Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2012, 03:25 PM   #1
themoffster
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Do i need antivirus on a dual boot system?

Hi.
I have a 2011 21.5" iMac which i have recently made dual boot by installing Windows 7.

Do i need to install antivirus on the Windows OS?
I'm aware there aren't viruses for macs, but as i am now running windows for a few hours each day should i install some antivirus for the windows partition?

Thanks
themoffster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 03:27 PM   #2
Feed Me
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Location Location
I'd say yeah, better safe than sorry.
Feed Me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 03:28 PM   #3
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Any Windows installation should run antivirus software to protect itself, even though Windows malware cannot affect Mac OS X.
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 03:46 PM   #4
Grannyville7989
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I would recommend Microsoft Security Essentials. It's free and very lightwieght and it doesn't bug you with unnecessary pop messages all the time, which I really disliked AVG for.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/secur...urity/mse.aspx

I run it on my Windows 7/Windows 8 Developer Preview partition with no issues.
Grannyville7989 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 04:35 PM   #5
themoffster
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks. I'll give your suggestion a shot
themoffster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:27 PM   #6
jwm2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
IMO running security essentials is the same as running nothing at all. Its worse than nortons at protecting your system. If you really want protection its going to come at a cost, it will eat some resources and some of your wallet. There is no better protection than kaspersky internet suite, period. Some folks like AVG because its free but i've seen plenty of virus's and malware make it through that i personally would never use it. Its better than nothing, but still why bother? Imo either don't use windows for emails or web browsing (basically anything internet related) or use some good protection. I've had pcs running for years with kaspersky and never needed an os reinstall. My personal best was 5 years with my last dell, its still virus free and running smooth. I use kaspersky on all windows pcs in my home and office and recommend it to anyone else who uses one as well.
__________________
Handmade Natural Skin Care Products for Geeks (owned and operated by my wife)
Xbox 360 Controller Mods (owned and operated since 2001)
jwm2 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:30 PM   #7
wpotere
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
IMO running security essentials is the same as running nothing at all. Its worse than nortons at protecting your system. If you really want protection its going to come at a cost, it will eat some resources and some of your wallet. There is no better protection than kaspersky internet suite, period. Some folks like AVG because its free but i've seen plenty of virus's and malware make it through that i personally would never use it. Its better than nothing, but still why bother? Imo either don't use windows for emails or web browsing (basically anything internet related) or use some good protection. I've had pcs running for years with kaspersky and never needed an os reinstall. My personal best was 5 years with my last dell, its still virus free and running smooth. I use kaspersky on all windows pcs in my home and office and recommend it to anyone else who uses one as well.
Yep, it sucks...


http://www.pcworld.com/article/17295...very_good.html


Keep paying for your software that can be had for free. It may not be the best, but I have been running it for years and not had a single problem.

Last edited by wpotere; Jan 9, 2012 at 07:47 PM.
wpotere is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:33 PM   #8
waynep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
IMO running security essentials is the same as running nothing at all. Its worse than nortons at protecting your system. If you really want protection its going to come at a cost, it will eat some resources and some of your wallet. There is no better protection than kaspersky internet suite, period. Some folks like AVG because its free but i've seen plenty of virus's and malware make it through that i personally would never use it. Its better than nothing, but still why bother? Imo either don't use windows for emails or web browsing (basically anything internet related) or use some good protection. I've had pcs running for years with kaspersky and never needed an os reinstall. My personal best was 5 years with my last dell, its still virus free and running smooth. I use kaspersky on all windows pcs in my home and office and recommend it to anyone else who uses one as well.
Viruses are not the only reason for reinstalls. That's not a good indicator that the anti-virus program is doing it's thing.

The best anti-virus strategy is using common sense. You can avoid most thing by simply using your brain.

MS Security Essentials works fine. It's free and light weight. You don't need the heavy weight programs and their marketing. I have been using MS-SE since it's introduction. Never had a virus or any malware. It works fine.
waynep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:38 PM   #9
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynep View Post
Viruses are not the only reason for reinstalls. That's not a good indicator that the anti-virus program is doing it's thing.

The best anti-virus strategy is using common sense. You can avoid most thing by simply using your brain.

MS Security Essentials works fine. It's free and light weight. You don't need the heavy weight programs and their marketing. I have been using MS-SE since it's introduction. Never had a virus or any malware. It works fine.
I would have to disagree with your comment about 'common sense', I have had several clients get infected with nasty malware from simple casual browsing, not going to sites they shouldn't have. I would never let a PC on the internet without some form of AV and most protect against malware these days as well. MSE is better then nothing, although I believe 'you get what you pay for' rings true with MSE, its free, so don't expect much.
__________________
Iphone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:41 PM   #10
wpotere
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
I would have to disagree with your comment about 'common sense', I have had several clients get infected with nasty malware from simple casual browsing, not going to sites they shouldn't have. I would never let a PC on the internet without some form of AV and most protect against malware these days as well. MSE is better then nothing, although I believe 'you get what you pay for' rings true with MSE, its free, so don't expect much.
Well then you contradicted your own comment. Common sense would dictate that you don't go to sites that you shouldn't.
wpotere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 07:42 PM   #11
tmagman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary AB
+1 for Microsoft Security Essentials. Nice and lightweight and out of the way on a dual boot system. It doesn't scream at you just cause you've been on the 'other side' and haven't used the windows machine for a while, and overall is less of a performance drain that AVG can be. (Don't get me wrong, I do love AVG and have used it for years, but MSE has been slowly taking over my machines :P )
__________________
rMBP 15" 2.7 i7, 16GB, 512GB
Asus G73SW-A1 2.0Q i7, GT460M 1.5GB, 12GB
iPad2 64-3G, 4S 64GB
7D, 15-85, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 70-300 DO, 50 1.4, Lensbabies, Canon S100
tmagman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 08:37 AM   #12
jwm2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpotere View Post
Well then you contradicted your own comment. Common sense would dictate that you don't go to sites that you shouldn't.
You can get viruses from perfectly respectable websites that have been compromised. You can also get them from emails which look perfectly normal. I'm giving him sound advice on protecting his system, you do whatever it is you do.
__________________
Handmade Natural Skin Care Products for Geeks (owned and operated by my wife)
Xbox 360 Controller Mods (owned and operated since 2001)
jwm2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 12:34 PM   #13
wpotere
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
You can get viruses from perfectly respectable websites that have been compromised. You can also get them from emails which look perfectly normal. I'm giving him sound advice on protecting his system, you do whatever it is you do.
No, you are giving him a biased opinion. There is nothing wrong with what you said, minus the fluff about MS Essentials. Why pay for expensive software when the MS package works just fine and will do what he needs to for the limited amount of time that you will be in Windows?

Your advice is sound, you opinion is not. MS Essentials has scored well against other companies. What you are saying above indicates that I said not to use any virus software but that simply isn't the case now is it?
wpotere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 10:44 AM   #14
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Most of you will probably flame me for it, but I run windows without any virus scanner at all. No problems whatsoever. Ok, the only thing I do, is use solid works (and use Chrome to check my mail and stuff while on the windows partition). I've been doing this for years. Never had a virus. Only cookies from websites.

Then again, most of you would say "you got a virus, you just didn't know". Well, don't know, don't care. As long as performance is good enough.

(btw I was just curious whether I really didn't get a virus, so I installed AVG and it showed none, this was a few years however).
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 01:26 PM   #15
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjen92 View Post
(btw I was just curious whether I really didn't get a virus, so I installed AVG and it showed none, this was a few years however).
So you just check on a windows system every few years???

Seriously anyone running any version of windows needs to be constantly checking status and making sure everything is patched ... and well keeping our fingers crossed.

That's just win life in the 201x's ...
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 04:09 PM   #16
wpotere
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjen92 View Post

Then again, most of you would say "you got a virus, you just didn't know". Well, don't know, don't care. As long as performance is good enough.

(btw I was just curious whether I really didn't get a virus, so I installed AVG and it showed none, this was a few years however).

Bet you would care if your PC was turned into bot and then used to attack some government site. The feds would be knocking on your door wanting that carefree PC of yours.

Yes, you could possibly have a virus and not even know it. It is cheap and easy to run Microsoft Security Essentials so why not do it?

For the life of me I don't understand why you wouldn't.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhurley View Post

That's just win life in the 201x's ...
That is PC life period! Even Apple patches its system from time to time. No system is completely failsafe but Apple does a pretty good job and MS has come a long way as well.
wpotere is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Camp Frustration/HOW to dual boot Mac/Windows calvindsy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Aug 17, 2013 05:41 PM
Can't boot neither from system disc nor from cloned system on external HD toccino Mac Pro 22 Feb 22, 2013 07:54 PM
Removed Mac OS by mistake on dual boot system dearestpankaj Mac Basics and Help 7 Jan 7, 2013 03:14 AM
Dual Boot Dual SSD in Raid 0? evildede MacBook Pro 2 Aug 26, 2012 09:30 PM
After System Update last night, the system will not boot with IOPlatformExpert.cpp:15 wonderingwhywhy iMac 1 Jun 12, 2012 10:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC