mini i5 2.5Ghz - mac mini 2Ghz
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2012, 02:35 PM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Or just connect via wire if it's close enough
That works too
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2012, 03:17 AM   #5
richyscot1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Derby, UK
Thanks.

Unfortunately neither of my ATV's are close enough for wired connectivity.

I was hoping to get Time Capsule in a month or two, so hopefully I can use that as my wireless access point....just a shame that BT's hub just isn't up to the job.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac; mac mini; MacBook Air
Ipod Nano, 16Gb; Ipod Classic, 160Gb
iPhone 5, 64Gb
2 TV 2's; TimeCapsule
richyscot1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2012, 06:20 AM   #6
snowwhite007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scotland
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

I use home hub 3 and dont suffer any drops on either of my atv2 one in living room and one upstairs? Im using channel 2
snowwhite007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2012, 03:06 AM   #7
bridtown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
When it droppes connection look at ya hub and see what lights are on and then you will have a good idea if it is wireless or hub problems
Try for a day plugged in and see what happends
I am on channel 6 on my hub I think it is the same as yours and I have another option ticked just above the channel

Hope it works

Last edited by bridtown; Jan 8, 2012 at 03:13 AM.
bridtown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2012, 07:25 AM   #8
merrickdrfc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
I have frequent drop outs on my connection using an AirPort Express as a router, the ATV sits right next to the AE, home sharing to an iMac upstairs. And the library drops out so frequently Home Sharing on the ATV is unusable
__________________
MacBook Pro / iMac / MacBook Air / iPhone 5s / iPad Air
merrickdrfc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 10:36 AM   #9
richyscot1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Derby, UK
Thanks bridtown.

Can I ask what settings you currently have?

If you click on the wireless tab under settings, mine is set to wpa wpa2 and under channel selection it is set to whatever channel I have selected.

I do get the best amount of time on channel 2, but it still drops out eventually.

Ay further help on what settings everybody is using would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac; mac mini; MacBook Air
Ipod Nano, 16Gb; Ipod Classic, 160Gb
iPhone 5, 64Gb
2 TV 2's; TimeCapsule
richyscot1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with Mac OSX and BT Home Hub 5? JarScott OS X 12 May 21, 2014 03:56 PM
AirPort Extreme/BT Home Hub 5 cormac70 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 11 Mar 29, 2014 05:09 PM
iphone cannot connect to bt home hub lssawyer iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 15, 2013 04:17 PM
BT Home Hub 2 with Apple Airport Extreme as the DHCP server parish Mac Peripherals 17 Oct 24, 2012 06:11 PM
iPod Touch as home electronics hub? kwijbo iPod touch 0 Sep 14, 2012 10:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC