Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2012, 12:46 PM   #1
MrSmithy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Airport Extreme: Extending Network Wirelessly, No IP?

Hello everyone,

This may have been asked before, but I couldn't find an answer to my specific problem. I am living in an apartment where wifi is provided. I have access to the modem and router as well as their settings, but cannot directly connect to them. I am using my Airport Extreme to join this network. This works well for all of my wireless devices, but when I try to connect my desktop via ethernet to my Airport, it cannot connect to the internet. When I plug my Macbook into the ethernet, the Network pane tells me the following: "Ethernet: Connected. Ethernet is currently active and has the IP address 169.254.115.9." However, Safari tells me I am not connected to the internet.

The Airport is set up to join a wireless network. When I select "Extend A Wireless Network", it tells me "The network you selected cannot be extended." The router is a Cisco, so I am not as familiar with the interface as I am with an Airport's. There is no obvious "allow this network to be extended" equivalent, but there may be another way that I am unaware of.

So my question is, is it possible to wirelessly join a network with an Airport, and then connect a computer to that airport via ethernet?
MrSmithy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 01:33 PM   #2
sharkzfan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Choose 'join a wireless network' and then check the box 'allow ethernet clients'.

I think this doesn't exist on older airport units. It may require a firmware update?

I use this all the time.
sharkzfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 01:53 PM   #3
MrSmithy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks for the quick reply!

I am running firmware 7.6 , but I don't see this option. After clicking on Manual Setup, I select "Airport", then "Wireless". Am I looking in the right spot? I don't see it anywhere else either, but I may have missed it.

EDIT: My Airport Extreme is an 802.11n, model A1143, MA073LL/A, Jan 2007.

Last edited by MrSmithy; Jan 14, 2012 at 02:22 PM.
MrSmithy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 04:54 PM   #4
MrSmithy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
What model of Airport Extreme are you using? What firmware are you running? I'm curious as to what the difference in our setup is.
MrSmithy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 17 Sep 1, 2014 08:47 AM
Airport Extreme (AC) wireless extending - is it using AC speed? hualon Mac Peripherals 2 Jan 15, 2014 02:28 PM
Connectivity to AirPort Express when extending network from AirPort Extreme iLog.Genius Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 19, 2013 11:10 PM
Extending network by adding airport extreme to time capsule psoin Mac Peripherals 4 Dec 15, 2012 07:52 PM
Extending wireless using Airport Extreme and Airport Express jicon Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 23, 2012 12:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC