Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2005, 01:35 AM   #1
13erla
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
powerbook prismo firewire

Hey need a little help.

I have a powerbook g3 prismo. i know the ac adapter works cuz it worked in a lombard. i have the prismo plugged in and when i hit power i get nothing. no error beeps nothing.

i know nothing about how this powerbook came into not working. we've had it in a closet at work for quite some time.


any suggestions? i'm not opposed to tearing it open if necessary.
13erla is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2005, 01:43 AM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13erla
Hey need a little help.

I have a powerbook g3 prismo. i know the ac adapter works cuz it worked in a lombard. i have the prismo plugged in and when i hit power i get nothing. no error beeps nothing.
Pismo

Try this

" 1. If the computer is on, turn it off.
2. Press and release the reset button on the rear of the computer. The reset button is located between the external video and modem (RJ-11) ports.
3. Wait 5 seconds.
4. Press the Power button to restart the PowerBook computer.

Note: When you reset the Power Manager, wait at least 5 seconds before pressing the Power button to start up the computer. If you do not wait at least 5 seconds, the reset procedure may fail. (If you suspect that the reset procedure has failed, press and release the reset button again and wait 5 seconds before pressing the Power button.)"


http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=14449
CanadaRAM is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2005, 01:47 AM   #3
13erla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
thanks,

after doing reset.. and waiting over 5 seconds.. still nothing.

not a single noise
13erla is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2005, 01:54 AM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
You may have a fried machine, of course. But it's more likely a problem with batteries if its been in storage for some time. I take it there are no lights on the battery when the machine is plugged in?

There is an internal battery in the Pismo that may be shot. Unfortunately it's a proprietary battery, and costs $45- $60 from eBay or from Apple Service.
CanadaRAM is offline   0
Old Jun 6, 2005, 01:56 AM   #5
13erla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
ok so you figure the internal battery is bad then?

the battery itself has no lights.. same for the system light.. nothing.


gotta geta replacement maybe.. if that's the option i'll look into that then.
13erla is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to boot firewire? trewyn15 PowerPC Macs 8 May 26, 2013 12:48 AM
Firewire on the iMacs? drawnacrol iMac 16 Aug 2, 2012 10:53 AM
No Firewire Ports Seen DaddysMac iMac 1 Jul 23, 2012 09:14 AM
connect PowerBook G4 to new MBP with Retina display using FireWire target mode? jk73 MacBook Pro 3 Jul 20, 2012 12:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC