Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:07 PM   #1
trenfro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
How do i switch from 3g to 2g on my iPhone 4?

I mainly want to do this to save battery life. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you
trenfro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:10 PM   #2
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Settings > General > Network > 3G on/off.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:18 PM   #3
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Some carriers may block this feature.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:21 PM   #4
trenfro
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsstGreek View Post
Settings > General > Network > 3G on/off.
After doing that i went to safari to test it and it said cellular data is turned of and that safari cant open the page.
trenfro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 08:55 PM   #5
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Are you sure you chose the 3G option?

Your phone will most likely have two options as shown in the following screenshot.

Enable 3G

Cellular Data (shown as the British English equivalent "Mobile Data" here)

The first option will disable the 3G network and only enable your carrier's 2G network (which may provide GPRS, EDGE or 1xRTT data). If there's no 2G signal or the network doesn't support data then you wont be able to use it in the way that you want to.

What do you see in the top left of the phone? Your phone will show a different symbol for each type of network:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1976
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	354
Size:	162.3 KB
ID:	319348  
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 09:17 PM   #6
trenfro
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
Are you sure you chose the 3G option?

Your phone will most likely have two options as shown in the following screenshot.

Enable 3G

Cellular Data (shown as the British English equivalent "Mobile Data" here)

The first option will disable the 3G network and only enable your carrier's 2G network (which may provide GPRS, EDGE or 1xRTT data). If there's no 2G signal or the network doesn't support data then you wont be able to use it in the way that you want to.

What do you see in the top left of the phone? Your phone will show a different symbol for each type of network:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1976
When 3g is on I see: 5 of 5 bars Verizon 3G, when it's off is see: 5 of 5 bars Verizon
trenfro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 09:27 PM   #7
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by trenfro View Post
I mainly want to do this to save battery life. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsstGreek View Post
Settings > General > Network > 3G on/off.
What version of iOS do you have?

If you have iOS 5 then the option to turn off 3G "only: is not currently available. It is floating around in the new Beta of iOS 5.0.3 so expect it to return as it does help with battery usage in some situations.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 09:31 PM   #8
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Oh you can't really turn off 3G on Verizon/Sprint phones.

The phone uses 3G network for data and 1x network for voice. So if you disable cellular data, you're basically disabling 3G. You can't use 1x for data though.
wordoflife is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 09:31 PM   #9
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by trenfro View Post
When 3g is on I see: 5 of 5 bars Verizon 3G, when it's off is see: 5 of 5 bars Verizon
As Verizon is a CDMA network, you're not likely to see a power saving when disabling 3G.

It'll also mean that in a 3G area you'll lose data connectivity.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 09:31 PM   #10
NZed
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave006 View Post
What version of iOS do you have?

If you have iOS 5 then the option to turn off 3G "only: is not currently available. It is floating around in the new Beta of iOS 5.0.3 so expect it to return as it does help with battery usage in some situations.

Dave
isnt it the iOS 5.1 beta 3 already???
__________________
Marty: Wait a minute, Doc. Are you telling me that you built a time machine, out of a DeLorean?
NZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 11:08 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZed View Post
isnt it the iOS 5.1 beta 3 already???
Yes.
I wonder if they will enable that option for the 4S too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
Oh you can't really turn off 3G on Verizon/Sprint phones.

The phone uses 3G network for data and 1x network for voice. So if you disable cellular data, you're basically disabling 3G. You can't use 1x for data though.
Exactly.
Welcome to the CDMA world
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 sim in iPhone 4s switch (unlimited data) spyda iPhone 3 Sep 22, 2013 06:05 PM
iPhone 5 will not switch on? benji21 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 May 16, 2013 08:26 AM
iPhone owners: Would you switch to a low cost iPhone? tmanto02 iPhone 54 Apr 21, 2013 07:45 PM
Two iPhone 5's will not switch over BBQ BOY iPhone 2 Nov 1, 2012 09:29 AM
AT&T's Mobile Share Plan: To switch or not to switch? HXGuy iPhone 13 Sep 22, 2012 10:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC