Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2012, 05:30 PM   #1
TuiSong
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Petone, New Zealand
modem + router + airport express?

When apple first started going wireless I rushed out and bought airport cards for the compatible computers and got myself an airport express. I couldn't get things working by connecting the express to my cable modem (owned by my ISP) and the only help they offered me was buy a router. So I bought a linksys router and connected up modem >router > express > yay internet!

Several years later and I am having internet issues again, my router seems to be the problem so I currently have my computer connected directly to the modem and am running the wireless network through internet sharing. This is working fine for all the wireless devices we have so I wasn't too fussed about it.

First question is, should I have to run a router between modem and express? is this just an obvious thing that no one mentions because it's assumed everyone would know?

Second issues is: This weekend we bought a home security system and it needs internet connection for me to view the cameras from iPhone or iPad. The problem is that it only has ethernet connection so we need to hook it into a router, which we don't have. I went out to look at routers and they're all wireless and offer varying speeds. Should I get the high end router to run my wireless and retire my apple express? Can I make do with the low end router and keep my computer wired and running on internet sharing instead? Is it possible to share the internet to the home security via the ethernet port on my ATD?

Should I need a router at all? can I maybe upgrade my apple express? I had been considering an apple extreme. If I get an extreme will I still need to have a router .. so many variables in the set up options that I'm getting confused as to what exactly I do need
TuiSong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 05:59 PM   #2
Dark Dragoon
macrumors 6502a
 
Dark Dragoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Both the Apple Airport Express and Airport Extreme are combined routers and wireless access points.
When your ISP told you to buy a router you already had one in the form of the Airport Express.

Though the problem with the Airport Express is that it only has a single ethernet port on it, so on it's own it won't really be of any use to the home security system.

It sounds like the best setup for you would be to have the modem connected to a combination router, wireless access point (WAP) and switch. The Airport Extreme is one such device though there are many other cheaper alternatives available.

With this setup you would have:-

modem > Airport Extreme or other combo router+WAP+switch

The home security system would then be connected to the combo device via an ethernet cable and your other devices would connect to it via WiFi, unless they were close enough to be connected by cable.
__________________
.: For help and support, a chat or anything else Apple related :.
VISIT THE MACRUMORS IRC CHAT ON: IRC.KRONO.NET #MACRUMORS
( MacBook Pro 17" Mid 2010 | Mac Pro 1,1 | AppleTV2 | Original iPhone )
Dark Dragoon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 10:12 PM   #3
TuiSong
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Petone, New Zealand
Hi, thanks for the response. With the original problem of airport not working directly connected to the modem, I have never been able to get it to work despite attempting on and off over the years and following several troubleshooting guides etc. The modem that my ISP provided (and I am not allowed to use my own modem) will for whatever reason fail to work with the airport express. Adding the router in-between did work.

I don't even know if my router actually needs replacing, the lights all show up as if everything is connected right, just that at the end of the chain my computer won't connect to the net. As soon as I take the router out of the mix, it's all good again. The router they tried to sell me at two shops today had a price tag of $270 which is a huge amount to fork out if it is not going to be the correct fix.

I'm wondering if anyone else has the same kind of issue that I have with the airport not working if it is connected directly to the modem, without a router between them? My modem must be about 8 years old now, maybe it is just too old to support apple airport and I should be nagging at my ISP to cough up a newer one?
TuiSong is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want to cascade or connect my linksys 54G router to my airport express londy1215 Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 15, 2011 04:47 PM
Run Airport Extreme on 5 GHz, and Airport Express on 2.4? williamsonrg Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 29, 2011 09:05 PM
multiple airport express setup Jefferyd32 Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 27, 2011 12:34 AM
What exactly does an airport express do? cootersgarage6 Mac Peripherals 29 Jan 27, 2011 02:44 PM
Pairing Airport Express to D Link Router marktasker Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 18, 2010 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC